We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable, I but poor wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Dulac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Dulac to your Saves list
Art Hotel Dulac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haarlemmerstraat 120, 1013 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So comfortable, I but poor wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Room was very clean and had a modern feel. Bed was super comfortable, probably the best I have found in any hotel. Staff fare riendly and efficient. Wifi is free but not much bandwidth and so slow/unstable during peak evening hours. As noted by others, you can here the clock bell but at least in my room it was not obtrusive. Stool for sitting at desk was not altogether comfortable, but not too bad. Ten minutes walk from town centre.
Overall 8.5/10 (1 whole point knocked off for wifi quality)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hungmung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great central location, friendly staff and modern well equipped rooms. Only criticisms are that the milk sachets were not always replaced everyday and the room was a little bit small but that didn't really bother me too much. The bathroom is very fancy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IceIceCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great value hotel in a city where many hotels are shamefully over priced. The attractive contemporary rooms are in a beautiful old building but with an elevator for those who want to avoid narrow stairs. The housekeeping department is a little challenged when they are busy but all the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a better value breakfast with more choice a little further down the street from their recommended bakery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Although i travel a lot, but I generally do not tend to write hotel reviews. This is an exception as i thought i had to warn others about this hotel.
This is a very small hotel. Actually i would call this as an overpriced "bed and breakfast" hotel.
The room that i received was the same size as the room that i had in Tokyo Japan and this means SMALL !!!
The bad was large but the mattress is kind of worn out and your back sinks into it. Not comfortable at all.
There are no face towels, or leg towel in the room, so you have to use the same huge towel all the time.
Bathroom is very small and uncomfortable.
There was a nice balcony in the room, but didn't have much use of it as it was frequently raining.
The hotel is located in a central location, BUT it is adjacent to a church with bells (no more than 20 meters). The clock of the church bells every hour (1 bell for each hour), so at midnight this will bell 12 times. Don't even dream of having a good night sleep, as you will be awaken every hour by this very loud bell.

The "breakfast", which costs 13 euros, is actually a take away: sandwich (plain bread and cheese) + croissant + small juice bottle + a fruit. You will have to gt a voucher in reception and go and get the breakfast in a nearby bakery, as the "hotel" doesn't have it's own dining room.
You could have a much better break fast by going to one of the many restaurants located nearby.
Staff was nice and polite, this has to be positively mentioned.

For 200$ per night (this is what i payed for, including breakfast), you can get a room in a 4 or 5 stars hotel in a central location.

I would recommend to stay away from this hostel by any means.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abs_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bas M, Manager at Art Hotel Dulac, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
First of all, thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are very pleased with those who think with us and our extensive feedback on things that could be improved.
We are very sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We take your comments very seriously and will discuss this internally.

I would like to advise any inconvenience to report to our reception. So that we can take immediately action on the complaints of our guests and to make stay as pleasant as possible.

We would also indicate that the beds of our hotel is one of our unique selling point. 99% of our customers are very satisfied with the sleeping comfort of these exclusive beds.

As for the breakfast, which we are currently working on perfecting. We would like to invite you to evaluate our breakfast next time. Of course we want the best for our guests, and a full breakfast belongs to the level of service that Art Hotel Dulac pursues.

If you appriciate this I would like to discuss your personal experience with you.


Kind regards,

Bas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The room was very small and not soundproofed at all - I could clearly hear and understand what my neighbors were talking about! And, on top of that, the smoke alarm went off in the middle of the night. Not a good place for sleeping at night!

On the positive side, the bathroom looked really nice and staff was friendly.

Overall, I found it too expensive for what it offered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ana i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just got back from a 6 night stay and am so glad we chose this hotel in Jordaan, greatly located close to central station and in a quiet place.
Our room was upgraded and we could have a terrace overlooking the peaceful neighborhood, perfect for chilling.
Room was a bit small and the drain of the shower was not working well during 2 days flooding the place, but fixed later on after even changing rooms.
Lack of breakfast may be an issue, but there is a restaurant downstairs and supermarket and restaurants are next to it.
I definately recommend this place!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the last floor with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just got back from a three night stay and wanted to say how happy we were with this hotel. The location is fantastic, the staff are polite and friendly without being intrusive or over the top so you feel welcome and the accommodation was clean, modern and comfortable. There is a fab bar attached to the hotel that serves wonderful food, (we ate there two nights in a row we were so impressed!) and all this at extremely competitive prices! The only reason I didn't give it the full five stars was because the walls are a tad thin so some noise from neighboring rooms is to be expected. I would say though that if you're looking for a great quality hotel in the heart if Amsterdam then try this! We were not disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahnadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#22 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
#113 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#25 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#123 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Dulac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Dulac

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 120, 1013 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Dulac 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Art Hotel Dulac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing