We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #52 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Check in went smoothly despite a sour person behind the counter at reception..!
The room was fine and had coffee/tea making facilities that we like to use. The hotel appeared to be quite full but we werent disturbed by noise inside or outside.
We did not have breakfast included and found the price for breakfast too expensive so we ate elsewhere. There are some lovely shops, restaurants a few minutes walk away across the bridge.
The tram stop isnt far away either and was very efficient for going into the city centre.
We really liked the location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. TSOslo,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to describe your stay with us here in TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read that your check in went smoothly and that you weren’t disturbed by any noise. Oud Zuid is indeed a perfect neighborhood for exclusive shopping and eating out.

We hope that Hilton Amsterdam will be your first choice again when returning to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    553
    179
    64
    28
See reviews for
201
676
99
457
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel was great. We were traveling with a dog, they put a dog bed and bowls out for the dog. As others have said it was not in the heart of the city, but there are taxi stands just across the street. There are great restaurants within walking distance. The staff was very helpful. I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Ms. Amy V,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is a true pleasure to read that you and your dog had a great time. We believe that your dog should be treated as one of our valuable guests as well.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Yes, breakfast was my favourite part of our stay! Nice orange juice and a lot of hot and cold choice. Rooms are maybe a bit dated, but clean and the size is ok. Staff is friendly and will always advise where you should go!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Ms. Maya G,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

The breakfast team at Roberto’s Restaurant is honored that the breakfast was the favorite part of your stay. We are pleased to read that all Team Members were friendly to you. They take great pride in delivering exceptional service to our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hilton Amsterdam, a Jewel not to be missed !
Whilst staying in the City of Diamonds, Hilton Amsterdam is a must !
Located in a lovely and quiet area, one really can find peace and
serenity whilst enjoying fantastic views of the city.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and offer all amenities you
would expect from a 5* hotel.
Staff is absolutely friendly and caters to any of your needs. And with a smile !
That smile follows you all the way from reception, passing through the
delightful bar and even at the executive lounge, which is on the top
floor of the hotel.
And yes, something you should not miss at all whilst on the premises:
The Wow Breakfast.
It is a real feast ! Indulge yourself to the Chef's daily arrangements
for fresh dishes, including the 'one and only' fruits and pancakes. He
really knows what he is talking about ...
Truly a memorable stay, to be repeated again and again !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. dbobxl,

What a beautiful review of Hilton Amsterdam!

It is with great satisfaction that we have read your words ‘a Jewel not to be missed’. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you have found peace and serenity whilst enjoying fantastic views of the city.

Our Team Members are the true gem within our hotel and look after our guests with a smile.

We hope that you will return to our hotel and enjoy more pancakes at Roberto’s Restaurant during breakfast.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great hotel, a bit far from the city center. It was difficult to get something to eat at night nearby. The wi-fi should be free in this kind of hotels.
Great view, lovely decoration and great room service. A bell boy was kind enough to show us the John & Yoko honeymoon suite. Amazing experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. MLR172014,

Thank you very much for leaving your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It is a great delight to learn that you had a great stay with us and that seeing the John & Yoko Suite was an amazing experience.

Thank you for your feedback concerning Wi-Fi. Please be advised that as of this year we are offering complimentary internet in all public areas.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa de Gandia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I had a pleasant weekend stay at the Hotel and enjoyed one of
the best meals at Roberto's Italian Restaurant of the Hotel.
The staff hotel is very competent and polite. I would like
to mention the excellent attention I have received from
Estefania in charge of the Executive Lounge and from
George in the reception.desk.
I recommend this Hotel without any doubt and I hope
to repeat my stay as soon as possible.
Herrera

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Haherrera,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to describe how you experienced your stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

It is a delight to read that your meal at Roberto’s Restaurant was one of the best meals you enjoyed.
Your kind words have been shared with all our Team Members and especially with Stefania and Jorge.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel as soon as possible as well.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week and I can honestly say the staff at the Hilton are the best hotel staff we gave come across. From check in to bar staff to restaurant staff , to door and conceiarge staff. They make this hotel special in every way. Our overall stay was a pleasure. The breakfast staff are amazing and so is the buffet 10 out of 10 there.
The only reason I haven't given the hotel a 5 is I can't get my head round €8.50 fo a pint of Heineken and €23 for a club sandwich sorry about this.
Great stay would go back 100%

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr. BrianGreen,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

For every single one of our Team Members it is a true delight to read that they have made your stay with us special. Being mentioned as ‘the best hotel staff ever’ fills them with great pride and joy.

We, at Hilton Amsterdam, are already looking forward to your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Marriott Amsterdam
Marriott Amsterdam
#67 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#111 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#76 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.