We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Amsterdam Apollo Laan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #49 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hilton Amsterdam Apollo Laan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We had a lovely time during our stay in the Amsterdam Hilton Hotel on the Appollo laan. The staff where very friendly and helped out planning our stay in Amsterdam to make the most out of it. The location of the Hotel is also ideal for what we wanted to do making a ride on the canals and visiting the museum square.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Erik O,

Thank you for your positive review regarding you last stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

The location of the hotel is indeed one of the strong points of the hotel, as the hotel lies close to the Rijksmuseum and the old city centre.

I have personally shared your positive comments with the team and hope to welcome you again with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    470
    152
    55
    23
See reviews for
165
581
84
383
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

All good - you can not go too wrong in Hilton. Good, quiet location but enjoyed the walk (40 mins ) in to the Centre. Executive lounge was excellent, with a nice view of the city- would ensure had that again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear yob2112,

Thank you for your positive review regarding you last stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

Our hotel is indeed in a quiet and old location. Depending on your route it is approximately a 15 to 30 minutes walk from the museum areas, shopping areas and to the old centre. Whenever you would stay with us next time I would advise you to walk through the Vondel park, this is Amsterdam’s main park.

I have shared your positive comments with the team and hope to welcome you again with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Like many of you reading these reviews trying to decide out of the many hotels that are available which one to choose we were influenced by the positive reviews of the Hilton and many stating that it was better to choose a hotel outside of the hussle and bussle and noise of the city centre, hence us deciding on the Hilton.
We had an executive room with access to the executive lounge, here they served free snacks and all types of drinks including spirits and wines from 6.00pm until 10.00pm, the only problem being that we were already out in the city sightseeing all day and you did not feel like going all the way back just to use the lounge for drinks and then having to go out again for dinner so by the time we got back after a day out the lounge was already closed.

The hotel is very quite and you get very little noise from anywhere outside or your fellow guests so can get a decent nights sleep but would say that although the rooms are very clean and have everything you could possibly need I do think they could do with updating.
Now that we have just returned from 5 days at the hotel and during that time seem to have travelled the entire city I would not make the same choice again and definitely stay somewhere central so that I do not keep having to buy tram tickets or having a 30-40 minute walk back each time, we have picked out 4 hotels we would use for our future trips that are far more convenient to use as a base in the centre of the city offering far more convenience..

The Hilton Amsterdam scored highly as follows.
Service and attitude of staff 10/10
Room and public area cleanliness 10/10
Excellent breakfast buffet and service 10/10
Location 5/10
The hotel also has a huge car park but it is pricey, however in the side streets next door you can park and just buy tickets from the machine or another couple of streets away you can even park for free.

Amsterdam is a beautiful city and we loved it but what really surprised me is how cheap it is to dine out, you can chose from fast food to top class restaurants but they are a fraction of London prices, good quality ribeye steaks with chips and salad for £10 through to 3 course meals in a good restaurant including a bottle of wine for approx £50, I was astounded at what you get for the money and the quality of food served, you can eat really well even on a tight budget.

Do also join the locals and hire a dutch bike as it is a great way to get around the city and a good deal of fun, beautiful when cycling alongside the canals on a glorious sunny day and you can cover a lot of ground quite quickly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Oldcoloni,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam. We appreciate your detailed description of our facilities and your experience.

The quality and convenience of our rooms is indeed something we consider as one of our highest priority. Amsterdam itself is indeed a city very suitable for quality dining for a fair price. Next time when you visit our hotel I could also highly recommend to come and take a look at our Roberto’s restaurant, offering high quality food Italian inspired food with an Italian atmosphere.

Discovering the city of Amsterdam by bicycle is indeed a very suitable way, did you know that you could also rent bicycles at our hotel?

We hope to welcome you in the hotel soon again.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We travelled the Aug bank holiday weekend, and arrived at the Hilton at about 0800 with a check in time of 1400 however we were given access to the room straight away.
We arrived from the airport, train to Station Zuid and number 5 tram to Appollaan. The hotel website gives exact instructions on how to get there by foot and it really only takes 5 mins.
You can buy daily travel cards from the Hilton gift shop which you can use all trams. When going into town number 24 takes you to all the main attractions and takes about 10mins.
This hotel was lovely, we had an executive room facing the canal and it is very much worth the extra £'s. The staff were all very friendly, great level of English and always willing to help. The entrance, lobby, elevator, halls and rooms were clean tidy and of a great standard. We would definitely come back here. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are quieter and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear mrandmiss,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay so much. Your detailed feedback about how you have experienced you stay helps us to keep improving our services. The location of the hotel is indeed one of the strong points. Just a 10 minute walk to the Museum District with all cultural activities you would need and a stone throw away from several nice restaurants and shops. I have personally shared your comments with our Team Members.

