We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #198 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen
1 review
“Very good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We originally booked a room at NH Schiller. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that they had moved us to another hotel, but we had not recieved any info about this! We were moved to NH Carlton and got an upgrade for our trouble ;-) The staff was very welcoming and the service was great. The room was a nice size, but it really needed a renovation. The marble was cracked almost everywhere, and the table were pieced together with tape ;-) The location was very good!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    458
    293
    119
    72
See reviews for
91
483
58
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June. When I checked out I thought that I had received good value for the money I paid but afterwards the hotel added charges to my Visa card. Be warned that the management of this hotel cannot be trusted. They have your credit card info and may add bogus charges. I booked and paid for my stay with Priceline and when checking out the hotel wanted to charge me a city tax. I explained that all taxes are paid by Priceline and after 15 minutes I spoke to someone who identified themselves as the manager. They apologized and said there would be no added charge and so I was disappointed to have the tax appear on my next Visa bill. After speaking with Priceline I got an email from them stating that the hotel "comfirmed that I had been charged in error" and a refund would be forthcoming. It never came and the hotel later explained to Priceline that the charge was not a city tax but some other made up charge. This is a regular scam by this hotel. I stayed at 2 other hotels in Amsterdam this year using Priceline and never had any extra charges added. Be very wary about staying at this hotel and check your bill carefully.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is located to walk distance of everything.
Rooms could be bigger, but they are well equipped.
The best of the hotel is the breakfast.
Should I be in Ams again, I would return, although I am disappointed with the "Free" internet access: the "free" service is for a VERY SMALL AMOUNT OF DATA. After few minutes of browsing the web, you have to buy a 10 Euros a day service to continue.

Room Tip: Noisy air conditioning. We have to turned off in order to get sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kocaeli
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed three nights at NH Carlton Amsterdam.
First of all I would like to express that location of the hotel is excellent. It is at walking distance to every places to be visited during Amsterdam visit.
Secondly, the food was delicious. Variety of alternatives during breakfast was impressive. However, the rooms need to be renovated. Carpets, curtains are very old. Small tv (37 cm screen) is from previous century.
Receptionists were very friendly and solution oriented.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I got this hotel as part of a "secret hotel" on lastminute.com. I must admit that I was apprehensive about staying here after reading most of the more negative reviews, however, these could not be more wrong.

It took us about 20-25minutes to walk from central station to the hotel and we arrived an hour early but the check in staff were able to accommodate us early for no extra charge. We had a twin room and it was huge and the beds were comfy. The room had 2 chairs with a small side table, plus a desk, mini bar and tea and coffee facilities. The TV was an old style set and not flat screen which doesn't really make a difference as a TV is a TV at the end of the day. The bathroom was clean, had a bath with overhead shower and 2 sinks and a toilet. The water pressure in the shower leaves a lot to be desired though. We heard a little street noise on the Saturday night, but not enough noise to really disturb your nights sleep as the windows kept most of the noise out when kept closed. I do think the hotel is more 3* than the 4* they claim it to be.

We had breakfast each morning we were there and because we pre-booked the day before it only cost 15euros. The selection was amazing, a small cooked section (i.e. sausage, bacon, tomatoes and eggs), a continental meat and cheese section, a juice and fruit station, cereals and a very large selection of pastries!! yum!

Everything is in walking distance as it takes 20-30mins to walk to the van gogh museum / anne frank house / central station (of course these are all in opposite directions!)

Just around the corner is a Marks and Spencer food hall which we bought snacks and water from.

Overall we had a great experience at this hotel and would recommend it to all those looking to stay in a great central location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The NH Carlton in Amsterdam is very well located, right next to the flower market and two minutes from Rembrandtplein. The Breakfast at the hotel is also very good and rich, the staff were friendly and courteous, but the hotel's qualities end there. The rooms I saw (mine and my colleagues) are shabby, smell of cigarette smoke (even though they are non smoking rooms) and in urgent need of refurbishment. In my room the chairs were worn, the TV reception was snowy, and the wallpaper peeling. The "view" was a grubby internal courtyard.

Overall I think you can do much better for a hotel choice in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Found out about priceline on TA and got decent price, well situated hotel. Only complaint is room a bit small, no fridge. But kettle provided, good bed, good shower. No eating in hotel so can't comment but overall pretty happy with room at back (as requested), not luxury but quite adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized Commercial Hotel situated in the heart of the city, overlooking the Flower Market, near shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.