We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #197 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 and was very happy with the room and service we got, The room was quiet spacious and even had a separate part with seating area to relax, The bathroom was of a very good standard and had a nice shower and hair dryer on the wall, It also was well stocked with soap,shampoo,moisturizer ect..
The bar was nice as well and reasonably priced drinks but the best thing was the location as you walk out of the entrance you have Amsterdam on your doorstep. Really nice hotel and would recommend.
The only negative i would say was the price as i found it a little expensive. 540 euros for 4 nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    483
    315
    120
    75
See reviews for
91
483
58
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woerden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights for an international meeting and arrived there with the car as I live in the Netherlands. The parking was hard to find (in the crowded city center) and very small but as not many visitors will arrive by car this not be an issue for most people.

The staff was friendly and check-inn procedure went smoothly. The rooms are OK for Amsterdam standards but are probably below the expected quality of the more 'demanding' traveler. The breakfast was just OK although on both occasions nobody was present to offer any coffee or tea (in one case they were loudly arguing in the kitchen.

The location of the hotel is of course really great with almost all major attractions on walking distance. Pricing is also quite reasonable for the location.

With regards of my final rating I am a little bit in doubt between 3 and 4 stars but as most tourists/visitors will approciate the great location of the hotel and its amenities I have given it 4 out of 5 stars

Room Tip: Be aware that the may be some noise as you are in the middle of the city. On one side of the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

An great hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. I stayed here late February for 4 nights. Emailed in advance asking for a room on an upper floor and was given a double room on the top floor with a balcony. The room was clean and spacious. Towels and cosmetic products were changed each day. TV was a bit dated but who wants to watch television when in Amsterdam.

Staff were very friendly (on a particularly wet day they gave me an umbrella to borrow) and will assist in getting about the city and organising tickets etc.

A 50 Euro deposit is required and don't forget city tax will be deducted from this.

Only issue I did have was that rooms need a bit of updating and soundproofing, and I would have liked the room a bit warmer - this did not stop me getting a good night's sleep though.

Wifi is free and very easy to connect to.

Plenty of places to eat in the area, Dam square is 10 mins walk away, central train station 20 mins. Trams run to and from the station to the hotel (Muntsplein), although I would only use these if you have luggage or particularly tired or have difficulty in walking, everything is easy to get to on foot.

A standard room is more than adequate, however, upgrade for a view over the canals.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors were quieter and less likely to be disturbed by noise from the nightlife in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very central hotel - right next to the Tulip Market and Rembrandtplein, ten minute walk to Dam Square and fifteen minute walk to Centraal Station. It was on a busy road, but we weren't interrupted by any noise - we did visit in a reasonably quiet month, though. The rooms were comfortable and accommodating - ensuite bathroom, desk, table and chairs, coffee making facilities and mini fridge - although we think the beds were two twins pushed together as we had two seperate covers! The staff were helpful - we got locked out of our room a couple times but each time they gave us a new keycard with no trouble. Don't put your keycard next to anything electronic in your pocket/bag because we think this was the problem! We would have liked to get room service, but we just couldn't justify the prices. Everything you ordered had a five euro service charge added onto it (and the food wasn't that cheap in the first place), so it was over 20 euros for a curry or a burger, and 12 euros for a sandwich. But other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of feb and it was perfect for what we needed. Really friendly staff and in a fantastic location. They even upgraded our room to superior for free and let us check in 4 hours early. Would stay again and recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel has a central location, good for sightseeing and shopping. We stayed in a superior rooms which was fairly spacious but had a dated decor and bathroom. Same dated atmosphere in the breakfast room, which nevertheless had a certain old world charm. Buffet breakfast was OK, as may be expected at that rate.
Major drawback is that the hotel is situated next to a neighbourhood with noisy bars, which woke us up at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

stayed there for 2 nights and must say the hotel got perfect location from train station took us only 20 minutes walk.receptionist very friendly as we came to the hotel for check in early around 11am but she said the room is ready so we can go upstairs...one minus for the hotel is the equpiment like bed,bathroom etc ..for the 4 stars need refurb for a bit modern style but i stayed there only for a sleep so i dont mind..overall good choice for the price i paid for and recommended to ppl.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized Commercial Hotel situated in the heart of the city, overlooking the Flower Market, near shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.