We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #209 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“pretty good for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Centrally located with multiple tram lines in front. Right next to a flower market and 2 minutes away a starbucks. also next to the canals. fine location. The room is small in US standards but bed is comfortable. The bathtub is VERY narrow so be careful not to slip. Got this on priceline for a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    550
    368
    157
    97
See reviews for
119
600
76
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Village, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First off this place has a great location. It is perfectly suited for exploring Amsterdam.

I booked it blind through Priceline and saw the 3.5 out of 5, and thought, "great." I had just got a perfect 5 star in Luxembourg off Priceline for $100, so I was chasing the deal. Less than ideal, or a deal, is what I got.

Anyways, it is dated, the beds are decent, but I would not describe them as comfortable. All and all, it is acceptable, and almost too boring to write a review about, except for one very important thing - there is no air conditioning.

There is a small slit in the wall that feels as though there is a very small man with an ice cube in his mouth attempting to cool the room with his weak breath. I called the front desk to complain, and they told me that the hotel does not have air conditioning. "Open a window," they said.

They also told me that the property is "climate controlled," but that there is no air conditioning. This is fine, except the property bills itself as a 4 star property, and it is about 85 F in my room. At a hostel - great. At the beach - fine. At a 4 star property in one of Europe's great cities - unacceptable.

Morale of the story - Don't book in June/July/August and Manage expectations appropriately before checking in

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed three nights. Good location- easy to reach from the railway station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and quiet, bed was comfortable. We liked the hotel cafe/ restaurant. It doesn't have a huge choice on the menu but what they do, they do well and at a very competitive price. Really, as we were out and about all day, we don't require more than this from an hotel.
Surrey.UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A hotel that only survives on its location. They want to keep it classy, but it feels like nothing has changed since the 70's. everything is old. Old beds and small rooms. The staff are very rude, stingy atmosphere. They charge you of every single thing. Big stains on the carpet. Tried to book a taxi from them, which they also forgot. Waited 25 minutes and had to remind her twice! The other receptionist seemed like he knew nothing. Maybe it was his first day. Ok breakfast, but too expensive. Ate there two mornings and half of the things on the serving tables were empty. Don't go here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

For a 4 star hotel the NH Carlton is really below standard. Very small rooms, a small bathroom where "door-manoevering" is necessary to get in. There is no cupboard where you can lay your shirts, pull-overs, slips,.... You have to live out of your suitcase.
The hotel needs a refresh urgently.
Bar closed at 11:30 pm and a very small selection of drinks.
One positive comment - the breakfast is OK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed there twice within past few months - the executive rooms are enormously spacious!! Take the one with a balcony to get a view over Amsterdam roofs; on the 6th floor there's a room with access to private balcony from the bathroom which is really incredible!!! Unfortunately it is not possible to receive confirmation that your room will have a balcony but if u reserve an executive room the staff will do their best to help you to obtain one with balcony on your arrival (I succeeded both times). The location of the hotel is perfect - some rooms are facing a channel and the Flower market which makes the entire atmosphere really cosy - especially when you drink coffee in a ground-floor cafe watching tulips being sold))

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just spend 8 nights in the NH Carlton and overall I was pleased. This was my 3rd trip to Amsterdam but first time staying at this hotel. Some pros and cons:

Pros:
1) Location. Perfect for me. If you want to be in the heart of central amsterdam and particularly gay nightlife, this is perfect. (It's loud though!)
2) Price. My room was less expensive than other hotels. (I've also stayed at the Albus across the street, so that's my point of comparison. You get what you pay for, so I prefer the Albus, but not for 100 euro more per night.)
3) Staff. All friendly, helpful, wonderful. Front desk, housekeeping, everyone was great.
4) There IS (now) wifi throughout the hotel, free for all guests. It's not the fastest ever, but it's typical of most hotels and FREE and worked the entire stay. (Many sites still say there is a surcharge for the wifi but that is not true. It's free and throughout the hotel.)

Cons:
1) Decor. The rooms are ugly. They have not been updated in decades, clearly. Don't expect a modern, upscale room. It's basic but comfortable. The wallpaper looked like my grandmother picked it out in 1983. I really don't care about decor though - and I booked this hotel fully aware that it's not "modern" or fancy. (If you're expecting trendy luxury you will be disappointed. You also didn't do any research though, so I don't feel that bad for ya.)
2) Air conditioning. It was May, not hot outside, and yes - I am American & am accustomed to A/C. Generally wasnt a problem - but some warm days and our sunny window made it hot by mid-day. I think they can turn it on (our in-room thermostat did nothing) if you demand it, but you have to ask.
3) Room size. Obviously you have options and I opted for a standard room. Get a superior if you are not traveling alone.

Overall, very glad I stayed here but will get a bigger room next time!

Room Tip: Some rooms are much louder and much sunnier than others. If you have a preference, ask them ahead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.