We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €160
Ranked #46 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great hotel.

Location: Good if you need to be in the financial district, not so good if you are wanting to be in the tourist town centre. But there are frequent trams to the central area.

Service was 1st class, the buffet breakfast was really good - including the best scrambled eggs I've ever had at a hotel buffet breakfast. Lovely fresh orange juice too.

The executive lounge has amazing 360 degree views of the city - and a well stocked bar and snacks.

The executive room was great - comfy bed, and windows that you could open for natural ventilation :-) Such a rarity in modern hotels.

Looks dated from the outside, but is modern and fresh on the inside.

Room Tip: good views on either side of the building on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Benjamin S,

What a beautiful photos of the view from your room and the Executive Lounge! It is highly appreciated that you have taken the time to share them here on TripAdvisor together with your review.

Your kind words were shared with our Team Members, in order to continue the high level of service.

At Hilton Amsterdam we hope that we may have the chance to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    653
    409
    136
    45
    21
See reviews for
132
507
76
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, great service, great staff, great food! Was there for a 3 days conference but will be back for sure for leisure! We received a professional service, buffets were good and nicely presented, breakfast was ok and the room was spacious and comfortable! Strongly recommand thistle hotel!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. Oli62flo18,

What a great review it is, that you have left here on TripAdvisor about Hilton Amsterdam.

It is a delight to read that after great service, staff and food during your conference, we may have the pleasure to welcome you back for a leisure stay.

With your recommendation in mind, we are already looking forward to your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I use my favorite Amsterdam based business hotel since many years. Its quit, clean and the beds are great. Although the prices are challenging, the balance is still OK. A new development: during breakfast the cook shows up in the restaurant and he prepares pancakes in the best possible way. Can I which a better way to start a successful business day?

Feedback, Roberto, it is 2014!! Please stop charging eur 25,- a day for WIFI in the room for non Diamond members

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. Objective 5,

Thank you very much for describing your experiences with us here on TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read that we are your favorite Amsterdam based business hotel for years already. We hope that our new developments, like our breakfast chef, continue to be a great start of your business days.

Our Team Members at Hilton Amsterdam are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam Apollolaan, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

PLUS - Good Hotel, Friendly people, Good service, Well equiped with small shops for gifts and Champagne, and a barber shop. Nice rooms. MINUS - One have to pay a fee of 35 euro per night to park your car. - Tourist Taxes are a percentage of your spendings! instead of a fixed rate per day. :-((

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Rob Jan H,

Thank you very much for leaving your review of Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read the plusses that you mention in your review.

On our car park we offer the same hourly parking fee as in the surrounding area, according to the request of the City Council of Amsterdam. Since most of our guests arrive by plane, we decided not to include the parking in our rates, as this would not be fair to guests not using this facility. For visitors the same rules apply as for the local guests. Also the city tax is determined by the City Council of Amsterdam, it is a city wide tax and a percentage based on the room price.

As expressed in a writing to you, our Hotel Manager Alessio Colavecchio truly hopes to have the chance to meet you personally during your next stay.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a great stay at the Amsterdam Hilton. Fun and friendly staff. Wonderful location and lovely hotel. The breakfast was good and the service was great! Very nice walk to the RAI convention center. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mr. William D,

It is a delight to be able to read here on TripAdvisor that you had a great stay with us and we would like to thank you for that.

Your words regarding our Team Members, service, location and breakfast are wonderful and will be shared with our entire Team.

We, at Hilton Amsterdam, are already looking forward to your return to our property.

Best regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

First the good part staff was really friendly especially in the Roberto restaurant , the hotel is clean and even it's not new it is well maintained. What I didn't like is the water cut while I was showering I can understand they need to do some work but usually the hotel informs the customer before so your not stuck with soap and no water . The gym costs 17.50 € !!! If you re not an elite member and the close at 4 pm some days very expensive for some cardio most 5 stars offers 24 hours access. The room can be loud, depending on your neighbors , the connecting doors are very thin and you hear every word, to previous review the management answered they are looking for solutions but I would put to much hope in it, the hotel is far from new and if they didn't care all this years why should they suddenly take action. No upgrade as diamond member ( maybe a view but room is definitely smallish) and free water only on request nothing really wrong with the hotel but despite the great staff Not a great experience ( noisy room, water cut etc) I will stay elsewhere next time

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mr. SvenZH,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam.

Your review here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated and we value your opinion, which gives us the opportunity to review our services in order to maintain the high quality of service we offer to our guests.

Your words regarding our Team Members, cleanliness and maintenance delight us.

We have indeed been working on our water installations, which may have caused incidental water cuts and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Regarding the Personal Health Club, I would like to inform you that it is outsourced and therefore not directly managed by us, however we will share this feedback with them.

We have indeed replied to previous reviews that we are working on the noise issue with our connecting doors. To provide you with an update regarding this project: we are placing sound isolating components between the connecting doors. Floors 9 and 8 are already finished and we will be working towards the first floor during the coming two months.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to prove you that we do provide the service you deserve and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

For the attention of Mr Roberto Payer:

First time visiting Amsterdam..and straight away was impressed from the moment I arrived at the hotel, the efficiency and courtesy shown by the reception staff. Nothing is a problem to them and as I work as a receptionist in professional office, appreciate the care and attention shown to me and my friends.
Room was lovely with fluffy towels, toiletries, robes and slippers, comfortable bed , duvet and pillows and excellent facilities including a coffee machine and various choices of beverages. As a Scot, missed some biscuits but will let you off as view was amazing even though the weather was dull for most of visit...not your problem....I'm used to grey skies.
Executive lounge was first class as my friends had stayed before and was only just talking about the wonderful Stefani on their last visit....no sooner had we stepped out of the lift...and there she was. .beautiful, beaming smile and such a welcome ...what an asset she is to hotel, but more so feel I have made a friend as she is amazing lady ....five stars!

As for Mr Wells, nothing like him for hospitality.....could have listened to him talk all day, but was too busy savouring Eggs Benedict, fruit smoothie and his delicious breakfast buffet. What a lovely man and great character, felt like he was my personal chef...hope to see him again as his attention to detail was superb. Did see pancakes at next table....wow !

Have to say all the staff were fantastic and have only highlighted the above....oh forgot Gino? what a lovely man too with a flair for making you feel so welcome and nothing was a problem.

Rooms were immaculate in all areas, my only problem was no wifi in suite which thought should have been automatic, perhaps something to reconsider as room was beautiful and little annoying having to be in public area to use it. With all due respect ...it should have been included.

Have such happy memories of my visit to your hotel, and thanks to all the staff, not just mentioned, but to all behind the scenes who don't get to meet the guests, but work so hard to make everything special...well done all of you and thank you for making my stay at your hotel memorable.

Finally...will I return? I truly hope to see the staff again and enjoy another stay at this lovely hotel which truly feels like home.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Ms. justjoyce3,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Amsterdam during your visit to Amsterdam and for leaving this extensive review here on TripAdvisor.

Your review is highly appreciated by all our Team Members and they are filled with pride that you were impressed from the moment you arrived at the hotel. It is a delight to read that you experienced your room to be lovely and that the Executive Lounge with Stefania contributed to your entire experience.

Indeed, our breakfast chef Johnny’s pancakes are famous and we would definitely recommend to taste them during a future stay.

On behalf of all Team Members, I would like to let you know that we are already looking forward to make you feel at home with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.