We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Dulac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Dulac to your Saves list
Art Hotel Dulac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haarlemmerstraat 120, 1013 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The beds were really comfortable, we were really pleasantly surprised by this. The bathroom was gorgeous. It was a wet room really but, beautifully fitted out. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was very good. In walking distance from everything really and it wasn't noisy at night.
In our particular room, which was an apartment, it had a kitchen diner which was next to the bathroom. The kitchen had a cooker, fridge and dishwasher but, did not have any pots and pans, no cutlery, plates, cups and saucers, so really although nice, was next to useless. Also, if we had asked some friends in for drinks prior to going out for example, the bathroom had a clear glass door in front of the toilet facing the dining and kitchen area. It's really not a good idea. The room also had an extra area which was almost another room, which had a wardrobe and table in it. It couldn't be used for anything though, except a dumping ground for washing etc..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    42
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
10
64
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We only stayed here for a few hours between check-out from our near by Amsterdam apartment and a late-night flight. The Dulac staff was nice enough to give us a room for the afternoon at a very reasonable price. We found a newly renovated, nice and clean room with window overlooking the busy Haarlemerstraat. One disadvantage I could note was the bathroom door - this is a glass door (partly stained glass so you can't really see through) which doesn't really close. Let's put it this way - you need close intimacy with your partner/s to feel comfortable using the toilet!
Staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Art Hotel Dulac......Big Rooms...Microwave and coffee facilities...TV right in front of a comfortable bed...Nice Breakfast...Location is great...Close to Main Rail Station...(use Gps to first find it..big Brown doors near Heineken Sign)Anne Frank Museum...Hop on Hop off Bus/ Boats...Shops...Restaurants...are all walking distance. Staff very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.Be prepared for alot of bikes in Amsterdam!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZURIGO
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Ups:
1) bathroom nice and clean. Ritual products, bathrobe and slipper for free.
2) cleanliness
3) central position

Downs:
1) I asked for a DUS (double room at single use) and I got a single room
2) 4 square meters room with a very small window: practically a cell
3) very uncomfortable bed: too short, mattress is not planar: I slept (sorry I stay awake ...) badly all night long. Pillows too high.
4) head of the bed at the same wall of the elevator: noise at every use
5) breakfast? yes, in the same dark and beer smelling pub where the nigh before there were a party! Lemon tea? no sorry we don't have it ... I look around: no buffet at all, no scrambled eggs, or croissants, or ... I took my things and come out definitely.

Sorry guys, you are nice but for 90€ per night I can find something really better in Amstedam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked a double room in December as I was passing by Amsterdam; Location is great, you can get to the hotel on foot from the train station. It's also quite close to most attractions, and you won't need to take any form of transportation to cruise the city.
Staff is very friendly and helpful; The hotel's restaurant has this charming atmosphere that transports you to another era!
Rooms were correct, a fresh paint coat would be welcome. Otherwise good stay if you're not looking for lavish luxury!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beautiful light and clean rooms - staff were a bit indifferent at first glance but when spoken to were amazingly helpful.
Great location in a great little street full of nice cafes and bars. Short walk from the Station, fantastic attached Restaurant - Fully intend to visit again next time in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

had a lovely time in this beautiful hotel . first impressions are a bit worrying but as soon as you open the door to the room all the worries disappear . wonderful staff and great location 10 mins from station and a bit more to dam square lovely restaurant downstairs plus loads of bars and coffee shops and regular shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Dulac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Dulac

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 120, 1013 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Dulac 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Hotel Dulac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Dulac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.