We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #56 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the museum district and is in a quite leafy area just outside of the hustle and bustle of the city. Arrived just after 14:00 checkin, and where told our room would not be ready for 90 minutes or so which was a big disappointment as we were tired and in need of some relaxation. The Reception staff were extremely busy, but also very helpful and friendly. Once the wait exceeded the 90 minutes, and the room was still not available we were upgraded to an 8th floor room with magnificant views over the city and a free evening meal in Roberto's Resturant, which was excellent.

The room was certainly large enough, clean and very comfortable, a large bathroom, plenty of cupboard space and everything we needed close at hand. Housekeeping toured the hotel in the evening offering complimentary water, tea and coffee refills and a turndown service if required. The only downside is the lack of free internet in the room, it is available in the public areas, but we found it slow.

Breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Johnny Wills, the Breakfast Chef, and his team, made us feel part of the family from the moment we walked in, they couldn't do enough for us, producing excellent, high quality food from the kitchens in moments, attentive service, and still had time to make sure everything was fine when the Resturant was full. Johnny even adapted a pancake recipe to cover my dietary requirements, and they where absolutely delicious. Breakfast will never be the same again!

All the staff were really friendly, genuinely seeming to care and go out of their way to be helpful. Dann on Reception deserves a special mention for sorting out our room and being super helpful. Next time we are in Amsterdam this place will be top of the list of places to stay.

We were in Amsterdam during the recent "Nuclear Summit" and some of the delegates stayed in the hotel. At times it seemed over run with Dutch Police and Security, but it was never really obtrusive and never got in our way. Be aware that parking is expensive, but so is parking everywhere else in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms high up at the rear of the hotel offer fantastic views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Chrisclough,

What a delight to find your extensive review here on TripAdvisor!

We would like to thank you very much for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry to read that your room was not ready for you when you arrived. And I hope that I understand correctly that we managed to solve this situation to your fullest satisfaction.

We have shared your wonderful comments with the entire team and thanked Johnny and Daan for being helpful and make you feel part of the family.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    565
    188
    68
    28
See reviews for
213
693
101
467
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam for the birthday of my (future) parent's in law. From the moment we arrived it was a great experience with a warm welcome, excellent service and a beautiful room. Every single team member was really nice and friendly. It was a stay to remember and if any special occasions are coming up I will definetely choose to stay at the Hilton Amsterdam again. Well done to the entire team!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Ms. Nicolette C,

What a great pleasure to read your kind words about Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

First of all, we would like to take the opportunity to congratulate you on your intended marriage.

It is a real delight to read that with a warm welcome and nice and friendly Team Members, we managed to contribute to a great experience.

We hope that many special occasions will come and every single time we will be ready to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed there for company conference all the week. Nice rooms, even if a little worn, spacey, clean and light bathroom. Good breakfast and excellent lunches during conference. Staff professional, a little stiff, but that’s can be. The only problem – chairs in conference rooms.. My back was aching even week after. Looked nice, but already after 1 hour it was hard to stay seating… and it was 5 days 8 hours a day…
But if I would go just to stay over without conference – that’s the place to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Definitely river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Krzysioc,

Thank you very much for your review of Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor, which is highly appreciated.

It is delightful to read that you liked our rooms and that the breakfast and lunches served to you during your conference were to your taste.

We are sorry that the chairs in our conference rooms were not comfortable for you and for the inconvenience this has caused you we would like to offer our sincere apologies.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Excellently located if you prefer to be out of the real hustle and bustle of the city. The hotel is to the south of Amsterdam in a residential and consular district. The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming and the Executive floor was very comfortable. The only criticism would be the incredibly hard bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Ms. Sarah B,

It is with great pride that we have read your review here on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed located away from the hustle and bustle of the city in the quiet residential area ‘Oud-Zuid’. Did you know that the PC Hooftstraat is perfect for exclusive shopping?

Your kind words about our welcoming Team Members have been shared with the entire team. And I can assure you, they are already looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Took my partner here end of feb 2014 for 2 nights great hotel located outside the main attractions but well worth it highly recommend hoping to return with more couples the end of this year and stay longer cant wait Amsterdam is a beautiful city

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member,

It is a delight that you have taken the time to leave a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

Amsterdam truly is a beautiful city with many great museum and parks to visit. Also shopping is a wonderful activity when you are in Amsterdam. On your next visit our concierges would be more than happy to show you the hidden gems that are worthy of a visit.

Our team at Hilton Amsterdam is already looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Way too expensive hotel for the value you get. I was there for a business conference, so luckily my compay paid for the stay. Nevertheless, I would recommend other chains of hotels where you can have an even more comfortable stay for a lower price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Xavier G,

Thank you for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor.

As already expressed in a personal writing to you, we are sorry to read that our services and facilities did not entirely meet with your approval. For any inconvenience this has caused you, we offer our sincere apologies.

