We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Really nice place to stay, and great staff which take care of all your needs without a question. Reasonably close to the centre, surrounded by very good restaurants too. Have stayed here a few times and every time the service performance increases.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Aziz Z,

What a nice review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted to read that our facilities met your approval. That our service performance increases every time you stay with us is a huge compliment, which fills us with pride.

Our Team Members at Hilton Amsterdam are looking forward to take care of your needs again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    650
    412
    135
    47
    21
See reviews for
143
523
78
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Spent 4 days here on business and had a very comfortable time. It is not cheap but the rooms are very comfortable, views are very nice, the facitlities are good, there is a great bar for meetings with a drink and the staff were all very friendly. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Tony W,

It is a delight to find the review of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor.

Your praising words about the rooms, view and facilities are a real pleasure to read. The great bar that you mentioned is our Half Moon Lounge, from which we also serve our Garden Terrace on beautiful spring and summer days.

We hope that you will find some time to enjoy an Amsterdam summer and we will make sure that we are ready to welcome you back at Hilton Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is located in a convent area easily accessible via a 35E cab ride from the Airport, Rooms are high quality and comfortable to stay in. Internet is not free in the room but they have free AP's in the lobby. The buffet breakfast for 19E was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Charles C,

Your review here on TripAdvisor about your how you experienced our hotel is highly appreciated.

We are pleased to read that you found the rooms to be of high quality and comfortable to stay in. As already expressed in a personal writing to you as of this year we are indeed offering complimentary internet in all public areas and will take your suggestion into account for future developments.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great service, very clean, comfortable etc (a Hilton is a Hilton) yet the location was not great, which is why I gave it a 4 rather than 5 stars rating. My husband stayed there for business and I joined him, otherwise we would have booked the Marriott which is more central.

Relatively close to the Van Gogh and Rijk museums - about 20 / 30 minutes walk, or 2 stations away on Tram 5.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Ms. LondonTraveller848,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Amsterdam that you have left here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed the service, cleanliness and comfort of our hotel. The location of our hotel is indeed in a quiet residential area within a 10 minute walk from Museumplein with its Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum and away from the hustle and bustle of the old city center.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

They woke me to find out how the room was when I paid for an extra night just to sleep when I got there. They charged 25 Euros a day for internet access and the Gym was almost 20 Euros to use. Ridiculous policies just to soak dumb Americans I think. Nice location but bad hotel and inconsiderate staff. Oh and TV didn't work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Ms. Renee B,

Thank you for taking the time here on TripAdvisor to let us know how we are meeting your expectations.

As expressed in a writing to you, we are sorry to see that not all our services and facilities had your approval, and for the inconvenience this has caused you, we offer our sincere apologies.

We would like to also take this opportunity to apologize for waking you up by calling the room to check if everything was up to your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback concerning free internet, please be advised that as of this year we are offering complimentary internet in all public areas and we will take your suggestion of free internet in our guest rooms into account.

The fitness/health club is not owned or managed by Hilton but by an external company. Your comments about the pricing of the fitness will be discussed with them.

We place great value on your opinion and hope that, in spite of this experience, we may look forward to welcoming you with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent service from all staff and on a par with the Four Seasons brand. Really friendly and very very helpful. Food was really excellent too and in the restaurant, they cannot do enough for you, especially at breakfast! Roberto's: had dinner twice there and I can honestly say that I did not have better food anywhere else in Amsterdam. Its so good a large number of Dutch locals eat there. A real treat.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the canal, it is worth it. Bahrooms are a bit small but if you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Ms. Jacqueline B,

It so nice to read that you compare Hilton Amsterdam with Four Seasons hotels and that you have taken the time to share your opinion here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated.

Roberto’s Restaurant is indeed one of our food and beverage outlets which is visited by many locals as well. This is because we only use the highest quality of products and strive to offer classic yet modern and inspirational recipes from Italy.

Thank you again for your warm words and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you for your conferences in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed here for one night. The property is a 15 min walk from Amsterdam Zuid and then another 15 min or so into the main city centre. The staff here were superb - welcoming, friendly and helpful (from reception, restaurant, Exec Lounge through to concierge).

I had been upgraded to a Junior Suite as a Diamond HHonors member (this was a reward booking), which was much appreciated - the view over the city from the floor-to-ceiling windows was superb. The room itself was well-appointed and I was particularly grateful to find a UK plug socket at the desk, given I had forgotten to bring my adaptor! I was also impressed with the Bluetooth Bose speaker that I was able to pair my phone to - this is something I'd love to see rolled out across the Hilton brand.

The Executive Lounge had a reasonable mix of light snacks and again some fabulous views.

The breakfast in Roberto's restaurant was a definite highlight - the staff were incredibly attentive and my made to order omlette was spot-on. I particularly liked the way the pancakes were served table-side from a trolley by the chef - the presentation was mouth-watering!

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mr. alanjr_uk,

Thank you for posting the pictures of your stay to support your review of our hotel.

It is a delight to read that the upgrade to a Junior Suite was much appreciated. That the Bose Bluetooth speaker impressed you is also great feedback to receive, as we continue to invest in the services and products we offer.

Our Roberto’s breakfast team cannot be more proud of your kind words and the breakfast chef is looking forward to cook more of the famous mouth-watering pancakes for you.

We are looking forward to your next stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.