We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet & friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €160
Ranked #46 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice, quiet & friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just back from Amsterdam! Hilton was great! Very friendly for pets! With really nice patio with the canal view, you can take a boat ride right from this place. Very nice bar on the first floor. What a surprise was when I found Hillinger's wine in mini bar! You have to taste it - Small Hill! Austrian product- really good. Staff is absolutely welcome!
Close to the park, shopping street & Van Gogh museum. Huge parking is a plus for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Hilton Amsterdam

It is great to hear to you had such a pleasant stay with us. The theatre view from the Garden Terrace over the marina and garden is one of our most beautiful views. Did you know that, if the weather permits it, we also have a special River Dining experience right at the canal?
I hope we can welcome you soon again and show you what more the city of Amsterdam has to offer.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    653
    409
    136
    45
    21
See reviews for
132
507
76
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I was in Amsterdam for a convention. I stayed at the Amsterdam Hilton. The hotel was very nice. The staff was very nice. It was a nice walk through the neighborhood to the convention center. I also walked back through a large park to the museum district and across all the canals. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear RovingCOO,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Hilton Amsterdam.

I am happy to hear to you enjoyed you stay with us. I have personally thanked the staff for their efforts to deliver the best service possible. The Vondelpark and the Museum District are within walking distance and give you a great impression of Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Very nice hotel with excellent staff and a very helpful concierge. Buffet breakfast was very good. Lovely quite area with great restaurants, a very delicious chocolate store and a supermarket that everything we needed. We also enjoyed eating at an organic cafe, 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Jumping on a tram was easy to take you into the museums and sites of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Donna8587

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam!

I enjoyed that you find our hotel comfortable and nice. The way you explained the location is exactly how we experience it as well. The convenience of having everything within walking distance is a unique factor of Hilton Amsterdam.

I hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Illinois
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We started our tour of Holland by staying at this very nice hotel. My room looked out on a park and we were in a suburban setting. We could walk to restaurants and a small supermarket to buy food.
This hotel definitely gets my highest marks for being a fine place to stay. It looked out over a canal and a train station was about a block away that could take you right to the downtown. Breakfast was a good buffet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear PeonyRose,

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Amsterdam!

What a wonderful reply you wrote, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. From the canal side of our hotel you have a stunning view over the old town of Amsterdam. I have personally thanked all staff for their efforts.

I hope to get the chance to welcome you during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great hotel and wonderful staff. We had a canal view that was delightful. Located in a quiet neighborhood but with easy access to transportation and museums. Dining experience was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear ConstantTraveller,

Thank you for your kind words in your review about Hilton Amsterdam!

The view over the canal is stunning not only from your room but also from the Garden Terrace, where you can have canapés or drinks in the afternoon sun. Your positive recommendation as result of your experience is very much appreciated and has been shared with the entire culinary team.

I hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Without any research I selected this hotel because of my experiences with Hilton in the past. It was a delightful surprise to take in the wonderful park just a few blocks away and also the museum district and canal tours. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Paul H,

Thank you for writing a review about your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us. The location is convenient due to the fact that it provides you with several bars, restaurants, museums and parks within walking distance. I am happy that you have experienced it exactly that way.

Hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was our first visit to the Hilton, and our overall impression was that all the employees, no matter whether they were the Hotel Manager or Housekeeping staff, Restaurant team or Concierge, couldn’t do enough to ensure that our time in the hotel met the exacting standards for which this particular chain is so proud.

We realise that every company, whether a hotel or other commercial organisation, will make mistakes from time to time, but what is vitally important is how those mistakes are recognised and then rectified. It was reassuring to see that despite the corporate branding, that when we brought some issues to the attention of Alessio Colavecchio (Hotel Manager) and Sara Facheris (Front Desk Manager), that they did not lose sight of the fact that the personal touch is still crucial to the operation and that a very satisfactory resolution was found.

The icing on the cake was when they discovered that it was our Wedding Anniversary, and then went the extra mile which was a total and very pleasant surprise to us.

Although the hotel is located about a 20 minute tram ride away (route 16 on the Emmastraat stop) from the station, it felt more relaxing to be away from the relative bustle of the city centre (although we feel that Amsterdam could never be described as bustling when compared with Paris or London!).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear PrelcoConsulting,

It was a pleasure to have the chance to talk to you both personally on your second day. A huge thank you for providing us the chance to make it right at first occasion. Once again our congratulations with your anniversary.

I hope to have the chance of meeting you soon during your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warm greetings,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.