We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly, Great Neighborhood, Best Executive Lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #50 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Really friendly, Great Neighborhood, Best Executive Lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

While location and room quality usually rank highest in my hotel choices, I could not write this review without mentioning the extreme friendliness of this hotel and how this made our stay so wonderful. The people are really, really nice and made a terrific first impression! The hotel is quite comfortable, but not "luxurious" compared to other 5 star European hotels. However, the friendliness and superb executive lounge make this a great hotel choice. This beautiful tree-lined neighborhood is great - soothing and serene! My nicest canal photo was right behind the hotel and walks to the tram stop were so peaceful! The rooms are OK - orange & red is a strange color for hotel decor, but the beds are comfortable with crisp white down duvets and great views (even on the non-canal side). The executive lounge is fantastic - including hot breakfast entrees, a killer 360 degree view and a great staff. The evening canapes and desserts were great and access to the lounge made a huge difference in the quality of our stay. As per previous reviews, the trams will easily get you where you need to be and the hotel is ideal for those who will spend a few days at the nearby museums. The canal boat tour starts right behind the Rijks museum so this also got us around Amsterdam in addition to the trams. I usually prefer to stay close to city center, but loved the area of this hotel - Roberto's (hotel restaurant) is good and the hotel next door had a fantastic innovative restaurant with lots of well-heeled locals and it was easy to catch a tram to Leidesplein for dinner. Amsterdam is a young, hip city, but for those who prefer a less hectic atmosphere will appreciate the Hilton's location.

  • Liked — Executive Lounge
  • Disliked — Room decor & dated hotel exterior
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    425
    137
    50
    21
See reviews for
147
534
79
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

used points for a weekend and this hotel exceeded expections. canal view is a must if you're going to stay this far from the city center. the tram helps getting anywhere easy/cheap, however realize you're in more of a upscale, inner neighborhood than a big city.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights and for the first time ever came away with Not One problem. The staff were excellent, food great and location although approximately 20 minutes from the town centre by tram, suited us. The area is very relaxing witrh nice shops and restaurants. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2006

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel after being awarded it from a well known online hotel bidding Site ! At the price we paid we were very happy with the facilities though I have to admit I was hard pushed to see why this hotel was in the five star category as it was akin to the four star hotels that I would normally stay in .Sure you get a pillow menu and a soap menu (17.50 !!) but you do not get an in room iron ! I tend to take this for granted in most 4 star hotels so I was disappointed in this omission at 5 star level . The room however was very clean if a little plain , just a very standard hotel room , no wow factors.

As previously mentioned ,incidentals in the hotel are at 5 star prices, 32 Euro for Breakfast !! 20 Euro for a Marguerita Pizza . I cant comment on the presentation or quality .

Previous posters complain of the location of the hotel but because of the good tram communications I didnt have any complaints . The trams are very efficient and announce the next stop as it approches ,so its easy to get around . If you have limited time in the city I would advise using the tram as it is quite a walk from the hotel to the centre

tram 5 and 24 get off at stop Apollolaan
tram16 get of at stop Emmastraat

The stop for tram 16 is slightly closer to, and is across the canal from, the hotel.

TIP :- All odd numbered rooms face the canal and the city .These have by far the best views so you can tell at check in which view you will have.

I would have no problems staying at this hotel again at a good rate but would probably choose a different hotel on my next visit . If you are paying the rack rate of 390 Euro you are not getting good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

Amsterdam Hilton-Wonderful hotel
Wonderful hotel with attentive staff, big rooms (and big prices to match). I was there on points and was kindly upgraded to executive level. The hotel is in a semi-suburban area just inside the outer ring. It has a lovely small marina in back and is directly on a canal. Be sure to ask for a canal-view room - it's a huge difference. Generally efficient and friendly staff. Nils has a good start on a successful career in the hospitality business. I got the impression that most of the staff was likewise from doorman to chambermaid. NOTE: If you are renting a car in The Netherlands, unless you are fluent in Dutch and know the city, leave it in the hotel car-park and take the tram when exploring Amsterdam, especially at night (do not ignore this advice).

An observation about TripAdvisor (if you’ve seen this in other of my posts, feel free to skip): I used it extensively when planning a last-minute 3-week trip to Europe, was very happy to have the service and felt I should pay back with my comments. I think you have to read between the lines and determine the type of traveler writing the review compared to your own type. I’ve stayed in places that were highly recommended and turned out to be terrible; and the reverse. Try to judge whether the contributor is complaining about a one-time, bad experience as a result of an inattentive employee as opposed to a basic fault with the property itself. If a restaurant manager was rude, so what. If the place floods, and smells -- that’s a different story.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Amsterdam Hilton. I guess I should say that I am not generally a Hilton sort of traveler, I prefer a small and intimate hotel, with some character of the area where I am staying. That's NOT the Hilton. But we were attending a family wedding in that neighborhood of Amsterdam, so that's where all the guests stayed. We paid a lot of money for a very ordinary hotel room. Lots of amenities, but do you need a pillow menu? Or a soap menu? ( The soap is then available for purchase at 17 euros, about $20 a bar!) Our buffet breakfast was included, and it was just fantastic, a wide selection of food, or they will cook to order what you want. But again, it's quite expensive, and if you just want a coffee and coissant type of breakfast, you are out of luck, especially on the weekend when their cafe is closed. The Hilton is in a quiet, safe, residential neighborhood, so not many restaurant choices nearby for breakfast or dinner. It's a bit of a hike to downtown tourist attractions. Public transportation is available, take the 24 or 16 tram. Canal-side view is gorgeous, and there are windows that actually open, so you can hear the churchbells ringing! No clock in the room, so bring your own alarm clock. Actually, there is a tiny alarm clock in the TV, ours went off at 6AM, and we couldn't figure out how to shut it off, needed to contact the tech person at the hotel! This Hilton seems ideal for business travelers.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

This Hotel is in a great location and the staff was superior at trying to make our visit a really personnel affair,Making sure we were having a good time and providing information and instructions to make sure it was.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.