We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More businesslike than touristy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #50 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lone Tree, CO
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“More businesslike than touristy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is not overrun by tourists, probably because it's a pretty good hike the nearest tourist attractions--and that, to me, is a good thing. Even though we were there as tourists ourselves, it's nice to come back to a first-class hotel that's not crowded with people frantically trying to squeeze in all of Amsterdam's tourist spots. The staff was universally friendly and helpful, particularly the young woman who ran the lobby coffee shop. The concierge helped to arrange tram tickets. provided maps and good advice, except for one restaurant recommendation, which was disastrously bad. The room was up to date and very well maintained. As others have noted, in-room Wi-Fi is expensive, but we had no problem using the free lobby Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear TBearden,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay so much. Your detailed feedback about how you have experienced you stay helps us to keep improving our services. Especially your comment about the hotel recommendation is something I discussed with our concierge department.

Furthermore, I have personally shared your comments with our Team Members.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    459
    148
    54
    23
See reviews for
156
574
80
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Excellency guaranteed...I needed a place to chill out for a moment, it was just like coming home in my guestland. Magnificent location, heart of the history of Amsterdam, near fine restaurants, nightclubs and banks. Don't need to go out of the way to find something to do and ease the time out. Next time I would love to bring my kids, should have local people find out what there is around to do for kids, boattrips are ok but don't let them run around in museums, might be a bore...kids need to play, what to do for them...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Anuradha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay so much. Your detailed feedback about how you have experienced you stay helps us to keep improving our services. The location of the hotel is indeed one of the strong points. Just a 10 minute walk to the Museum District with all cultural activities you would need and a stone throw away from several nice restaurants and shops. I have personally shared your comments with our Team Members.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel and the rooms are okay, but not like a 5-star hotel. I've stayed in much better 4-star or even 3-star hotels before. Location is not convenient at all, remote from the city center. The most ridiculous thing is that internet is extremely expensive. I remember that WIFI was said to be free of charge in the lobby area, but we were never able to connect. We're living in the 21st century and one of the largest hotel chains worldwide should be aware of this.
Moreover, I'm used to very friendly people in the Netherlands. However, the staff here appeared a little arrogant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear DenDen123,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

The location of our hotel is indeed not in the centre of Amsterdam, but in a more quiet and upscale residential area of the city. Whenever you would stay with us next time, our concierges would be happy to assist you in finding suitable transport options. For example, tram 5 and 24 stop just around the corner and can take you to the historical city centre within 10 minutes. A nice walk could also be an option since a route to the centre can be found trough the Vondelpark.

I would like to offer our apologies about the Wi-Fi inconvenience. I discussed your comments on this with our technological department for further development. Furthermore, we are sorry to read that you have experienced our Team Members this way. Usually our outgoing Team Members are praised for their friendly service.

I truly hope to have a chance to meet you personally during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed on short trip to Amsterdam with family. The hotel was conveniently situated in a quiet residential area away from the hustle and bustle of central Amsterdam. Lots of places to eat and drink in the nearby streets and just a short walk to the trams or to Zuid station for airport. Our booking included access to Executive Lounge on roof which offered complimentary drinks, snacks and breakfast. This saved us a few bob during stay as we got this on a good rate. However, the hotel bars and restaurants are very expensive so beware when buying drinks in the other bars. Free internet access was provided in public areas, but 25 euros a day if you wanted this in your room. You would expect this to be included nowadays. On the whole a comfortable three nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Roger C,

Thank you for your great review of Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay so much. The location of our hotel is indeed one of our strong points. Did you know that you can buy public transport tickets at our concierges? Furthermore, they would also be happy to assist you with up-to-date time schedules of this public transport.

When taking a walk to the city centre we also recommend a route through the Vondel parc, it offers you a great natural experience within 5 minutes from the hotel.

Your detailed feedback about how you have experienced you stay have been forwarded to the team.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

1st the great aspects. We loved the location, lovely neighbourhood quiet and great views of the canal. 1 block to the tram and 2 stops to museumplein. Executive lounge is superb, great rooftop views of the city, lovely nibbles available from 6pm along with refreshments and alcohol. Beds are comfortable with choice of pillows so a great nights sleep really quiet on the canal side.
Now the less great aspects, leaky shower head in our executive room, holes in the bedding which really could do with replacing and breakfast was not the usual hilton standard. No "live cooking" and no menu to show that you can ask for food to order. We only realised on our last day that you could get omelettes, eggs to order, smoked salmon, waffles and maybe other stuff but they keep it quiet. Items weren't often replaced so there were frequently no yoghurts. Service was patchy and the tea was never hot enough or strong enough. Probably better for coffee drinkers as they seemed to have a better choice.
Shame these few things let down what could be an excellent hotel, we thought it was overpriced at 279 euros a night.

