We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True excellence, over and over again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #52 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“True excellence, over and over again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

3rd time I stayed in this hotel durig the last 4 months. Every time true excellence! And even more. Looking forward to the next stay in your hotel and I promiss this will be soon! This hotel inlc beautiful garden, its perfect location and its wonderful crew is worth visiting!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Nicolle V,

Thank you again for your great reply about Hilton Amsterdam!

I feel honoured that you are so loyal to our hotel and that you again have taken the time to write a review! I have shared your positive comments with the whole team. They were glad to hear their efforts are acknowledged. Indeed our garden is beautiful and it is the perfect location to enjoy, relax and have a cold drink at the canal.

I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    455
    145
    52
    23
See reviews for
156
564
80
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed in Hilton Amsterdam 3 days for a conference. The overall feeling I have is that they try to suck the last euro from your pocket. And I was glad that my company paid for my stay otherwise I would be really disappointed.
Apart from the expensive price of the room you have to pay extra for breakfast (19 Euros per person a day) and internet access in your room (25 Euros a day). Others said that there was also an extra fee for hotel guests to use the gym (about 20 Euros I think).These are usually included in the room charge in other hotels.
Staff at the reception was not very kind and did not give us proper and complete information (e.g. about Hilton voucher for taxi that would ensure us regular price, free internet access in a room for conference guests).
Hotel is in a quiet location but there are no restaurants or bars nearby. You have to walk approx 10 minutes to reach one. Hotel is relatively close to Museumsplein - about 20 minutes walk, or 2 stations by tram.
Room was clean and comfortable with nice view of the canal. Complimentary tea and coffee in the room.
I will not come again to this hotel. I would rather stay in a hotel where you can enjoy same comfortable stay without the impression of being ripped off.

Room Tip: room with view over canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Geeg15,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your last stay with us!

We would like to offer our sincere apology for the way you have experienced your stay. Our range of different breakfast offers are available as of €20,-. ISSIMO coffee bar, open on weekdays as of 7 AM, offers a variety of breakfast items but also a breakfast menu which includes coffee, croissant and fresh fruit juice or fruit salad for only €8,-.

Internet is complimentary in all of our public areas including Roberto’s restaurant and Half Moon Lounge. Our apologies if the information was not properly communicated. I have immediately shared your feedback regarding the way you have experienced the service from our front desk team. Our hotel is indeed located in the upscale residential area of Amsterdam. The main advantage is that we are easily accessible by public transport and car and only 10 minutes walking distance from the museum district. Tram lines 16, 24, and 5 take you in to the city centre within 10 minutes and are located just behind the hotel. Our concierge is more than happy to provide you with all the information regarding restaurants and bars located nearby.

We truly hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Feel free to contact me directly for all of the questions you may have.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lovely hotel with a beutiful garden along one of Amsterdams channels. Parking just outside the hotel was a plus for us arriving by car. We tried both the resturant and bar. The breakfast could have had a little larger selection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Hans Z,

Many thanks your kind words about you last stay with the Hilton Amsterdam!

The hotel is indeed located in the upscale residential area “Oud-Zuid” of only 10 minutes walking distance of the Museum District, House of Rembrandt and Van Gogh Arts museum. Also very reachable by tram lines 16, 24, and 5 who depart right behind the hotel. Did you know that during the summer months we open our ‘River Dining’ restaurant located just 1 meter from the water? Where you can enjoy: Iberico Pata Negra, Iced crab legs and Beef fillet with Rockefeller oysters all day from 11 am until 11:30 pm.

I hope to get the chance to welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went to have a city break and enjoy what we had heard was a beautiful city, we had a great time and the hotel a great place, I love Hiltons you get the same standard every where in the world! Did not go any where near the pot shops or night stuff, we saw the nice people and all the history , brought back lots of bulbs to.
Well worth the visit, I want to now go and see the rest of the country.

Room Tip: When staying at Hilton always upgrade it worth it and join there loyalty team!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear ADWGlasgow,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

It is very good to hear that you appreciated our services. Did you know that in the darker times of the year Amsterdam is hosting a light festival through the whole city in which different artists show their creations made out of light bulbs? There is more information about this online and we are more than happy to provide you with more information if you are interested. Feel free to contact me personally.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to get the chance to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Located in one of the more affluent neighborhoods of the city, the Hilton is a good corporate or get what you expect choice for a vacation traveler. Quiet, well-run and within a short distance of the central city. Just watch the price of the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Phil L,

What a great review of Hilton Amsterdam!
I am grateful that you took the time to share you experience with fellow travellers.
It pleases me that you liked the location of the hotel. The tram lines 5, 16, and 24 are located within 5 minutes from the hotel and offering you the opportunity to travel fast through the city. I am glad to hear that you liked our services.

I hope to welcome you again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

As part of a seminar organized by my company, I spent 2 days and 2 nights in this hotel with the added bonus of a canal side. The room I occupied was according to me in a tatty style but the staff is professional and the service is good. Compare with what we could find on the market, this hotel is too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Boris B,

Thank you for sharing you experience regarding your last stay in Hilton Amsterdam.

I am sorry to hear that the designs of our rooms were not to your liking. However I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room located straight above the canal and overlooking the City of Amsterdam.

I hope to have the chance to meet you again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just spent a wonderful week at the Hilton Amsterdam! Great room on 8th floor with amazing views over canal and the city. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff very friendly. The breakfast chef, Johnnie, was a star and several times came to chat to us - he even sometimes gave us plastic boxes to fill up for a picnic lunch. Olaf, one of the concierges, took us on an interesting free tour of the John and Yoko suite. My husband is disabled and mostly in a wheelchair. The staff were very helpful and most of the hotel was extremely accessible. We had an adapted disabled room with various useful aids in the wet room. A couple of suggestions to make the room even better :- the entry to wet room had a slightly awkward rim for a manual wheelchair; the narrow space between bed and desk made access to the picture window difficult/impossible for a wheelchair (luckily my husband could transfer to a desk chair); an additional movable plastic chair in wet room would have been useful but staff quickly provided a wooden one when we mentioned it. People were really very helpful, though, and went out of their way to give us a good holiday. Thank you very much for a great stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear LYNNEEngeland,

Thank you for your great review of Hilton Amsterdam regarding your last stay!

It is of great value to read how you have experienced your stay; I have taken all your points in account and will discuss it in the near future with the management team for further development. Olaf and Johnny where very happy to hear that you appreciated their eye for detail and ‘Can – Do’ mentality. Besides that I have also thanked the whole team for their effort day in and day out. They really make the difference and I am pleased to hear that you have experienced it that way as well.

I hope to meet you during your next stay with us,

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.