Thank you for your comments about the quality of the room, as it is one of our top priorities.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for 3 nights at the beginning of a European organised tour. We were very pleased with the politeness of all staff that we had dealings with, from the reception staff to the breakfast room staff. I had a problem with the padlock on my suitcase and had to have it hacked off by a member of the maintenance team, who made sure that he went back to his workshop and got me some cable ties so that I could use them to secure my case.
The hotel is not central but is located in a residential area so this makes it extremely quiet at night. There is a nice walk to the Rijksmuseum which takes around 20 minutes and there are plenty of restaurants and shops including a supermarket in that area. There is also a tram stop just 5 minutes walk away. We found it to be a good hotel with good service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Google Translation
Geachte Scholesh,

Wat een mooie review van Hilton Amsterdam!

Het is fantastisch te horen dat uw laatste verblijf zo goed is verlopen en dat we uw verwachtingen waar hebben kunnen maken. Vanuit Hilton Amsterdam lopen naar het Rijksmuseum is inderdaad een mooie wandeling.

Ik heb uw aanbeveling over onze service gedeeld met onze werknemers.

Wij hopen u snel weer te mogen verwelkomen in Hilton Amsterdam,

Met hartelijke groeten,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

As Hilton Diamond members we have had the pleasure of staying at quite a few hiltons and this hotel definitely did not live up to the standards which we have come to expect.

The hotel is located a good 20 minute stroll from the main attractions of Amsterdam but we took advantage of the free bicycles offered by the hotel which was a lovely touch. We kept the same bicycles for the length of our 4 night stay. If you want to be in the hub of the centre this hotel using for you.

We were allocated a room on the 7th floor overlooking the carpark. If you get a choice is it much nicer to overlook the canal on the other side. The rooms are dated but adequate. On our first evening I could not get any hot water for a bath and noticed that there were dried faeces on the base of the toilet seat. An engineer came to try to solve the problem but the thermostat was broken and there was no service team available to fix it. The front desk said that they would send someone up with a key to the connecting room which was empty so that we could use their bathroom. After waiting for 40 mins (at 11pm) I went down to the front desk who had seemingly forgotten all about it. I had been wet through from the rain and desperate for a warm bath so I wasn't best pleased! There was no apology for the broken thermostat or the inconvenience this caused.

The next day, on returning at 5pm we discovered our room hadn't been refreshed and on another, when returning at 5.45pm we had been turned down for the night! Much too early.

The executive lounge is pretty souless. The hostess doesn't speak and the presentations are basic and are repeated on a daily basis. The views of Amsterdam are good but other than that the lounge leaves a lot to be desired.

We decided to leave a day early and hence lost the cost of another night at the Hilton as we had purchased our short break as part of a package. The weather wasn't fantastic but the hotel wasn't nice enough to want you to stay! Not something I've experienced before.

We asked the porters to order us a taxi but later found out from our driver that they are in a commission and the cost is passed onto the passengers. If you want to save yourselves a few euros get a cab independently from the rank opposite. If you want to have a luxurious, trouble free stay in the centre of the wonderful city of Amsterdam, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and for having chosen our hotel for your home away from home.

I am happy to read that as a very valuable Hilton Honors Diamond Member, you also enjoyed complimentary bikes and access to the Executive Lounge, situated at the 10th floor and with a fantastic 360 view of the city.

I am sorry to hear of the inconvenience you experienced in your room and that the reaction of our Team was not adequate. I have immediately shared the reported service sequences with my Team to ensure serious follow-up and Team learning. Please accept my sincere apologies.
In regards of the taxi, I can assure that we do not pass any additional cost to hotel guest. This comment as the others are taken very seriously and would appreciate if you could contact me directly at AMSHI_GM@hilton.com. In this way I can assure proper follow-up with the taxi company and if necessary also internally.

I truly hope to have the chance to talk to you soon and to have the possibility to meet you personally during your next stay in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Typical Dutch hospitality, friendly, nothing too much trouble and all staff speak perfect English and have a smile on their face. The hotel is of a good standard- it is luxurious but it's not classy-just functional. But It does do what it says on the tin and in a big way. Prices are very good. I had a large bedroom and king sized bed and slept very well. Excellent business facilities, strong wi fi and everything works. Food typical of a hotel like this and excellent buffet breakfast. And because the hotel is a good way out from the city, its quiet-hardly any tourists or noisy kids running around shouting.. just business people so nice,relaxing quiet atmosphere.
The downside is that the hotel is nowhere near the centre of Amsterdam. You can get a tram though or taxi. Tram is very cheap and a good, regular service.Highly recommended but dont forget its not in the centre!

Room Tip: Book direct. Very helpful friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Mark B,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your last stay with us. Your positive review has been forwarded to the team, they were very excited about the acknowledgement.

Our location is indeed one of our strongest points in terms of quietness. Next to travelling by tram or foot to the city centre we can also recommend travelling to the city centre by bicycle which you can rent with our concierge department.

I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.