We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside terrace bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #51 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outside terrace bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I returned from Amsterdam yesterday after a 4 day break, on our last day we wanted to cool off on the terrace bar of this fine hotel, we then ordered 2 tonic waters with ice and lemon, the service was excellent, however we were shocked to see that our bill for these bog standard drinks was €16.
By any standards that is excessive unless you are on expenses of course.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Mr Jacksand,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us. I am taking your comments regarding the pricing into account and have shared them with the management team for future developments. Your positive comments regarding the service have been shared with the Half Moon Lounge team and they were delighted to hear that they were acknowledged.

I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    497
    162
    58
    26
See reviews for
178
617
89
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

this hotel was our first stay in amsterdam ,lovely situation green belt in front of us .the service rooms breakfast were of a very high standard ,and the prices excellent ,cannot rate the hotel highly enough.as we were part of a tour group we opted for the hilton instead of the tour groups choice ,and were really very happy.easy walking distance of the centre of town.recommended highly.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to overlook the park,in front,lovely outside patio for a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Micheal Hilton,

Many thanks for your positive review of Hilton Amsterdam.

Your positive words and recommendation finds me well. Sharing such a great review with our Team gives me great joy. It works as motivation for us to hear that we are doing well and that our hard work is appreciated.

Might I recommend to try the Garden Terrace upon your next visit? Here you can enjoy a theatre view over our beautiful garden and it is an excellent place to enjoy the afternoon sun.

I hope to get the chance to personally meet you during your next visit.

Wishing you all the best,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Amsterdam is expensive but a Hilton away from the city center was great. Easy tram and bus transportation to major sites & downtown, close walks to great local restaurants. Buy daily tram pass in gift shop. Concierge's local restaurant recommendations were great.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Larry,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that our services and facilities met your approval. I have personally shared you recommendations with our concierge team. We place great value on your opinion and hope we may look forward to welcoming you again the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for a few days on business and enjoyed my stay.
Pros: Great location on a canal with nice gardens . Room overlooked Amsterdam and location was convenient to walk into town without being in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. Rooms were well appointed. Gym was attached to hotel and looked like it has a lot of decent workout facilities although I never had the chance to use them. Food served at conferences was good

Cons: Beds were very hard surprising given the trend to softer 'heavenly' type beds by the major chains. Front desk was overwhelmed at times and did not answer the phone when I rang down.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors with a view facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Chriw,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Amsterdam!

It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your last stay with us. We are proud of the hotel's location, located just between the business district and the old town it provides our guests with everything they need.

Your comment regarding the beds and the Front Desk are taken into account and shared within the team. All our beds have super toppers to increase comfort and to find the right balance between support and softness. I hope we can make your next stay more comfortable.

Wishing you all the best from Amsterdam,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there two nights a week or so ago. Very nice. Service was outstanding. Beautiful views of the canal. Room was clean and pretty good. Location is a little far from the nightlife but taxis or the tram is easily available. The tram can easily take you to the museum area and central Amsterdam. More of a business hotel but I had a great experience. However be prepared to drop some Euros if you want food or drink.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Jman,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities. I have immediately shared your positive comments with the Team and they were happy to hear that their efforts paid off. Our gift shop sells 24H public transport access tickets, which are very convenient for city exploration.

I hope we may welcome you again with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my family. We arrived at the hotel at 7:30am fully expecting to just be able to drop off our stuff pending a 3pm check-in. We were very surprised and happy when our two rooms were ready for us immediately. We had lovely canal view rooms, which appeared to have been renovated fairly recently. Excellent and free wi-fi was easy to access and had good bandwidth. Our rate included breakfast, which was excellent. It included an excellent buffet selection coupled with made-to-order french toast and eggs. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, but just a 10 minute walk to the museum area and close to the tram. If you looking for a hotel in Amsterdam, you can't go wrong with Hilton!

Room Tip: Canal-view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Harvlaw

Thank you for your detailed review about Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our excellent service and that you found our location convenient. Indeed, we offer free Wi-Fi in all of our public area’s including bar and restaurant.

Your positive comments have been shared with the breakfast team and they were pleased to hear that their efforts are acknowledged.

For your next visit I would highly recommend to take an afternoon stroll through the Vondelpark which is located just behind the hotel.

I hope we may welcome you again with us soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a very nice hotel that had very clean rooms and excellent service. We had a problem with our room but this was quickly dealt with by a very helpful team of staff. The italian restaurant was also exquisite, and there was a large array of food at breakfast. The only downside of this hotel is that it is not located in the very centre of the city, but I did not find this a problem and in fact quite the opposite. The neighbourhood in which the hotel is located in is very quiet and family friendly, with the voldenpark round the corner through which you can walk to the centre of the city. The museum area is also in close proximity. There is also a tram which passes very close to the hotel which can take you all around amsterdam. Although you are not right in the centre of the city this can be an advantage as Amsterdam is a very noisy and busy city and sometimes this can be overwhelming. All in all a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the garden not the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the excellent service and the location. It is very convenient to take tram 16 towards the city centre. It departs right behind the hotel as you mentioned.

I have personally shared your recommendations regarding Roberto’s Restaurant with the team and I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.