We would like to thank you again for letting us know how we are meeting your expectations and we hope that, in spite of this experience, we may look forward to welcoming you with us again the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Я останавливалась в этом отеле на прошлой неделе. Там было запланировано проведение тренинга, и поскольку наша компания рекомендовала остановиться в этом отеле, мы так и сделали с моим руководителем. Теперь я не рекомендую всем своим коллегам останавливаться в этом отеле. Потому что все мы, включая группу европейский коллег ,которые также остановились в Хилтоне, были глубоко разочарованы сочетание цены и качеством предоставляемых услуг.
Как озвучено в предыдущем отзыве отель действительно удачно расположен, но на этом его плюсы заканчиваются. Элегантный , да, возможно, если вы не так много путешествовали. Отель старый, там останавливались Джон Леннон и Йоко Оно , но с того момента прошло уже много времени , и теперь этот отель явно требует реновации, поскольку и мебель, и ковры и прочее выглядят уже весьма потерто. Я понимаю столь типичный для голландцев принцип экономии во всем, но если отель позиционирует себя как 5 звезд, и при этом на своем сайте говорит о роскоши, то пожалуй, стоит подумать о том, чтобы вложить немного денег в достижение этого самого эффекта роскоши.
Но причиной моих разочарований послужило даже не это. Собираясь в этот отель, я думала, я же еду в Хилтон. Там должны быть предусмотрены все необходимые для путешественника, особенно если вы в командировке, мелочи.
По приезде все оказалось не так. Во -первых нам понадобилось минут 20 , чтобы открыть мою ванную комнату. Поскольку замок в старой двери заедал, и заблокировался защелкой изнутри. В результате во время недельного пребывания, я все время боялась оказать заблокированной в ванной комнате, особенно по утром, когда тренинг начинался в 8.30
Второй момент- это отсутствие бутылок с питьевой водой в номере. Как и многие, уважающие себя отели, Хилтон обещает вам на своем сайте 2 бутылки бесплатной воды в номере. Их не было никогда. В первый день, справившись с ванной , я увидела в коридоре горничную и поинтересовалась у нее насчет воды. Поскольку, как вы понимаете, мы только прилетели, устали, и хотелось бы выпить глоток воды . Она выдала мне пару бутылок и комментариями, что вообще-то воду по вечерам разносят . Но в течение всей недели ни разу в моем номере вода так и не появилась. Мой руководитель располагался в другом крыле, поэтому также остался без воды. Так как тренинг начинался рано утром и заканчивался после 6 вечера мы предусмотрительно купили воду в супермаркете. Потому что вечером тебе нужно еще и работать, а не бегать за горничными, или тратить свое время и звонить на ресепшен. Далее, поскольку вечерами после ужина, а мы выходили в город., я часто работала допоздна, я заваривала себе чай. Но на второй день пакетики с черным чаем и сахаром кончились, и никто из горничных не побеспокоился ,чтобы пополнить их запас.
Ванная- в номере за 200 евро не было даже ватных дисков и палочек, не говоря уже о зубной щетке и пасте. Этого я не ожидала, и не была готова . Как деловая женщина, я рассчитываю на наличие таких мелочей в ванной комнате отеля за такую цену.
Кстати, стоимость интернета в номере тоже впечатляет своей "роскошью" 25 евро в день, вне зависимости проводной или WIFI!
Стоимость посещения спортзала в день составляет 70евро за разовое посещение!
Завтрак - это обычный хороший завтрак, который вы можете найти в любом приличном 4 звездном отеле, ничего с намеками на "роскошь" и прочее. Словом ничего лишнего. Скорее весьма умеренный.
Поэтому при стоимости обычного номера в 200 евро, я хочу видеть действительно хороший клиентский сервис. Поэтому я ставлю тройку данному отелю и рекомендую посмотреть что-либо еще. Цена должны соответствовать качеству, если же конечно, Вы не являетесь фанатом Джона Ленона).
We stayed in this hotel during last week with my boss and colleagues to participated in training managed by our company. It was my greated disappointed visiting Amsterdam. I did not find any benefits except its location. The canal veiw was really beaiful but that's all about positie impression. I did not expect that 5 star hotel Hilton doesn't provide any cotton pads and sticks, tooth brush and paste. Even complimentary bottle of water was not provided at all.Once we arrived i found out the my bath room door was blocked. It took 20 minutes to open it and left me with certain impression that i would lock myself inside during other days.. It's very uncomfortable feelings..Once i did not find any water in my room or bath room neither i looked out and saw maid trolley in the corridor. I asked her fpr water because we just arrived, i was so thursty and tired. She gave me 2 bottles reluctantly and noted that normally they do this service in the evening. My boss was allocalted in other parlour so he stayed w\o any water at all.
So i have a big question to hotel management why should i ask for and wait for bottle of water once i have checked in? i'm in and i expect that everything i need during my business trip is in already!
The bottle of water was crucial point, but it did not appear during our stay in this hotel. We never get this bottle of water!
The tea bags and suger were notreplenished neither. So me and my boss we helped ourseves and bought all what we needed at supermarket. Because being busy through all day long at training and working through night hours i expect fron hotel service such little details to be provided autmatically. If you're really take care of your clients.
Breaakfast provided was good but modest rather, because yo have to made breakfast reservation for all your stay at the first day. It costs 19 euaros in such case. If you did not made this reservation it would cost you 27 euros.
Price for WIFI in your room 25euro and 70 euro for 1 time jym visit that was incredible even for our european colleagues. So when we were out for dinner after training that was one of our topic for discussion.
I do not recommend to stay in this hotel if you're really consider dont' waste your money.
This hotel is required serious renovations and reset of client service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Ms. Maria368,

Thank you for describing your experiences with our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations, and for that we would like to offer our sincere apologies.

Your comments have been taken seriously and were discussed in our management meeting. It is only with guests like yourself that we are able to review our quality standards and keep them consistent.

We hope that we may have the chance to prove you that we do provide the service that you deserve.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Marriott Amsterdam
Marriott Amsterdam
#67 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#117 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.