We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more do you wish for staying in a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #50 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
france
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What more do you wish for staying in a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed several times in this Hilton and we love it. Location is perfect both for business and leisure. Very easy to,reach the center and in a good area!
Upon arrival we had an upgrade to a very nice room on the 8th.floor with a great view and being a gold member club entrance. What a treat after a difficult weekend and what a perfect club !!
Rooms are very nice, everything works and very clean. The service overall is exceptional!
We had a very good dinner in the Italian restaurant with friends.
We hope to be back some time soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have a beautiful view over the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear FranceMartine,

Thank you for leaving a review of Hilton Amsterdam. Also your Room Tip is highly appreciated.

We are delighted to read that you have stayed with us several times and that you express your hope to be back soon. I can ensure you that we also look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that the overall service was exceptional and that our Team Members cared for you after a difficult weekend. I will share your kind comments with the entire team.

On behalf of all Team Members I would like to wish you happy days and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in 2014.

With kind regards,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    424
    136
    49
    21
See reviews for
147
534
79
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Another feather in the Hilton chain’s cap, the Hilton Amsterdam is undoubtedly one of the finest hotels I’ve resided in. Right from excellent service, to luxurious rooms, to modern furnishings, to a great breakfast, this hotel ticks all the boxes in my checklist. I stayed at the Hilton for two days as I was travelling on business, and the staff was very resourceful in helping me find my way around the city. Room service was prompt and the housekeeping was top-notch. I left my room utterly messy and came back to a clean and tidy one! Although not centrally located, there are a few shops in and around the hotel and a museum a few minutes away. This is one experience I’m going to cherish for a long time to come.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear AlexandraPthology,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted with your words describing Hilton Amsterdam as one of the finest hotels you have resided in. I have learned that you will cherish your experience with us for a long time, because of our Team Members, who have provided excellent service. I will personally share your kind words with them.

Season’s Greetings and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in 2014.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Admittedly I am a little biased as the Hilton is my favourite chain. The Hilton Amsterdam offer precisely what one comes to expect from an "average" Hilton. Clean, well-maintained, well equipped and with an atmosphere of luxury. As a gold card member one enjoys both free internet, free lounge access and free breakfast. I expect to come by again next time travels take me to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Bo M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam, all our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel well-maintained and well-equipped and that you were able to benefit from the Executive Lounge access with complimentary internet and breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Amsterdam and for your loyalty, we hope to welcome you back in the near future next time your travels bring you to Amsterdam.

Season’s Greetings.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Loved this hotel. It is just far enough that you do not feel like you are downtown are downtown in the middle of the redlight/coffeehouse district. This is more genuine feeling Amsterdam. The rooms are very nice, staff very friendly. A grocery store very nearby, quick walk to public transit. over all great place.

PROS:
far enough out of city center but not to far. 1 hour walk, 10 minute tram ride
stores close by. 2-4 minute walk
nice rooms, with nice casual views
very clean.
excellent staff, very friendly.

Cons:
i really don't have any. I like this place alot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Clyde Betts,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

We were very glad to hear that our services and facilities met your approval and that you enjoyed your time with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you found the hotel very clean and that you enjoyed the views from the bedrooms. Thank you for your compliments regarding our Team Members, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Season’s Greetings.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend at the Amsterdam Hilton. The hotel was fantastic and the staff amongst the best I have ever encountered. They manage they balance between efficiency, formality and personal attention perfectly. Due to an overrun of a large conference, my room was upgraded. The promotional breakfast offer was excellent value. My request for a late check-out was immediately approved.
The Hilton is about 10 mins away from the museum area. Perfectly placed fro exploration. The concierge service is very helpful and saved us both money and long queues. Nothing was too much trouble. This is an unreserved recommendation.

Room Tip: Request a canal side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Bridget E,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay for a long weekend at Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our Team Members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them. It is a delight to hear they found the balance between formality and personal attention.

Indeed you are correct about the location of Hilton Amsterdam, it is a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, and many more beautiful city sights.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your loyalty. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Season’s greetings.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We keep on returning to this Hilton in Amsterdam, profesional reception, clean rooms, very cosy bar downstairs, recommend to upgrade to an executive room with lounge access, beautiful lounge on top floor with views over Amsterdam.

Pitty though that Hilton still maintains Wifi against payment, nowadays Internet access should be free everywhere.

Bit outside of Amsterdam city centre though but if you know Amsterdam and if weather allows you can have a nice walk via old south and Vondelpark to go to the centre.

Room Tip: Executive rooms with access to the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Fabienne1504,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are so pleased that you choose the Hilton Amsterdam for all your Amsterdam visits and we hope you will continue visiting us on your future trips as well.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Please be aware that free WiFi internet is available in all public areas in the hotel, but we will take your advice into consideration for future development.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and for your loyalty. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is the famous Hilton where John Lennon and Yoko Ono spent their honeymoon (Pic attached of the room), Excellent location in upscale part of Amsterdam but its a tram ride from the walkable tram station (Emmstraat) to Centraal Station from where all the action begins i.e City tour etc. Breakfast if excellent spread and Hilton is thoughtful to provide umbrellas since it was raining in November. Great place to stay and will stay again.

Room Tip: Choose Canal Facing room but I could not get it though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Issrinivas

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed the breakfast and the umbrellas.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall, exclusive shopping streets and many more beautiful city sights. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. We also offer bicycle rental so you can explore the city the traditional Dutch way.

Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.