We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a beautiful quiet area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €160
Ranked #46 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a beautiful quiet area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent one night here before our Rhine river cruise began. The hotel is modern and comfortable. Everyone we dealt with on the staff was friendly and exceptionally helpful. We had room service bring dinner (which was delicious) and the buffet breakfast in the morning. We had many questions which were all fully answered to make our brief time in Amsterdam the best visit possible.

It's on a quiet canal and walking distance to several museums, including the Van Gogh museum.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ms. purselady 1,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Amsterdam before your Rhine river cruise and for describing your experience here on TripAdvisor.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have found all our Team Members to be friendly and exceptionally helpful. They take great pride in providing excellent service.

We all hope to meet you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    652
    408
    136
    45
    21
See reviews for
130
507
76
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Arlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

From check in to check out everything was exceptional - concierge made great recommendations - canal view room is worth the extra expense - highly recommend the lounge with fireplace as a place to relax and have a nice drink. Not in the center of everything but a great escape from the chaos and easily accessible to tourist sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Triste B,

Thank you very much for describing your stay at Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is a true delight to read that everything was exceptional from check in to check out. Always feel free to ask our concierge for their recommendations, because they would be more than happy to assist you to make the best of your time in Amsterdam.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights at this hotel. Though not in the center of Amsterdam, I would recommend this hotel. It is situated in a quiet part in the south of Amsterdam. A short ride on the tram gets you to Leidse square and the Dam.
Breakfast in the clubroom is okay. This is the less crowded clubroom I ever encountered in the Hilton group. Very relaxed, also for evening drinks and fingerfood.
The coffeeshop (no drugs!) in the lobby is excellent. Great coffee and barrista.
In the room we got a present every day on a nice display (fresh strawberries, macarons).
There is a great terrace by the waterside in the backyard.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. john_op_vakantie,

What a wonderful review of Hilton Amsterdam!

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the daily refreshments. Our Garden Terrace is indeed beautifully located besides the Noorder Amstelkanaal.

Our barista and the rest of our Team Members are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We were impressed by the great service, cleanliness and the convenient setting. They had a great restaurant, Roberto's, where we had a buffet breakfast each morning. We also had two Italian dinners and enjoyed the dinners both nights. Very polite service and friendly attitude, as well as delicious dinners.

This is not an inexpensive hotel but we appreciated the friendliness of the staff and their very helpful attitudes. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: View of the canal is wonderful and worth the price of the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ms. corkiek,

It is a delight that you have taken the time to describe your experiences at Hilton Amsterdam.

Your kind words about our service, cleanliness and Roberto’s Restaurant fill us with pride and help us to spread the light and warmth of hospitality.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very good hotel and excellent staff. But spend the extra for a junior suite which we really enjoyed. It's not in the centre but tram is nearby and frequent. There is a garden terrace by the canal which is a great place for food and drinks if the sun shines; a nice feature for a city hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Stephen A,

Thank you very much for staying with us and describing your experience here on TripAdvisor.

It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your Junior Suite. The Garden Terrace is indeed a great place for food and drinks, especially during the summer months.

We hope to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

In a big and busy city like Amsterdam the windows should be sound-proof. At the Amsterdam Hilton they are not so you enjoy the street sounds.

The staff that I met could not care less. Poor service and on the bill were unjustified amounts, adding up substantially. I called my Dutch mobile phone to check if it worked. Did not answer it. Price: Over € 3,60 plus a lot mystery amounts of the mini bar.

A receptionist who did not speak Dutch (in Amsterdam?) said: ‘At the Hilton we don’t argue about a few euro’s.’

The rooms are okay but price/quality is far below level.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Simon H,

Thank you for leaving a review of Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

We are to sorry to read that you experienced the noise from the streets. Would you be so kind to send us a direct e-mail with the information regarding your stay with us to operations.amsterdam@hilton.com, so that we can update your guest profile. With this information on file, we would be able to assign you a quiet canal view room upon if availability permits.

We hope that, despite this experience, we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Things I liked:
Friendly, helpful staff;
A bit out of the city (but not too far), so no noisy drunks;
Just a short walk to a tram stop into the city (the hotel sells tickets at a slight mark up - but don't bother as you can buy tickets on the tram)
The hotel rents bicycles at reasonable rates

Things I didn't like so much:
Breakfast ridiculously priced - so we self-catered, but..;
The fridge is full of junk food and drinks and if you move them to make space for your stuff, it racks up on your bill. The hotel was good about correcting this, but its a darned nuisance - feels like the hotel is more interested in $$ than the convenience of guests.
The decor in our room was tired and dated.
Wireless internet in the rooms is charged at extortionate rates. I still can't believe there are places that do this. Wireless in the foyer is free.

Overall, it's an adequate hotel, but not quite the style one normally associates with the Hilton brand name. This seems to have escaped management, who try a bit of the price gouging one more usually associates with classier places.

John Lennon fans can go to the 9th floor and gawk at the door of the Presidential suite (902) where he had his bed-in with Yoko Ono in 1969.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal would probably be better than the front (where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear rabbit83,

Thank you very much for your extensive review of Hilton Amsterdam.

It is a delight to read that you liked our friendly, helpful staff.

Your comment regarding pricing is one that we take seriously. I would like to inform you that Our range of different breakfast offers are available as of €20,-. ISSIMO coffee bar, open on weekdays as of 7 AM, offers a variety of breakfast items but also a breakfast menu which includes coffee, croissant and fresh fruit juice or fruit salad for only €8,-.
Our minibar indeed register the products used to increase efficiency upon checkout. For the inconvenience this has caused you, we would like to offer our apologies.

I wish you are well and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.