We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing stay at the Hilton Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, Amsterdam 1077 BG, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #46 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay at the Hilton Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husband and I recently returned to the Hilton Amsterdam for a two night stay. It had been 2 years since our last visit and we were in some serious need of relaxation. As our trip came closer, we were more and more excited to return to the Hilton in Amsterdam. We had such an amazing time our last visit there and were anticipating this trip to be just as good.

When we arrived and exited our taxi, the doorman Nico, immediately began assisting us with our bags and remembered us from our stay 2 years previous. We couldn't believe that he remembered us! If made our trip all the more special. We were placed on the executive floor with access to the executive lounge which included free drinks and snacks. There was also a computer with internet access that we were allowed to use for free. Usually it costs 12 euro an hour or 27 euro for 24 hours to use the wireless internet in your room.

Fresh cherries and flowers awaited our arrival. The room was decorated very modern and it all seemed brand new. The tub was wonderful and perfect for long baths. The hotel gives you scented bath tablets to include in your bath water. Our room had a view of the canal that looked beautiful day and night.

The weather was wonderful so we were able to enjoy drinks on the back terrace that overlooks the canal. The hotel was quiet and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. This hotel is not located in the center of the Amsterdam craziness, but that is what we enjoy. All of that is a short walk away.

After our two night stay, we left the Hilton feeling relaxed, de-stressed, and rejuvenated. I have stayed at many Hiltons around the world and this is my favorite!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    369
    123
    42
    20
See reviews for
112
460
71
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Hill, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Hotel is away from the noise and hustle and bustle of Central Amsterdam, but only a 5minute tram ride away. The hotel is situated right on one of the canals in a mostly upscale residential neighborhood with several shops and cafes within a quick walking distance. The staf was very accomodating (except for the very young concierge. He couldnt take the time nor effort to help us) You can buy tram 24 and 48 hour passes from the sundry shop, but get them early as they sell out quickly. The tram stop (#5) is just a 5 minute walk as you go out of the hotel to your left.
Breakfast bufet was good and lots of variety. The chef actually spoke to all guests and asked if you wanted something particular to eat that was not on the buffet. Nice quiet location. I would definately stay here again. However for the very young and nightlife oriented, you may want to stay clser to Dam Square.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

After 4 days of traveling in Germany, my husband and I were eager to get to Amsterdam. Disappointed in our hotel in Munich, we were crossing our fingers the Hilton would provide much needed rest. When we walked in, the hotel staff had our room ready overlooking the canal. They pulled out a map, gave us great directions to different places to eat and see that were away from the the tourist sights.
Although the hotel is not in the city center, it is less than 10 minutes away via tram. We took the 16 and 5 line to the city center every day. It was an easy commute and dropped us off at all the sights - Red Light District, Flower Market, Museum district. We were able to sight see all day in the busy tourist spots but still retreat to the quiet neighborhood where the Hilton was located.
I can't say enough about the concierges. They gave us great information, booked last minute excursions (like LAST minute - they booked us at 9:05am for a 9:30am departure), and were very helpful all the way around.
The only negative is the cost for WiFi. It's about $30 USD which is steep. But everything else - the staff, the room, the bed, the area - was top notch!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We booked a twin executive room through the January sale at Hilton.com and paid € 159,50 per night. Included in the rate: access to the Executive Lounge, breakfast and guaranteed late check-out (18:00).

With one exeption all of the staff members were very helpful and friendly.

We stayed in room 805. The room was nicely decorated and we had a nice panoramic view towards the canal and «Vondelpark».

All rooms are equipped with Wireless High Speed Internet, but not free of charge.

The Executive Lounge, which is located on the top (10th) floor, features a beautiful panoramic view over Amsterdam. The opening hours are from 07:00 to 23:00 on weekdays. In weekends and Public holidays the opening hours are somewhat limited, from 07:30 to 12:00 and 17:00 to 22:00. Breakfast is served until 11:00. The lounge is quite small, with a max capacity of about 25-30 persons (6 tables with 3 chairs and 4 tables with 2 chairs plus two comfy sofas). In the lounge they serve alcoholic beverages (beer, wine, vodka, whiskey, gin, rum, cognac and bourbon) in the evening (until one hour before closing time). The lounge also provides international newpapers and magazines.

