We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel in central location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #214 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Smart hotel in central location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great hotel in a very central location.

Rooms were quite small but clean. Just your standard room :)

The location of the hotel is really good!! It's slap bang between dam square and leidseplein so you can walk between the 2.

I wouldn't bother eating in the hotel the food is over priced and pretty yuck! My partner had a steak sandwich and it arrived literally raw!! Breakfast is €20 each and is awful! Cold bacon and very little selection!! Go across the street, there's plenty of cafés, Burger King and McDonald's! Definitely try the kebab shop across the street, it's delicious :)

All in all a great hotel to stay in. Clean, comfortable and friendly :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apana B, Front Office Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your kind words and comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    576
    385
    174
    101
See reviews for
123
633
81
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed at the hotel during March 2014.
I enjoyed my stay very much, the hotel has an excellent location to everything only 5 mins by foot.

Staff was nice and very kind, very quiet and helpful when needed.

Theres not much to watch on the TV, Mini-bar was ok, AC is central so depends on the season.

Room Tip: Ask for a back and quiet room, usually those with x05/x06.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Hard by the flower market and very close to the Rembrandstplein, this hotel is well situated for sightseeing in Amsterdam. Although the check in process seemed a little long winded the staff , both in reception and bar, could not have been more helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean, nice to have BBC 's 1 & 2 instead of just news channels on the TV. Breakfast was good, hot and cold, sweet and savoury food available in large quantities. Sometimes the wait for the lifts was a little bit trying but, on the whole, a good place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apana B, Front Office Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your revieuw. We do appriciate thay you've taken the time to tell us about your stay. Hopefully we can welcome again sometimes.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

On check in, we got a free room upgrade to 'Superior' because there were no 'Standard' Double rooms left. Our room was sizeable enough, with a separate bathroom and kitchen with a double ring hob, but the décor was quite outdated and the carpet was faded/bare in places with stains. Room cleanliness was fantastic though. The breakfast is expensive, considering there is a street, full of cafes, a minutes' walk away. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, but the housekeeping staff were rude and intrusive. She knocked on our door, then entered straight away and proceeded to ask me to leave so she could continue! Overall a nice hotel to stay in, very good location, if a little pricey.

Room Tip: You may be put off by a street-facing room but you can barely hear any noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here march 2nd for 3 nights. We checked in and room was not ready for a few hours so we dropped off our bags and went off to explore. When we returned our room was ready. We were given a room on the 4th floor with a lovely view of amsterdam. The room itself was a bit on the small side, and could do with a bit of an update as the decor was a bit dated and the carpet was very faded and stained. Overall we enjoyed the hotel stay but wouldnt judge it by the pictures on the website as they show the more expensive and recently decorated rooms. The airconditioning worked for a few minutes and then stopped so the room was quite stuffy and the windows wouldnt open at all, due to the no smoking policy apparently. A little bit let down by the room given what we paid but was quiet and had no hassle. We didnt eat at the hotel as it was quite expensive, breakfast was €20 each, but there are loads of cafes around the corner beside the flower market that do lovely breakfasts and are quite reasonable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 and was very happy with the room and service we got, The room was quiet spacious and even had a separate part with seating area to relax, The bathroom was of a very good standard and had a nice shower and hair dryer on the wall, It also was well stocked with soap,shampoo,moisturizer ect..
The bar was nice as well and reasonably priced drinks but the best thing was the location as you walk out of the entrance you have Amsterdam on your doorstep. Really nice hotel and would recommend.
The only negative i would say was the price as i found it a little expensive. 540 euros for 4 nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights for an international meeting and arrived there with the car as I live in the Netherlands. The parking was hard to find (in the crowded city center) and very small but as not many visitors will arrive by car this not be an issue for most people.

The staff was friendly and check-inn procedure went smoothly. The rooms are OK for Amsterdam standards but are probably below the expected quality of the more 'demanding' traveler. The breakfast was just OK although on both occasions nobody was present to offer any coffee or tea (in one case they were loudly arguing in the kitchen.

The location of the hotel is of course really great with almost all major attractions on walking distance. Pricing is also quite reasonable for the location.

With regards of my final rating I am a little bit in doubt between 3 and 4 stars but as most tourists/visitors will approciate the great location of the hotel and its amenities I have given it 4 out of 5 stars

Room Tip: Be aware that the may be some noise as you are in the middle of the city. On one side of the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, NHHotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.