We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #50 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here between 13th and 18th of October for business. It's was quite good overall experience at the Hilton. Food is great at Roberto's and at breakfast. the only drawback of this hotel is location, it's a bit far from the center of Amsterdam. I had to stay there due to the proximity of distance to RAI. Rooms are quite, clean and service is great. Would recommend it. WIFI could be free in the rooms for a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Regarding the internet policy of the Hilton Amsterdam please be aware that Wi-Fi internet is free of charge in all public areas.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    460
    148
    54
    23
See reviews for
156
575
81
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a beautiful property within walking distance of the tram. The rooms are clean and spacious. They also had a great breakfast. We stayed at this hotel with Trafalgar travel group.
Would highly recommend it. Very American like if you like the comforts of home.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Dewey 4321,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms nice and beds comfortable and that we were able to cater to all your needs.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in this very good hotel, which is reasonably close to the city centre. Count on EUR 14 for a taxi to the Rijksmuseum and 18 to the Dam. The staff were efficient, professional and pleasant. Special kudos to housekeeping! All was spotless, breakfast was exceptionally varied and good. The infrastructure is beginning to show its age, with some of the furniture and plumbing a bit shaky.
I would have given it 5 dots, were it not for the very high cost of parking and wi-fi. Check before clicking! However, free wi-fi is available in the lobby, ask the front desk for a code.
Thanks to TripAdvisor, we got a very good price on easytobook.com (prepaid, no change or cancellation).

Room Tip: At check-in, ask for the price of an upgrade to an executive floor. You may get it for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mojave,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs. It is our pleasure to know that you had a lovely stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and all our facilities and services met your approval.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Hilton is iconic - its's design is clean, modern, yet timeless. The hotel is welcoming and an oasis of tranquility in the bustle of Amsterdam. Set not 10 minutes' walk from the Concertgebouw and 15 minutes' walk from the Rijksmuseum in the peaceful Appollolaan, the hotel offers good-sized and well-appointed rooms. We stayed in an Executive room, which was very comfortable: modern elegance combined with comfortable beds and a good bathroom. The Executive lounge has decent snacks: it is perhaps on the small side (compared with the Swisshôtel in Istanbul, for example), but there was enough room for the clients who were there. We booked via booking.com, and chose the hotel because of the competitive price for the comfort offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Magnifico M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval and you found our rooms comfortable and catering to all your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locust grove
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was a lovely hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel is in a semi residential area with terrific restaurants and shops and beautiful homes. It is only a short tram ride into the center of Amsterdam. We met many local people while walking around the area and they suggested restaurants where they ate and we enjoyed each restaurant. Our room was very nice. If given a chance to visit Amsterdam again, this is where we would want to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Itscarolyns,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for one night in August.
Received a status-based upgrade to an executive level room.
Efficient and friendly check in: all the necessary information provided, help with luggage offered, etc.
The room itself is not the most modern one but very clean, nicely furnished and functional. My only reservation is the size of the bathroom: not large by any means (perhaps because the building itself is quite an old one) but again clean and functional. I had access to the Executive Lounge on the top floor: the views are magnificent and service again was friendly; however the selection of hot snacks offered during the 'happy hour' was nothing to write home about and did not compare favourably with other Hiltons in Europe in my view.
Breakfast: efficient and friendly service, good choice, coffee and eggs to order. Excellent.
I would definitely come back and recommend despite the hotel's slightly remote (in relation to the city centre) location as noted by previous reviewers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ozon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval and you found our rooms comfortable and catering to all your needs.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360 view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotel is beautiful --located within walking distance to all the attractions. We were treated very well during our stay. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was included during our stay and was a great way to start the day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Robert F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.