We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the outer part of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the outer part of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is in the outer part of Amsterdam, but in a nice location to a few attractions and shops and restaurants. Hotel is older but kept up fairly well. The room were big, but could of done with some repairs, which I mentioned in their hotel survey, which I recieved a email back from them thanking me for my comment andtelling me they had addressed my concerns about the room.
Friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast in the morning was good and good variety of food. I'd stay there again. Dollar value $$$$

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look onto the parking area and main road, as the rooms to the back look onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear 145elite123145,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and that our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, we will definitely share your compliments with them. All our team takes great pride in service delivery and they will be very happy to hear your positive comments.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    652
    412
    135
    47
    21
See reviews for
143
525
78
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

38e your breakfast at your room for a really bad experience. Buffet is absolutely normal while we could expect something better for the price. 17.5e per day for the gym. really not deserve 5 stars. dont go there it is really too expensive for the quality provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Abdelaziz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience caused to you we would like to offer our sincere apologies.

We would like to point out that our prices are conform prices of similar properties in Amsterdam, however do take your comments very seriously and have discussed them within our team for future pricing decisions.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a older hotel, but was one of our favorites during a 3 week vacation. We used the exuc. club and thought the attention and food was supreme. We rode bikes through the parks and found the location to be very good for us.

Room Tip: We had a canal view room and would not have found it as good if we didn't use the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Playridebikehike,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the Executive Lounge team, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

With a room on the top floor overlooking a canal, this was a wonderful four nights in Amsterdam. Walking distance to two different tram lines, excellent breakfast and great exec. lounge, we truly enjoyed our stay. Especially remarkable was a wonderful concierge, Gio. The rest of the staff were fine, but Gio was outstanding. He knows the city so well and had phenomenal recommendations. He is a huge asset to this property,

Room Tip: A canal view room on a top floor is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear KJ39,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially our concierge Gio, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are after the busy Amsterdam experience, Hilton Amsterdam is not for you.

If you are after a quieter experience in a more mature are, with a10-15 minute walk through Vondelpark to the hustle and bustle, with well appointed rooms and good service, Hilton is spot on the mark.

I've stayed 3 or 4 times at this hotel and, subject to my purpose for going, it is my preferred location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Andrew D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl-ite in Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Furnishing was a little older and dated but clean. Room was reasonable size but cupboard was very small. Towels and bath robe a little old but clean. Plug points in the right places for work at the desk but the wifi was a big let down. Was there for 6 nights for a conference. Wifi was terribly ineffective in my room, conference room and elsewhere in the hotel. This was bad as this was a business trip and I needed the connectivity to my work and office half the world away. Had to run down to the biz centre to use one of the 3 desktops. The usage was free though. Breakfast was reasonable. You get to ask for your choice of eggs and the wait staff brought orange juice to the table and reasonable friendly. Had a good view of the garden and canal behind which was nice. Located near tram lines (abt 5-10 mins walk) which led to town centre in less than 15 mins. Staff all around were quite friendly. Didn't enjoy my dinner at Roberto's. Waited quite some time for someone to greet me and when a staff did see me, just went on by! Pasta was very very salty. For almost €50 for 1 pasta and a drink, not impressed. They charged €17.50 per entry per day for the gym!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Suetz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that most of our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind words toward our team members; we will share all your positive comments with the team.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the Wi-Fi connection. We take your comments very seriously and have passed them to our Technical department to ensure that this does not reoccur in the future.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for your experience in Roberto’s Restaurant. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the service and food level and we have meanwhile briefed both kitchen and service teams to prevent this from happening again in the future.

All guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lived up to Hilton name. The hotel staff was so welcoming. The room was furnished well in addition to the comfortable bedding. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but were offered Cappuccino in addition to Espresso as well. The wait staff tried to accommodate us as much as possible. The chef came out with fresh sunny side up fresh eggs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms nice and beds comfortable and that we were able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the breakfast team, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.