We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #51 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First visit to Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have just returned from my first visit to Amsterdam, we stayed at the Hilton for 3 nights there was many plus points to this visit but one major negative and this was the cost of the internet, luckily we only needed it to check in the night before we flew home, but since we had retired for the evening this meant getting dressed and going down to the foyer, it then took 3 different service providers before we linked to the net. The bed we had wasnt the most comfortable but we all have different preferences on that. The first night after a delayed flight we ate in Roberto's i would say it was over priced for what it was. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning, on the whole this was a good experience my only gripe was no warm plates for the cooked breakfast. I couldnt fault any of the staff they where all very attentive and nothing was to much, I celebrated my birthday while away and our waitress that morning let the chef know and he came out with a specially made breakfast I think we a couple of tweaks Hilton could make this a excellent hotel

Room Tip: room 705 a stunning view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Armchair 4849,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are very glad to hear there were many positive aspects of your stay, especially that our Team Members were very attentive and that we were able to make your birthday special with a carefully prepared breakfast.

Regarding the internet policy of Hilton Amsterdam please be advised that free Wi-Fi internet is available in all public areas of the hotel.

Wishing you a very happy New Year and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    460
    148
    54
    23
See reviews for
156
577
81
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a beautyful hotel. It has good service and lovely rooms with good beds. The breakfast is tasteful and the hotel has a great atmosphere. The location is also great, with Museumplein on walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Remko V,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for describing your stay here on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read your kind words regarding our service and breakfast. I would like to inform you that our rooms are designed with comfort in mind and we have paid special attention to the bed.

We, at Hilton Amsterdam, look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhsas, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very good hospitality, prompt action to provide me with a small heater while the one in the room was not working at all. Calm area, the near tram station 3 munities walk distance, tram takes 20 minutes to get you in the central area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Mohammed A,

It delights us that you have taken the time to leave your review of Hilton Amsterdam.

That you speak so highly of our hospitality pleases us. Our Team Members take great pride in delivering exceptional service.

The calm, residential area in which our hotel is located is, as you describe accurately, within walking distance of nearby highlights such as Museumplein and Vondelpark and public transport, which takes 15 minutes to the old city centre.

Our Team Members wish to have the chance to welcome you back in 2014.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

These hotels where one attends a conference can never really satisfy.
They are clean, impersonal, comfortable, excessively priced,... All the stuff you expect.

The one thing that stood out was the office center.
The ladies were really helpful and friendly.

Another nice feature was the possibility to take a canal boat to go to town - but you've got to be patient as it is some way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Bernie-the-Belge,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our business center and its Team Members. And indeed, we offer the possibility to admire the beautiful Amsterdam canals from heated saloon boats.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not exceed your expectations. All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope we may have the chance to welcome you back in 2014.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Hilton Amsterdam provided my wife and I the best experience we have ever had in an extended stay situation, as we spent 2.5 weeks at this Hotel. The staff recognized us, anticipated our requirements, made every effort to help our varied needs as we focused on job and moving to Amsterdam. They were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear CBColes,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review of our hotel and share it here on TripAdvisor.

It fills me with pride to read that you mention our Team Members being fantastic. I would like to ensure you that your words will have the same effect on them, when I share them within our team.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam and Roberto’s Restaurant in 2014.

Season’s Greetings,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed several times in this Hilton and we love it. Location is perfect both for business and leisure. Very easy to,reach the center and in a good area!
Upon arrival we had an upgrade to a very nice room on the 8th.floor with a great view and being a gold member club entrance. What a treat after a difficult weekend and what a perfect club !!
Rooms are very nice, everything works and very clean. The service overall is exceptional!
We had a very good dinner in the Italian restaurant with friends.
We hope to be back some time soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have a beautiful view over the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear FranceMartine,

Thank you for leaving a review of Hilton Amsterdam. Also your Room Tip is highly appreciated.

We are delighted to read that you have stayed with us several times and that you express your hope to be back soon. I can ensure you that we also look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that the overall service was exceptional and that our Team Members cared for you after a difficult weekend. I will share your kind comments with the entire team.

On behalf of all Team Members I would like to wish you happy days and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in 2014.

With kind regards,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.