Room Tip: Canal side would be my choice, all floors are quiet, we were in 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Bootooyoo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

The neighbourhood is indeed lovely: nice and quiet and still close to the city centre. The view over the area is best to be enjoyed from within our Executive Lounge.

I have shared your comments about your bathroom with the Engineering department, as this is not how we wish to deliver our rooms. In addition, I communicated your comments about the breakfast to our culinary team. It is very unfortunate that you haven’t been informed earlier about our great breakfast possibilities.

I hope to get a chance to meet you personally during your next stay in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Clean, comfortable hotel in a lovely quiet Amsterdam suburb. We were a little worried that we would be a bit far out of the centre but it transpired that, after a day spent in the hustle and bustle of Central Amsterdam in August, it was an absolute pleasure to step off the tram into such a peaceful and genteel area. There is a choice of good restaurants, cafés and bars within easy walking distance of the hotel. The walk to Amsterdan Zuid station is easy and pleasant -approximate 20 minutes. It is approx 15 minute walk to the museum district.

Hotel itself is clean and comfortable. The staff are professional and efficient. The hotel restaurants and bars are expensive and don't even think about room service, the charges are eye wateringly high. The outside seating area is a lovely place to sit with a drink in the sunshine next to the canal. We were lucky enough to get a deal which included access to the executive lounge on the 10 the floor with views over Amsterdam. The complimentary breakfast was good, although the tea and coffee from a machine could have been hotter, but that is just nitpicking as we loved our peaceful breakfasts and complimentary evening drinks up in the Sky lounge.

Room Tip: Executive rooms give access to executive lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening drinks. Wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Mrsfussybag,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay. The location of the hotel is indeed one of the strong points. Just a 10 minute walk to the Museum District with all cultural activities you would need and a stone throw away from several nice restaurants and shops.

Next time when you enjoy our Hilton breakfast I can surely recommend our blueberry pancakes, our variety of eggs or our lovely waffles. I have shared your comment about the coffee machine with our culinary team.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel after a week cruise down the Rhine River. We used our Hilton Points to secure a lower rate. We checked in in the morning, and our room was ready. We dropped our bags and headed out to catch the tram into downtown Amsterdam. The tram was a couple of blocks over, and very easy to catch. We toured around town, but were so tired after our cruise that we came back late afternoon to rest. The lobby/back deck/bar area is very lovely and a great place to sit and relax and look over the canal. It was also very nice to have the free Wi-Fi to catch up on e-mail and reconfirm flights home. We were so tired we decided to order some room service, and because we had eaten a large lunch we split a hamburger, fries and a coke, and were shocked by the price. With the room service fee it came to about $50 US, and that was for only one hamburger. The prices are very high, a bottle of water from the bar was 5 Euro. We experienced some air conditioner problems in the room, and had to switch rooms. Unfortunately it was later in the evening, and the new room had similar issues. We did not want to move again and just put up with it. I will have to say the staff was very accommodating, and would have moved us again if we needed it, but we were so tired we did not want to move again. The hotel is lovely on the inside, very open and bright. We ate breakfast in the dining room in the morning and had some of the best pancakes we have had in a long while. When it is time to take a taxi to the airport, the hotel will let you pre-pay for the taxi so you don't have to negotiate with the driver. This is a nice hotel in a quiet area of town but with easy access to the trams to go back into the excitement of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Opt for the canal view. It is very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear LisaRicky,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay. The location of the hotel is indeed one of the strong points. Just a 10 minute walk to the Museum District with all cultural activities you would need and a stone throw away from several nice restaurants and shops.

The bar area and the garden offer you great possibilities to relax in a natural environment. Next time when you are staying with us I can definitely recommend taking a tour through the Amsterdam canals, our concierge department would be happy to assist you with this.

I have shared your comment about the air-conditioning with our engineering department for future developments.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.