We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suberb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #50 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Excelsior, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Suberb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I haven't stayed in a hotel with as friendly and helpful a staff, as Hilton Amsterdam, ever. Everyone was cheerful and always willing to help. My wife and I only stayed one night, but we will be back. If you want a great hotel, stay at the Hilton Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We stayed on the canal side and used public transportation. Easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ddbar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We especially thank you for your kind words towards our team members, with pleasure we will share your positive comments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. By taking tram 16, the city centre is just a short ride away.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    459
    148
    54
    23
See reviews for
156
574
80
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

There are no changes from my last review, no major refurbisshments were untertaken, very high pricing ( higher than the Hilton Bonn for example ), especially the internet ( 25 US for one day is a ripp off ), food prices are very expensive ( up to 50% more for the same as in Hilton Bonn ). And again: no toothbrushes provided. All in all OK but not worth the money comparing to other facilities worldwide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Slonik_on_tour,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations. All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

All our rooms and hallways were refurbished in 2008/2009 and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We take your comments very seriously.

Please be informed that the Hilton Amsterdam provides free Wi-Fi internet through all public areas.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for five nights bed and breakfast. We had two interconnecting rooms which were lovely. I do wish I had requested rooms over looking the cannal but unfortunatly I did not think to do this before we arrived. The staff were very frienly and did look to see if there were any rooms available over looking the cannal but the hotel was full. Our rooms were quiet and over looked the front of the hotel. WIFI was not complimentary in the rooms but free in the public areas. There was a lovely terrace where you could sit out and have drinks and bar snacks. The breakfast had a good choice but was always so very busy. The staff were very helpful but ran off their feet. You would often be waiting for more food to arrive i.e milk, sliced bread and muffins. One morning we were shown to an unmade table and waited for some time but no one came. I resorted to getting glasses, cultrery and mugs to set our table up. Perhaps the breakfast room needs more staff to accomadate the demand. The hotel is well situated with easy access to the trams. We bought a three day tram pass.There are plenty of resaurants nearby if you prefer to eat out of the hotel. We used the hotel car park but it was very expensive at 35 euros a day but the car park was secure and parking in Amsterdam is said to be expensive. We found the Hilton an ideal base for exploring the city with two children in a very nice area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear melCumbria,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We thank you for your kind words towards our team as well, with pleasure we will share them with the team.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during the breakfast. Every feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. By taking tram 16, the city centre is just a short ride away.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was put up at the Hilton by the Bilderberg Palace just across the street, on which I had a booking they couldn't properly honour (room with no real bed, read my report about it). This, to say that I didn't pay for this Hilton, so I don't know how expensive or not my room could have been.
But on the whole the experience was actually very good: a nice room, decorated not to my taste, but very nice anyway, with a splendid view on a canal and a garden. Staff is very pleasant and welcoming, whereas breakfast is an interesting experience: highly efficient attractive ladies on high heels marching promptly across the breakfast room dispensing coffee, orange juice and taking orders. Quick service, good food, newspapers available, all very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the canal are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear RomaMurena,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the breakfast team, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam in a Junior Suite. Staff was friendly and helpful. Unfortunatelx the furniture was very outdated and a bit shabby. Room rates are definately too high for what you get. There are better choices in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Raffi99,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations. All our rooms and hallways were refurbished in 2008/2009 and we were sorry to hear that the interior design is not to your liking. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and we take your comments very seriously.

All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam for business and pleasure and it was perfect for both! A real oasis away from the noise and bustle of the centre but easily reached by tram (No:16 - 5 mins walk, No: 5 - 10 mins walk) or bike (€16 per day), Museumplein is a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

The service received from all team members was second to none, truly 5* especially in Roberto's for breakfast and dinner but also from every other team member we encountered.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Suzianna,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the Roberto’s Restaurant team, as well, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options. Dinner is served every day from 18:00 - 22:30 hrs and offers you a classic but modern and inspirational Italian cuisine using the highest quality products as well as wines from Italy.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We decided to take a small break to celebrate our 9th wedding anniversary. Hilton Amsterdam seemed to be the good choice..Turns out it was a EXCELLENT choice. Never been to the city before and I was a little hesitant to stay in a hotel that was not in the city centre. No worries though, the trams were located behind the hotel and was a direct line to the centre. The hotel also sell I AM AMSTERDAM cards which includes free trams rides and museums. Its a great location to walk around and enjoy some local fare..Great little resturants in the area. As we arrived, it was rainy and a bit chilly. The front doorman greeted me with a smile and took my luggage and escort us to the front desk. As we are GOLD members of Hilton we normally get upgraded to the next available room. To our surprise, a suite was given to us with a view of the back which included a view of the canal. As a special treat a bottle of champagne and a small cake was waiting for us as well.. The little touches makes all the difference. The concierge, Gio, was incredibly accommodating and very knowledgable. He went to lengths to help us when the need was to be arised. The executive lounge,located on top, was a picture perfect 270 degree setting for pre-drinks and snacks. The service from in house restaurants to the housekeeping was excellent. The only WORST part of this stay, there was there a HUGE NOISEY PARTY outside. We were staying on the 8th floor and still heard the BEAT BEAT BEAT of the music. The staff was very apologetic but did not help to ease my discomfort for the day. I would highly recommend this HILTON but make sure there isn't a LOUD PARTY going on during your stay.
One more thing, unfortunately the champagne store was closed due to staff holiday ?? Im sorry but for a large hotel in the most famous cities, you really should have staff to cover staff holidays..

Room Tip: Corner suites are the furtherest from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Flyiboy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. It is a pleasure to hear that the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs. We thank you for your kind words towards our team members as well, with pleasure we will share them with the team. It is always a pleasure to hear that we were able to make your stay special.

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay due to the private party which took place in the garden.

The Champagne & Caviar shop, which is located in the lobby of the hotel, is renting the space in our hotel and unfortunately we cannot control their opening hours, however, we apologize if it caused any inconvenience to you.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360 view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.