We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Roswell, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wonderful weekend in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are especially welcoming. We arrived very late last Friday night and our king room overlooking the canal was ready and waiting for us. Could not have asked for much more. A real nice touch though was being able to borrow an AC/DC adapter from the front desk for our entire stay. A real life-saver as we had left ours at the hotel in Stockholm.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    415
    136
    47
    21
See reviews for
145
529
78
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a lovely time during our stay in the Amsterdam Hilton Hotel on the Appollo laan. The staff where very friendly and helped out planning our stay in Amsterdam to make the most out of it. The location of the Hotel is also ideal for what we wanted to do making a ride on the canals and visiting the museum square.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

All good - you can not go too wrong in Hilton. Good, quiet location but enjoyed the walk (40 mins ) in to the Centre. Executive lounge was excellent, with a nice view of the city- would ensure had that again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Like many of you reading these reviews trying to decide out of the many hotels that are available which one to choose we were influenced by the positive reviews of the Hilton and many stating that it was better to choose a hotel outside of the hussle and bussle and noise of the city centre, hence us deciding on the Hilton.
We had an executive room with access to the executive lounge, here they served free snacks and all types of drinks including spirits and wines from 6.00pm until 10.00pm, the only problem being that we were already out in the city sightseeing all day and you did not feel like going all the way back just to use the lounge for drinks and then having to go out again for dinner so by the time we got back after a day out the lounge was already closed.

The hotel is very quite and you get very little noise from anywhere outside or your fellow guests so can get a decent nights sleep but would say that although the rooms are very clean and have everything you could possibly need I do think they could do with updating.
Now that we have just returned from 5 days at the hotel and during that time seem to have travelled the entire city I would not make the same choice again and definitely stay somewhere central so that I do not keep having to buy tram tickets or having a 30-40 minute walk back each time, we have picked out 4 hotels we would use for our future trips that are far more convenient to use as a base in the centre of the city offering far more convenience..

The Hilton Amsterdam scored highly as follows.
Service and attitude of staff 10/10
Room and public area cleanliness 10/10
Excellent breakfast buffet and service 10/10
Location 5/10
The hotel also has a huge car park but it is pricey, however in the side streets next door you can park and just buy tickets from the machine or another couple of streets away you can even park for free.

Amsterdam is a beautiful city and we loved it but what really surprised me is how cheap it is to dine out, you can chose from fast food to top class restaurants but they are a fraction of London prices, good quality ribeye steaks with chips and salad for £10 through to 3 course meals in a good restaurant including a bottle of wine for approx £50, I was astounded at what you get for the money and the quality of food served, you can eat really well even on a tight budget.

Do also join the locals and hire a dutch bike as it is a great way to get around the city and a good deal of fun, beautiful when cycling alongside the canals on a glorious sunny day and you can cover a lot of ground quite quickly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We travelled the Aug bank holiday weekend, and arrived at the Hilton at about 0800 with a check in time of 1400 however we were given access to the room straight away.
We arrived from the airport, train to Station Zuid and number 5 tram to Appollaan. The hotel website gives exact instructions on how to get there by foot and it really only takes 5 mins.
You can buy daily travel cards from the Hilton gift shop which you can use all trams. When going into town number 24 takes you to all the main attractions and takes about 10mins.
This hotel was lovely, we had an executive room facing the canal and it is very much worth the extra £'s. The staff were all very friendly, great level of English and always willing to help. The entrance, lobby, elevator, halls and rooms were clean tidy and of a great standard. We would definitely come back here. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are quieter and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for 3 nights at the beginning of a European organised tour. We were very pleased with the politeness of all staff that we had dealings with, from the reception staff to the breakfast room staff. I had a problem with the padlock on my suitcase and had to have it hacked off by a member of the maintenance team, who made sure that he went back to his workshop and got me some cable ties so that I could use them to secure my case.
The hotel is not central but is located in a residential area so this makes it extremely quiet at night. There is a nice walk to the Rijksmuseum which takes around 20 minutes and there are plenty of restaurants and shops including a supermarket in that area. There is also a tram stop just 5 minutes walk away. We found it to be a good hotel with good service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As Hilton Diamond members we have had the pleasure of staying at quite a few hiltons and this hotel definitely did not live up to the standards which we have come to expect.

The hotel is located a good 20 minute stroll from the main attractions of Amsterdam but we took advantage of the free bicycles offered by the hotel which was a lovely touch. We kept the same bicycles for the length of our 4 night stay. If you want to be in the hub of the centre this hotel using for you.

We were allocated a room on the 7th floor overlooking the carpark. If you get a choice is it much nicer to overlook the canal on the other side. The rooms are dated but adequate. On our first evening I could not get any hot water for a bath and noticed that there were dried faeces on the base of the toilet seat. An engineer came to try to solve the problem but the thermostat was broken and there was no service team available to fix it. The front desk said that they would send someone up with a key to the connecting room which was empty so that we could use their bathroom. After waiting for 40 mins (at 11pm) I went down to the front desk who had seemingly forgotten all about it. I had been wet through from the rain and desperate for a warm bath so I wasn't best pleased! There was no apology for the broken thermostat or the inconvenience this caused.

The next day, on returning at 5pm we discovered our room hadn't been refreshed and on another, when returning at 5.45pm we had been turned down for the night! Much too early.

The executive lounge is pretty souless. The hostess doesn't speak and the presentations are basic and are repeated on a daily basis. The views of Amsterdam are good but other than that the lounge leaves a lot to be desired.

We decided to leave a day early and hence lost the cost of another night at the Hilton as we had purchased our short break as part of a package. The weather wasn't fantastic but the hotel wasn't nice enough to want you to stay! Not something I've experienced before.

We asked the porters to order us a taxi but later found out from our driver that they are in a commission and the cost is passed onto the passengers. If you want to save yourselves a few euros get a cab independently from the rank opposite. If you want to have a luxurious, trouble free stay in the centre of the wonderful city of Amsterdam, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.