Since we only stayed two nights we decided mostly to use public transport for transportation between the hotel and different parts of the city. We used the tram stop «Apollolan», which is located on a bridge about 200 metres from the hotel («Joh. M. Coenen straat»). From this stop you can take tramline no 5 and 24. The routes are different but both tram 5 and 24 have final stops at the Central Station. We bought 48 hours tickets from the gift- and souvenirshop on the ground floor and paid € 11,50 for one ticket. For a single ticket (valid 1 hour) you must pay € 2.60.

As for walking distances it`s about 5 minutes to the fantastic «Vondelpark», 10 minutes to the «Museumsplein» (Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum), 15 minutes to the «Leidseplein» (for the best dining and night life) and 25 minutes to the main shopping area (main shopping streets: «Kalverstraat» and «Nieuwendijk»).

The hotels also have bicycles thats provided free of charge. You can reserve bicycles either via the Executive Lounge Host (10th floor) or at the Consierge.

The breakfast is served at Roberto`s restaurant (and in the lounge if you have access). Opening hours for breakfast is 07:00 to 11:00 every day. We really enjoyed the breakfast.

From the Central Station to the hotel we paid € 21,50 for the 10 minutes taxi ride.

For transportation from the hotel to the Schiphol airport we took a taxi. We bought a voucher (€ 33) at the Consierge Desk on the ground floor. The ride took about 15 – 20 minutes.

Hhonors Gold & Diamond members have free access to «The Personal Health Club» on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

While this hotel may not be considered central, I liked its location in a quiet residential neighborhood, within a pleasant walk of museums and the Concertgebouw. There also are tram stations nearby.

The rooms are quiet and comfortable, with one side facing a canal with upscale houses on the other side.

The breakfast served in the restaurant is excellent, with frequent refills of tasty fresh-squeezed orange juice offered with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

I took the redeye and landed at Schipol at 6am. This was my first destination in a VERY long European trip (I ended it in Eastern Europe).

When I walked into the hotel around 7am, they had a my room ready. The room was beautiful with an amazing view of the canal. After unpacking I needed to find an ATM and a tram pass, the staff was more than helpful in pointing me the right direction. There is a little cute neighborhood behind the hotel.

The staff bent over backwards to make me happy. As an American who lives in a clean air state, I took my jetlagged self out the back patio with a coffee. Immediately someone brought over a propane heater. I felt quite silly when I realized I could have just smoked inside the bar.

The hotel is so close to the tram lines. You walk through a beautiful residential neighborhood, places where local people shop. Tourist traps and actual museums were a quick tram stop away. I did wander into the Marriot by the art museums.. it felt like a tourist hole. It was super close to the Heinekin theme restaurant.

The only thing that was hard was room service or getting food at the hotel. Breakfast was wonderful, but everything else was way overpriced. Overpriced for being a higher end Hilton hotel.

This is where I would stay again during my next trip to Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I have stayed four or five times in the last two years in this hotel.

BEST THINGS:
- Reasonably pleasant and modern decor in lobby, restaurant and bedrooms (at least in the executive bedrooms, the sole in which I have been)
- Very good firm bed
- Very quiet
- In a posh and green residential area of Amsterdam, a few minutes walk from the beautiful Vondel Park
- Professional staff
- Ample parking, although at a significant cost, but this is the case almost everywhere in Amsterdam
- Good breakfast
- Good snacks in the executive lounge
- Outstanding view towards Amsterdam, but only if you have a "Plus" room (to be selected when booking)

WORST THINGS:
- From the outside, the hotel is not at all attractive: it looks like a sad office block from the 60s or so
- Not in a central location, i.e., you have to use the tram (around 20 minutes), taxi (very expensive in Amsterdam) or better a bicycle to go downtown

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International
Address: Apollolaan 138, Amsterdam 1077 BG, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.