We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to stay for Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My favourite place to stay for Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We keep on returning to this Hilton in Amsterdam, profesional reception, clean rooms, very cosy bar downstairs, recommend to upgrade to an executive room with lounge access, beautiful lounge on top floor with views over Amsterdam.

Pitty though that Hilton still maintains Wifi against payment, nowadays Internet access should be free everywhere.

Bit outside of Amsterdam city centre though but if you know Amsterdam and if weather allows you can have a nice walk via old south and Vondelpark to go to the centre.

Room Tip: Executive rooms with access to the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Fabienne1504,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are so pleased that you choose the Hilton Amsterdam for all your Amsterdam visits and we hope you will continue visiting us on your future trips as well.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Please be aware that free WiFi internet is available in all public areas in the hotel, but we will take your advice into consideration for future development.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and for your loyalty. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    415
    136
    47
    21
See reviews for
145
529
78
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is the famous Hilton where John Lennon and Yoko Ono spent their honeymoon (Pic attached of the room), Excellent location in upscale part of Amsterdam but its a tram ride from the walkable tram station (Emmstraat) to Centraal Station from where all the action begins i.e City tour etc. Breakfast if excellent spread and Hilton is thoughtful to provide umbrellas since it was raining in November. Great place to stay and will stay again.

Room Tip: Choose Canal Facing room but I could not get it though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Issrinivas

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed the breakfast and the umbrellas.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall, exclusive shopping streets and many more beautiful city sights. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. We also offer bicycle rental so you can explore the city the traditional Dutch way.

Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

They charged me twice after looking in my account and they should return the money back , can you take care of that please . Also on checking in there was only one room reserved although I asked for 2 rooms and the confirmation email stated that clearly but it was not on their system and 2nd room was charged more

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Mohamed E,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We regret that there has been a misunderstanding with your reservation and apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you.

We have looked into the matter and it seems that you have been correctly charged for the two rooms. One room appeared to have been charged more due to use of the minibar and both rooms were charged city tax as per the city policy of charging 5.5% city tax per room per night.

We hope this clarifies your query and that we may look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact the hotel on operations.amsterdam@hilton.com.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The room was clean and in great shape, the bed was comfortable and the view from the 8th floor absolutely amazing. The Full American Breakfast is just one of the many reasons I would stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Christoph G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel en route to a couple of other European cities. Pleasant setting - right on a canal and with it's own mini dock. The desk staff are terrific - super! The bar/cafe area enjoyable and the staff also very accommodating - arrived after a LONG travel day and they provided me with endless cups of tea - and smiles. A dinner meeting in the restaurant provided very good food and a relaxed, cozy atmosphere by the fire. Only comments to the management - make the print on the menus in the restaurant larger - even a 12 YO would have difficulty reading it. Another small comment - the outside is lovely - and I realize that the canal area has people that come and do the removal of floating garbage and debris - but a quick in house approach to it with a net would provide a better curb appeal - I ended up with "garbage" in all my pictures that was right next to the hotel dock walls. Minor items. Beyond that - great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Worldtraveler1300,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and glad that our facilities and services met your approval. It is our absolute pleasure to know that you found our rooms comfortable and enjoyed the beautiful canal views.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the Front Office and Half Moon Lounge teams; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

We apologize for any incontinence that may have been caused by the small letter size in our menus. We have taken your comments very seriously and our restaurant management team is discussing it as we speak.

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties. This nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren, will make a great place for a business meeting as well as for a friendly reunion. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the Noorder Amstel canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Arrived late on transit, and immediately welcomed into the hotel. Rooms are modern, mine a bit beaten up but quality touches elsewhere made up for it. Canal view rooms are a nice perk (ask for one). The health club closes a bit early (10pm) - Other chains afford their top-tier guests better access. Lovely bar, restaurant is pricey but exquisite.

You're out of A'dam central which is IMO a great thing. Vondelpark is a great place for a run (~2 mile circuit), and the neighbourhood to the north (towards the canal) is full of great cafés and shops.

Room Tip: Canal-side, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Sam_and_jaime,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

We would like to point out that our prices are conform prices of similar properties in Amsterdam, however, do take your comments very seriously and have discussed them within our team for future pricing decisions.

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties. This nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren, will make a great place for a business meeting as well as for a friendly reunion. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the Noorder Amstel canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed there on business for one night. Location is out of the city centre near Amsterdam Zuid station. Rooms very dark. Breakfast was terrible with alien egg , cold sausages and luke warm potato cubes. Bar very expensive as you would expect but €15 for a whisky is way excessive. Staff were great and professional which is what you would expect from a Hilton. So whilst the hotel has its negatives like any place , the staff more than compensate so well done

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Vulture3131,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. All our rooms and hallways were refurbished in 2008/2009 and we were sorry to hear that the interior design is not to your liking.

We would like to point out that our prices are conform prices of similar properties in Amsterdam, however, do take your comments very seriously and have discussed them within our team for future pricing decisions.

All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.