We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My recent stay at the Hilton Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €160
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Playa de Gandia, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My recent stay at the Hilton Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I had a pleasant weekend stay at the Hotel and enjoyed one of
the best meals at Roberto's Italian Restaurant of the Hotel.
The staff hotel is very competent and polite. I would like
to mention the excellent attention I have received from
Estefania in charge of the Executive Lounge and from
George in the reception.desk.
I recommend this Hotel without any doubt and I hope
to repeat my stay as soon as possible.
Herrera

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Haherrera,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to describe how you experienced your stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

It is a delight to read that your meal at Roberto’s Restaurant was one of the best meals you enjoyed.
Your kind words have been shared with all our Team Members and especially with Stefania and Jorge.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel as soon as possible as well.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    400
    130
    44
    21
See reviews for
133
510
76
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week and I can honestly say the staff at the Hilton are the best hotel staff we gave come across. From check in to bar staff to restaurant staff , to door and conceiarge staff. They make this hotel special in every way. Our overall stay was a pleasure. The breakfast staff are amazing and so is the buffet 10 out of 10 there.
The only reason I haven't given the hotel a 5 is I can't get my head round €8.50 fo a pint of Heineken and €23 for a club sandwich sorry about this.
Great stay would go back 100%

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr. BrianGreen,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

For every single one of our Team Members it is a true delight to read that they have made your stay with us special. Being mentioned as ‘the best hotel staff ever’ fills them with great pride and joy.

We, at Hilton Amsterdam, are already looking forward to your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have stayed there on numerous occasions (usually work related). The hotel is nice, especially the bar area, with the amazing fireplace (not to miss on wintry evening!!) Good location if you want to escape the very crazy center. All in all a lovely hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Mal R,

Thank you for staying with us more regularly, it is highly appreciated.

The fireplaces, both in Roberto’s Restaurant and the Half Moon Lounge, certainly create a warm atmosphere on winter evenings. For the spring and summer periods we have a selection of perfectly located terraces. You could for example, enjoy spring in our garden, with terraces overlooking the water. Or experience the feeling of spring with an Italian lunch or dinner on Roberto’s Terrazza.
In our River Dining restaurant we serve seafood dishes on the waterfront under our Italian ‘Gazebo’ at the marina.

We hope to welcome you back as a guest of Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Amsterdam Hilton is a truly first-rate hotel. Customer service was impeccable: from Nico and Martijn at Concierge, to Arjan and Carlos at breakfast. And breakfast was impressive, with gourmet eggs and pancakes to order, made to look as picturesque as a Vermeer. For a businessperson, my room was everything desirable: modern, with plenty of laptop desk space and outlets, a good strong shower, heavenly duvets, and the bonus of a delightful view of the canal. A number of reviewers speak to the location, but to the Dutch, this is the posh part of town: the Upper East Side of New York, the Georgetown of Washington. I walked a civilized 15-20 minutes to the train station (Amsterdam Zuid). There’s a bustling shopping street even closer by, with grocery shopping (Albert Heijn) and all of the necessities. The next time my business travels take me through Amsterdam, I’ve decided that I’ll definitely return to the Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Ms. I_am_a_Washingtonian,

What a kind words about Hilton Amsterdam!

Your special mention of Nico and Martijn at Concierge and Arjen and Carlos at breakfast in Roberto’s Restaurant has been shared with them.

With our close proximity to Museum Square, with world renowned museum like the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum, it is a true honor that our breakfast was conceived as picturesque as a Vermeer.

That your room was everything desirable for a businessperson is also great feedback and we are looking forward to your next business travels that take you through Amsterdam.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place definitely deserves a five star rating. Beautiful decor, internal and exterior. My room was very well appointed. The wood trim and closet is such an upscale, classy touch. The bathroom with a real tub! I took a luxuriating bath and relaxed for an hour. The restaurant on the canal is a serene and picturesque setting. This is a great place for couples. I wish I could say more about the hotels location, but I was in Amsterdam on business. Didn't see much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr. DandyMT,

What a wonderful pictures to support your review of Hilton Amsterdam!

We would like to thank you for staying with us and rating us with 5 stars. A relaxing bath can be a real treat. Did you also enjoy our Peter Thomas Roth bathroom amenities, which have been carefully selected?

We hope that you have the chance to visit Amsterdam on a leisure trip and that we will be your first choice on that occasion.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel was not located near the city center....had to walk 20 minutes to reach the city center. Hotel had bikes but did not have child seats for bikes. The restaurant for dinner was excellent...great service and delicious food. Concierge staff was helpful and very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Aiden0126,

Thank you very much for also having taken the time to describe your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read that your dinner in Roberto’s Restaurant was excellent, both in service and food. Our concierge Team Members are honored that you particularly mention them.

Your comment regarding the child seats for our hotel bikes is a great tip and will be examined for future implementation.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I love this hotel and their attention to details. They have a fabulous staff and wonderful amenities! I usually have dinner one night in their Ralph Lauren designed bar... very comfortable with a great view. I've stayed here many times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Ms. Hillary H,

Thank you very much for also leaving a review here on TripAdvisor.

At Hilton Amsterdam our Team Members have an excellent attention to detail and we are delighted that you have noticed this.

Our Half Moon Lounge bar certainly has a great view. In the spring and summer time you can watch the boats go by from the Garden Terrace overlooking the water.

Thank you again for staying with us, we value guests like you and will be looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.