We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feels like "home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Southwest Montana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Always feels like "home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

On combination work/play stays in Amsterdam, and after trying other properties, we always seem happier at the Amsterdam Hilton. The quiet neighborhood makes for peaceful walks, learning experiences from the neighborhood art or information displays on the green in front of the hotel, and ease in using public transportation. A simple walk to the tram and less than 3 Euros will get you to Centraal Station, which is the end of the line, after stops near the museums and Dam Square. A day pass allows you to go any where just getting on and off the trams at conveniently located stops. Taxis to and from the airport are reasonable and always seem to be readily available.
The staff is professional and genuinely seem to welcome returning guests with a quality that is believable. Executive Lounge is still what it should be--a quiet respite for the business person where one can start or finish the day in peace. Other properties seem to cater to tourist groups who turn the lounge into a loud, party bar where they make meals out of the appetizer or tea offerings and avail themselves profusely on the "free" alcohol.
The Hilton's Executive Lounge staff are professional concierges and hopefully, tourists who demand "servants" will continue to stay closer to the city center.

Room Tip: Canal views are nice but not necessary for an enjoyable stay. Junior suites are quite a bit larger t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Montanacouple,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam is your favourite hotel in Amsterdam. It is our pleasure to read your positive comments about or services and facilities and that the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the Executive Lounge team; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in your next Amsterdam visit.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    441
    141
    52
    22
See reviews for
153
556
80
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed 2 nights here in this beautiful city. So much things to see and do. The hotel is a bit outside the citycenter, but the tram is just around the corner from the hotel, and is very easy to jump on/off wherever you wanna go.
The rooms are clean and fresh, with a nice bathroom and well equipped. The hotel doesn´t give you a very modern feeling, but it´s ok and the staff is nice and friendly. The breakfast-buffé is ok, but in the morning the service in the restaurants can be a bit slow with many customers at the same time. It´s not a lowbudget hotel, and the prices in the bar/restaurants are high.
The hotel is located by the canal, and can offer you nice boatrides to the citycenter, i really recommend a boattrip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Swede_S870,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and that our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, we will definitely share your compliments with them. All our team takes great pride in service delivery and they will be very happy to hear your positive comments.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during the breakfast, we have passed your comments on to our restaurant team and actions will be taken to improve this in the future.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is very new, rooms are comfortable and big. The location is ok but not in city centre, that is reachable by taxi in aout 10 minutes.
If you don't like central Amsterdam hotels this can be a good choice but prices sare quite high.
I found really bad tha charge of 25 euro per day for internet!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Corrado R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs. It is our pleasure to know that you had a good stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and most of our facilities and services met your approval.

Regarding the internet policy in the Hilton Amsterdam, please be advised that free Wi-Fi internet is available in all public areas of the hotel.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. All these attractions are at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The Van Gough room was nicely painted and truly unique. The staff was top notch and the location is perfect - a quiet neighborhood but close to everything.

TIP: bring a flashlight and open the curtains, the room is dark!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear CuriousTravelerRadio,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Van Gogh room and that the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs. Thank you for your kind words towards our team members; we will definitely share your comments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. All these attractions are at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam while attending a trade show in Amsterdam. All in all, I was happy with stay. The hotel is outside of the city center but very close (10 Euro cab ride) to the RAI convention center. The hotel is along side a canal which makes for a nice view and pleasant place to have an after-dinner drink. The area around the hotel appears to be quasi-residential with small cafes nearby.

The rooms were excellent as one would expect from a Hilton property. In-room WiFi was fine but I unfortunately can not say the same for the lobby and conference room areas. Connectivity was inconsistent with the connections being constantly dropped.

Meals at the hotel restaurant, Robertos, were excellent overall. Taste and presentation were exquisite with the portion sizes a bit small (for an American).

We used the conference facilities for some meetings and I was impressed by the facilities and service. Everything was arranged beforehand via email and I did not need to follow-up once or have anything corrected. The price of the conference room rentals (with accessories) was expensive however.

In summary, it was a good stay and I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back (canal). It has a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Shikhar B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval, especially our conference centre and Roberto’s Restaurant, and that the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

Whatever the occasion, Hilton Amsterdam has the expertise and range of venues to bring your event to life. Choose from 21 flexible function rooms, all equipped with wireless internet which is complimentary in all public areas. Each room features individual air-conditioning, ergonomic chairs and modern conference equipment.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and had a nice room with a nice view of the canal. It is a bit aways from the city center but still well within walking distance, if you don't mind walking which we did and loved it because you can see so much more of the city that way. If walking is not your thing, they have a great tram system to get around on.The hotel is also close to the beautiful Vondelpark and museums.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear LaurieW94,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are also happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. All these attractions are at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here between 13th and 18th of October for business. It's was quite good overall experience at the Hilton. Food is great at Roberto's and at breakfast. the only drawback of this hotel is location, it's a bit far from the center of Amsterdam. I had to stay there due to the proximity of distance to RAI. Rooms are quite, clean and service is great. Would recommend it. WIFI could be free in the rooms for a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Regarding the internet policy of the Hilton Amsterdam please be aware that Wi-Fi internet is free of charge in all public areas.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.