We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid and reliable quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“solid and reliable quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

what I like about this hotel is that it is in a more quiet area but it's still easy to get downtown..at the same time the rooms are spacious (especially according to Amsterdam standard), you have all the amenities you look for in a hotel of this type, the service is discreet but attentive, the bar and the restaurant are expensive but very good quality and the wonderful garden alongside one of the canals compensates for the building itself (which is an architectonic disaster from nowadays perspective)...overall another pleasant experience

Room Tip: ask for a room with canal view on a higher floor...the view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Enema2014,

Thank you for writing a review about Hilton Amsterdam!

I am glad to hear to you enjoyed your last stay with us. The distinctive V-shape of the hotel is centred on the apex of the Apollolaan and the Minervalaan, the two main roads of the South area of Amsterdam, designed by Berlage. Berlage’s axis runs through the lobby of the hotel and ends at the canal. The used architecture in this area is the so-called “Amsterdam School”. Clearly we fully respect your opinion and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    414
    136
    47
    21
See reviews for
144
528
78
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel itself was beautiful , very clean elegant nice rooms , there is a bar that looks out over the canal that although slightly expensive is worth having a few drinks in or some food. The service was excellent as in all Hilton Hotels. It was the nicest Hotel that I saw in Amsterdam. My only complaint in regards to this hotel was the executive services , the room was not nice at all, very small no where to plug your lap top in and work just dining tables . It also wasnt clean I had to go to the middle of the pile to find a clean plate , the glasses were dirty and had a smell to them and the service was poor . It is a real shame as have always used the executive rooms before at Hilton and they are usually well worth the money.I would recommend a stay at the Hilton but don’t bother paying the extra for the executive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for your review of Hilton Amsterdam.

It is very good to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. Our Garden Terrace with a theatre view over the canal and the garden is an ideal location to relax, enjoy the sun and recover from the day! I thank you for the precise feedback given about the executive lounge. I have immediately taken action to ensure that the level of service remains of high standards. I am sorry we did not explain that the plugs are integrated in the desk.

I hope to have the chance to meet you personally during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at The Hilton for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. I found the hotel to be very nice overall. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we received a very warm welcome by the reception staff. They also provided us with a map of the city and explained how to get to the attractions we wanted to visit. The hotel is located a little way out from the centre of Amsterdam but its close to tram stops for a short ride to the centre or about a 30 min walk in. We did not eat at the hotel so I can't comment on whether the food is nice but I would imagine it is as the hotel is of a very high standard. The rooms were clean and spacious. My only criticism would be that I found the bed to be very uncomfortable, but other than that everything was great. The museum area is only a short walk away and also Vondel Park is close by too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Globbe-Trotter200,

Thank you for your great review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

I am happy that you enjoyed your Easter weekend with us. I have shared you positive comment with the team and they were proud that their hard work is acknowledged. Thanks to your feedback we can constantly improve our services and facilities.

I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great place to stay. Hotel is located very nice, staff is very friendly! We really enjoed the stay for a long weekend. All attractions of the city could be reached quite easily. The rooms are very nice, ask for a room with view to the canal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Thomas R,

What a great review here on TripAdvisor!

It is a delight to read that you enjoyed your long weekend stay and your kind words about our Team Members are highly appreciated.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Having stayed there several times already this was just as good a stay as always. Convenient parking, quiet location yet easily connected by tram or bicycles (!), lovely staff, nice upgrade to the executive floor and my favourite the Half Moon Bar, a cozy reminder of the original bar from 1962 complete with fire place and the original chairs. The GM, Roberto Payer, has managed to put together a great team and makes sure that the hotel retains its unique character just like when it was the place for the bed-in by John Lennon and Yoko Ono.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor and canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Schnookie19,

Thank you for regularly staying at Hilton Amsterdam. Valuable guests like you are highly appreciated.

It is a delight to read that you like the unique character of the hotel and that the Half Moon Lounge is your favorite.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and it was just as good as last year if not better! Having stayed last year we were upgraded to a suite plus adjoining double room. Perfect! Staff in the business lounge were as lovely as last year and went out of their way to be helpful. We ate in main restaurant for breakfast on outlast stay and every one there was fantastic! Johnny the head chef made our sone the best pancakes ever, and the took both children on a tour of the kitchens. We were then given boxes to fill from the breakfast bar and take as our picnic lunch. So lovely. The hotel is the perfect place to stay. The tram stop is just behind the hotel, and it takes 15 minutes to get into the city centre, stopping at many sights on the way. It means you are staying so close to the city but without all the noise. Lovely to ride back on at the end of the day and watch the world go by. We stay in many Hiltons and this is one of the best in every respect! Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. jlewis1575,

It was lovely to find your extensive review here on TripAdvisor.

We hope that you enjoyed the upgrade to one of our suites. Our Team Members in both the Executive Lounge and Roberto’s Restaurant are truly magnificent and create lasting memories. For example by preparing a picnic box for you.

We hope that we may welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Check in went smoothly despite a sour person behind the counter at reception..!
The room was fine and had coffee/tea making facilities that we like to use. The hotel appeared to be quite full but we werent disturbed by noise inside or outside.
We did not have breakfast included and found the price for breakfast too expensive so we ate elsewhere. There are some lovely shops, restaurants a few minutes walk away across the bridge.
The tram stop isnt far away either and was very efficient for going into the city centre.
We really liked the location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. TSOslo,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to describe your stay with us here in TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read that your check in went smoothly and that you weren’t disturbed by any noise. Oud Zuid is indeed a perfect neighborhood for exclusive shopping and eating out.

We hope that Hilton Amsterdam will be your first choice again when returning to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.