We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #51 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Groningen
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Style and Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Hilton is iconic - its's design is clean, modern, yet timeless. The hotel is welcoming and an oasis of tranquility in the bustle of Amsterdam. Set not 10 minutes' walk from the Concertgebouw and 15 minutes' walk from the Rijksmuseum in the peaceful Appollolaan, the hotel offers good-sized and well-appointed rooms. We stayed in an Executive room, which was very comfortable: modern elegance combined with comfortable beds and a good bathroom. The Executive lounge has decent snacks: it is perhaps on the small side (compared with the Swisshôtel in Istanbul, for example), but there was enough room for the clients who were there. We booked via booking.com, and chose the hotel because of the competitive price for the comfort offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Magnifico M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval and you found our rooms comfortable and catering to all your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    460
    148
    54
    23
See reviews for
156
577
81
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
locust grove
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was a lovely hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel is in a semi residential area with terrific restaurants and shops and beautiful homes. It is only a short tram ride into the center of Amsterdam. We met many local people while walking around the area and they suggested restaurants where they ate and we enjoyed each restaurant. Our room was very nice. If given a chance to visit Amsterdam again, this is where we would want to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Itscarolyns,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for one night in August.
Received a status-based upgrade to an executive level room.
Efficient and friendly check in: all the necessary information provided, help with luggage offered, etc.
The room itself is not the most modern one but very clean, nicely furnished and functional. My only reservation is the size of the bathroom: not large by any means (perhaps because the building itself is quite an old one) but again clean and functional. I had access to the Executive Lounge on the top floor: the views are magnificent and service again was friendly; however the selection of hot snacks offered during the 'happy hour' was nothing to write home about and did not compare favourably with other Hiltons in Europe in my view.
Breakfast: efficient and friendly service, good choice, coffee and eggs to order. Excellent.
I would definitely come back and recommend despite the hotel's slightly remote (in relation to the city centre) location as noted by previous reviewers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ozon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval and you found our rooms comfortable and catering to all your needs.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360 view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotel is beautiful --located within walking distance to all the attractions. We were treated very well during our stay. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was included during our stay and was a great way to start the day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Robert F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The exterior of the property reminded me of an older building but don't let the skin fool you, the interior and the hotel itself is very nice.

The area where this hotel is located is outside of the downtown Amsterdam area. It is a 15+ minute trolley ride to town but given it's idyllic location, right in the middle of an affluent area of the city, I'd choose this property again.

Check in was quick, the staff very friendly. I was upgraded to a canal-view room on a high floor and was impressed by the city and water views. This is a beautiful area. The room was cozy, slightly smaller than your typical U.S. room but definitely large for a European hotel. Wood paneled walls and darker colors gave the room a nice, warm feel. The king-sized bed was comfortable and I was given a nice selection of pillows from which to choose. A large flat screen TV, a nice desk area, and your typical amenities were all present, leaving me wanting for not much really. Complimentary water bottles, still and sparkling, were provided as well. The bathroom was small but everything was clean and well kept. The step up into the tub was high - something to consider if you are short, frail, or otherwise unable to navigate the step into and out of the tub. I would be worried about my mother trying to get out of the tube with wet feet.

There is an excellent patio bar that faces the canal. I enjoyed a beautiful evening out there with colleagues over a few drinks. Service was slow but that didn't take away from the late summer evening. The patio is arranged in a terrace fashion, with chairs facing the canal, so the views were just fine.

An Italian restaurant is attached to the restaurant - a delicious place to have dinner though the prices were on the steep side. The HHonors lounge is on an upper floor with outdoor views though it is small. One morning I woke up early, before the lounge opened, and I was directed to another restaurant inside the hotel for breakfast. The buffet there surpassed the lounge though a large tour group getting ready for their foray into the city had the noise level up quite a bit. Regardless, I would choose this over the lounge for breakfast any time.

The Hilton Amsterdam is an excellent choice for those willing to travel a bit to the tourist sites but they will be rewarded with an incredible canal location and quite, beautiful neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear BlueSpinnaker,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval and you especially enjoyed the Half Moon Lounge.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties in this nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the Noorder Amstel canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is in the outer part of Amsterdam, but in a nice location to a few attractions and shops and restaurants. Hotel is older but kept up fairly well. The room were big, but could of done with some repairs, which I mentioned in their hotel survey, which I recieved a email back from them thanking me for my comment andtelling me they had addressed my concerns about the room.
Friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast in the morning was good and good variety of food. I'd stay there again. Dollar value $$$$

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look onto the parking area and main road, as the rooms to the back look onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear 145elite123145,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and that our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, we will definitely share your compliments with them. All our team takes great pride in service delivery and they will be very happy to hear your positive comments.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

38e your breakfast at your room for a really bad experience. Buffet is absolutely normal while we could expect something better for the price. 17.5e per day for the gym. really not deserve 5 stars. dont go there it is really too expensive for the quality provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Abdelaziz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience caused to you we would like to offer our sincere apologies.

We would like to point out that our prices are conform prices of similar properties in Amsterdam, however do take your comments very seriously and have discussed them within our team for future pricing decisions.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.