We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly, Great Neighborhood, Best Executive Lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #52 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Really friendly, Great Neighborhood, Best Executive Lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

While location and room quality usually rank highest in my hotel choices, I could not write this review without mentioning the extreme friendliness of this hotel and how this made our stay so wonderful. The people are really, really nice and made a terrific first impression! The hotel is quite comfortable, but not "luxurious" compared to other 5 star European hotels. However, the friendliness and superb executive lounge make this a great hotel choice. This beautiful tree-lined neighborhood is great - soothing and serene! My nicest canal photo was right behind the hotel and walks to the tram stop were so peaceful! The rooms are OK - orange & red is a strange color for hotel decor, but the beds are comfortable with crisp white down duvets and great views (even on the non-canal side). The executive lounge is fantastic - including hot breakfast entrees, a killer 360 degree view and a great staff. The evening canapes and desserts were great and access to the lounge made a huge difference in the quality of our stay. As per previous reviews, the trams will easily get you where you need to be and the hotel is ideal for those who will spend a few days at the nearby museums. The canal boat tour starts right behind the Rijks museum so this also got us around Amsterdam in addition to the trams. I usually prefer to stay close to city center, but loved the area of this hotel - Roberto's (hotel restaurant) is good and the hotel next door had a fantastic innovative restaurant with lots of well-heeled locals and it was easy to catch a tram to Leidesplein for dinner. Amsterdam is a young, hip city, but for those who prefer a less hectic atmosphere will appreciate the Hilton's location.

  • Liked — Executive Lounge
  • Disliked — Room decor & dated hotel exterior
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    552
    179
    64
    28
See reviews for
201
675
99
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

used points for a weekend and this hotel exceeded expections. canal view is a must if you're going to stay this far from the city center. the tram helps getting anywhere easy/cheap, however realize you're in more of a upscale, inner neighborhood than a big city.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights and for the first time ever came away with Not One problem. The staff were excellent, food great and location although approximately 20 minutes from the town centre by tram, suited us. The area is very relaxing witrh nice shops and restaurants. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2006

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel after being awarded it from a well known online hotel bidding Site ! At the price we paid we were very happy with the facilities though I have to admit I was hard pushed to see why this hotel was in the five star category as it was akin to the four star hotels that I would normally stay in .Sure you get a pillow menu and a soap menu (17.50 !!) but you do not get an in room iron ! I tend to take this for granted in most 4 star hotels so I was disappointed in this omission at 5 star level . The room however was very clean if a little plain , just a very standard hotel room , no wow factors.

As previously mentioned ,incidentals in the hotel are at 5 star prices, 32 Euro for Breakfast !! 20 Euro for a Marguerita Pizza . I cant comment on the presentation or quality .

Previous posters complain of the location of the hotel but because of the good tram communications I didnt have any complaints . The trams are very efficient and announce the next stop as it approches ,so its easy to get around . If you have limited time in the city I would advise using the tram as it is quite a walk from the hotel to the centre

tram 5 and 24 get off at stop Apollolaan
tram16 get of at stop Emmastraat

The stop for tram 16 is slightly closer to, and is across the canal from, the hotel.

TIP :- All odd numbered rooms face the canal and the city .These have by far the best views so you can tell at check in which view you will have.

I would have no problems staying at this hotel again at a good rate but would probably choose a different hotel on my next visit . If you are paying the rack rate of 390 Euro you are not getting good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

Amsterdam Hilton-Wonderful hotel
Wonderful hotel with attentive staff, big rooms (and big prices to match). I was there on points and was kindly upgraded to executive level. The hotel is in a semi-suburban area just inside the outer ring. It has a lovely small marina in back and is directly on a canal. Be sure to ask for a canal-view room - it's a huge difference. Generally efficient and friendly staff. Nils has a good start on a successful career in the hospitality business. I got the impression that most of the staff was likewise from doorman to chambermaid. NOTE: If you are renting a car in The Netherlands, unless you are fluent in Dutch and know the city, leave it in the hotel car-park and take the tram when exploring Amsterdam, especially at night (do not ignore this advice).

An observation about TripAdvisor (if you’ve seen this in other of my posts, feel free to skip): I used it extensively when planning a last-minute 3-week trip to Europe, was very happy to have the service and felt I should pay back with my comments. I think you have to read between the lines and determine the type of traveler writing the review compared to your own type. I’ve stayed in places that were highly recommended and turned out to be terrible; and the reverse. Try to judge whether the contributor is complaining about a one-time, bad experience as a result of an inattentive employee as opposed to a basic fault with the property itself. If a restaurant manager was rude, so what. If the place floods, and smells -- that’s a different story.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Amsterdam Hilton. I guess I should say that I am not generally a Hilton sort of traveler, I prefer a small and intimate hotel, with some character of the area where I am staying. That's NOT the Hilton. But we were attending a family wedding in that neighborhood of Amsterdam, so that's where all the guests stayed. We paid a lot of money for a very ordinary hotel room. Lots of amenities, but do you need a pillow menu? Or a soap menu? ( The soap is then available for purchase at 17 euros, about $20 a bar!) Our buffet breakfast was included, and it was just fantastic, a wide selection of food, or they will cook to order what you want. But again, it's quite expensive, and if you just want a coffee and coissant type of breakfast, you are out of luck, especially on the weekend when their cafe is closed. The Hilton is in a quiet, safe, residential neighborhood, so not many restaurant choices nearby for breakfast or dinner. It's a bit of a hike to downtown tourist attractions. Public transportation is available, take the 24 or 16 tram. Canal-side view is gorgeous, and there are windows that actually open, so you can hear the churchbells ringing! No clock in the room, so bring your own alarm clock. Actually, there is a tiny alarm clock in the TV, ours went off at 6AM, and we couldn't figure out how to shut it off, needed to contact the tech person at the hotel! This Hilton seems ideal for business travelers.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

This Hotel is in a great location and the staff was superior at trying to make our visit a really personnel affair,Making sure we were having a good time and providing information and instructions to make sure it was.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Marriott Amsterdam
Marriott Amsterdam
#68 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#110 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.