We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central but a bit grubby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #197 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“central but a bit grubby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

it was pleasant in terms of friendly staff and location. but it needs a thorough overhaul - manky plaster on the walls, generally unkempt. could be fantastic with some tlc. decor very dated, needs work

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    483
    315
    120
    75
See reviews for
91
483
58
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel is in a prime location and the desk staff were courteous and efficient. Some rooms might be four-star, but mine on the seventh flour definitely wasn't. Plaster came off the wall and closet broke.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a 1 1/2 star hotel at best. The dirtiness of the hotel room, the poor quality of bedding and linens, the carpet and overall condition was greatly lacking. Do not stay at this property, a BIG ripoff for the money. There are plenty of other nice hotels to stay in the area that are much better quality for the same money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Although this hotel is in a good position, our room had globes. Issuing in the bedroom and bathroom, the bed lamp was broken and there were cigarette butts on the floor of the balcony. To top it all off, the elevators didn't work for many hours.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just returned from a stay at this hotel last week for King's Day. The hotel is in a great location...right smack dab in the middle of everything. The room we had (511) was pretty good. The decor is very dark and dismal though. Lighting is bad in the room. The air wasn't working that well but the party I was traveling didn't like the room too cool with airconditioning. The bathroom was nice. We had a beday (didn't use that thing though LOL). No shower curtain..just a half glass to keep the water from splashing out on the floor. The window swings open nice and wide which gave you a great view of the street life below and beautiful architecure in the area.

The disappointing thing that many have noted on TA that were in the hotel at the same time was that the elevator(s) (or lift as they call it) were mostly non functional. It's as if they turned them off or something because they're were 3 of them and at random times they might work during the day but had previously had a sign on them that said broken the same day. The pattern would be the same the next day as well. So for the whole 6 days that I was there the elevators were pretty much intermittently working the whole time. That forced us to use the tiny service elevator which could only hold a certain amount of weight. 4 average people may or may not be able to ride together in the elevator because of this restriction. I will agree, that the back stairs area was pretty filthy but I guess I overlooked it until I saw the review from another traveler on here and it was wall brought back to memory. I didn't eat in the restaurant but I hear the buffet breakfast was pretty good. I would definitely stay here again despite all that has been said because the hotel and room were very nice.

The staff was pretty helpful in telling us how to get to the sites in the city. Oh, they won't change the sheets but once a week per our maid (she made an exception for us after we laughed and talked with her a bit). The room was dusty but couldn't remember if it was like that upon check on or if I discovered that 4 days into the trip after having the window up a lot. I mean I am sure there are better hotels in the chain and we saw several within walking distance but all in all it wasn't that bad. The hotel was sold out so that says something........again it was the King's Day celebration. It was my first European trip so I don't know what I was supposed to expect. When in Rome do as the Romans I guess (or in this case Amsterdam LOL)

It was pretty expensive in general considering the elevators were non functional. Like I said, I don't know if this is how Europeans live or what so I wasn't going to complain. I'll keep this in mind for Paris and compare the experiences.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Only a few minutes walk to the sights.
The hotel reception area looks lovely but the staff were less than helpful and did not make eye contact or greet you very well
The rest of the hotel could do with a huge makeover.It's a shame as it could be a lovely hotel. The bar area,we used it once, was very non inviting and the barman was never around. The price of the drink was pretty high too.10 euro for a malt whisky.
We stayed for 3 nights and the lifts were constantly out of order.
The bedroom was pretty small and in need of a complete overhaul.The housemaids must have been overworked because the room only got a quick service no bins emptied,bathroom not cleaned,tea/coffee not replenished.
We had breakfast on 2 mornings which was fantastic a self service buffet which caters for loads of tastes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney. Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was the only hotel that I found in central Amsterdam which said it had an acceptable level of access. There must be others but a lot that are listed on databases as accessible when questioned to not have a room with roll-in showers.

As the pictures show the bathroom is great for wheelchair access.

The ramped door beside the main entrance of the hotel though can be a problem. My wheelchair only just fit onto the ramp ... the wheel rolled right on the edge and slipped off a couple of times. I could not enter independently. Also, the door is kept locked and the staff at reception have to open it each time.

Other than this the room was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good, and the corner table overlooks a very busy corner to watch the bicycle/tram/car/pedestrian ballet. Location is great close to Rembrandt Square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized Commercial Hotel situated in the heart of the city, overlooking the Flower Market, near shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.