We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €160
Ranked #49 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

With a room on the top floor overlooking a canal, this was a wonderful four nights in Amsterdam. Walking distance to two different tram lines, excellent breakfast and great exec. lounge, we truly enjoyed our stay. Especially remarkable was a wonderful concierge, Gio. The rest of the staff were fine, but Gio was outstanding. He knows the city so well and had phenomenal recommendations. He is a huge asset to this property,

Room Tip: A canal view room on a top floor is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear KJ39,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially our concierge Gio, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    646
    411
    135
    46
    21
See reviews for
143
521
78
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are after the busy Amsterdam experience, Hilton Amsterdam is not for you.

If you are after a quieter experience in a more mature are, with a10-15 minute walk through Vondelpark to the hustle and bustle, with well appointed rooms and good service, Hilton is spot on the mark.

I've stayed 3 or 4 times at this hotel and, subject to my purpose for going, it is my preferred location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Andrew D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl-ite in Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Furnishing was a little older and dated but clean. Room was reasonable size but cupboard was very small. Towels and bath robe a little old but clean. Plug points in the right places for work at the desk but the wifi was a big let down. Was there for 6 nights for a conference. Wifi was terribly ineffective in my room, conference room and elsewhere in the hotel. This was bad as this was a business trip and I needed the connectivity to my work and office half the world away. Had to run down to the biz centre to use one of the 3 desktops. The usage was free though. Breakfast was reasonable. You get to ask for your choice of eggs and the wait staff brought orange juice to the table and reasonable friendly. Had a good view of the garden and canal behind which was nice. Located near tram lines (abt 5-10 mins walk) which led to town centre in less than 15 mins. Staff all around were quite friendly. Didn't enjoy my dinner at Roberto's. Waited quite some time for someone to greet me and when a staff did see me, just went on by! Pasta was very very salty. For almost €50 for 1 pasta and a drink, not impressed. They charged €17.50 per entry per day for the gym!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Suetz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that most of our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind words toward our team members; we will share all your positive comments with the team.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the Wi-Fi connection. We take your comments very seriously and have passed them to our Technical department to ensure that this does not reoccur in the future.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for your experience in Roberto’s Restaurant. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the service and food level and we have meanwhile briefed both kitchen and service teams to prevent this from happening again in the future.

All guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lived up to Hilton name. The hotel staff was so welcoming. The room was furnished well in addition to the comfortable bedding. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but were offered Cappuccino in addition to Espresso as well. The wait staff tried to accommodate us as much as possible. The chef came out with fresh sunny side up fresh eggs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms nice and beds comfortable and that we were able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the breakfast team, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Found the hotel clean and staff very helpful. Even though this hotel is out of town, we found the shopping much better than the city. This is more of a residential area and as such was very clean with good variety of shops and restaurants. We found all the high end shops within a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The trams were handy if you wanted to go to the city and its only 20 minutes to the airport which was about 30Euro. We took the executive upgrade for an extra 59euro and we enjoyed unlimited drinks, snacks and breakfast as part of the package which was very good value. Had dinner at Robertos which was very good. Only negative is lack of free wifi in room, however free everywhere else in the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Chrisl54,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. It is a pleasure to hear that the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I haven't stayed in a hotel with as friendly and helpful a staff, as Hilton Amsterdam, ever. Everyone was cheerful and always willing to help. My wife and I only stayed one night, but we will be back. If you want a great hotel, stay at the Hilton Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We stayed on the canal side and used public transportation. Easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ddbar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We especially thank you for your kind words towards our team members, with pleasure we will share your positive comments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. By taking tram 16, the city centre is just a short ride away.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

There are no changes from my last review, no major refurbisshments were untertaken, very high pricing ( higher than the Hilton Bonn for example ), especially the internet ( 25 US for one day is a ripp off ), food prices are very expensive ( up to 50% more for the same as in Hilton Bonn ). And again: no toothbrushes provided. All in all OK but not worth the money comparing to other facilities worldwide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Slonik_on_tour,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations. All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

All our rooms and hallways were refurbished in 2008/2009 and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We take your comments very seriously.

Please be informed that the Hilton Amsterdam provides free Wi-Fi internet through all public areas.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.