We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Heading for Amsterdam, Don't Stay Anywhere Else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“If Heading for Amsterdam, Don't Stay Anywhere Else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in such pristine condition that it is hard to believe it has been in existence for 40 years or so. Its location is the best in the city, namely int the pleasant residential Old Zuuid quarter, on the very banks of the Amstel Canal, and just a short walk away from the Concert Hall and the great museums (Rijksmuseum, Staedelijk, Van Gogh).
The room we had was large, comfortable, and modern - as was the bathroom. We were just a few doors away from John Lennon & Yoko Ono's room made famous by their press conference while in bed.
There is ample parking available (at a price, as they are obliged to match the horrendous street parking prices the city imposes), and I recommend to leave the car and move around by public transport, as the nearest tram is but two blocks away,
On a lucky day, you may even see some Royal attending a function or having lunch here...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear GranZorro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you especially liked the location of the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments and we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

The Hilton Amsterdam was opened on May 9th, 1962 and is located in “het Apollokwartier”, Amsterdam’s most sophisticated residential area. Its surroundings were designed by the renowned architect Berlage in 1905 and developed in 1917. The area was intended to be the link between the older, existing inner part of the city and the newly developing sites.

The Hilton was designed in 1958 by the Dutch architect Maaskant, and was the first international hotel in the Netherlands. Its structure continued along the same lines of Berlage’s earlier ideas and its characteristic V-shape is significant in that it shows where the two main avenues of Amsterdam meet - the Apollolaan and the Minervalaan.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    414
    136
    47
    21
See reviews for
144
528
78
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had a stay here with my wife on a pleasure trip. As a Hilton Diamond, I received no recognition at all. Was given a small room in a bad location. I guess I've been spoiled by all the other great Hilton's I've stayed in across Europe. I have to agree with other reviewers about the lack of enthusiasm in the staff, they were just there to do a job and go home it seemed. The location didn't bother us too much, a little off the beaten path but very easy to hop on the tram to get into it all.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear hiflya,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and we take your comments regarding our team members very seriously. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the team for future development.

All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived here after a long flight from the USA in the early evening (8pm). There was no doorman or porter present and we carried our own bags to check in where there was a queue. Check in was efficient once we got to the front (and I'm Hhonors Silver). Dropped the bags and went to the executive lounge where drinks are served until very late.

The room was nicely appointed standard Hilton fare and was very quiet.

Breakfast was taken in the main restaurant overlooking the canal, excellent orange juice! And good English tea available. Buffet was ok but not anything more.

The second night (Saturday) we could not get into the executive lounge it was full, the host was good enough to call the room when a table became free and we had a drink before going for dinner in Robertos. What a mistake service was excellent the food however was very poor and very expensive.

Overall an average Hilton not worthy of its alleged 5star status (never stayed in a 5star with no porter or turndown service!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear dealSouthWales_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are glad to read that most of our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast offerings and team members. Your compliments will be much appreciated.

With regret we read about your experience at the Roberto’s Restaurant. We take your comments about the quality of the food very seriously and will discuss them within the team to improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The whole staff was extremely helpful, and we found that our stay was the best we have ever experienced, that is from the arrival to the departure. We had ordered and paid for a shuttle bus to take us to the airport. We had packed our suitcases and were ready at noon (the plane didn't leave until 15.55). We wanted to be picked up a little earlier that planned. However, the shuttle bus business was extremely busy that day. Therefore, the hotel sent for a taxi which took us to the airport no charge. This is a kind of service that we appreciate. Kind regards, Jette Windum

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jette Windum,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are glad to read that our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind words towards our team as well. The whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. At only few minutes’ walk from the hotel a tram station is located from which all other main areas of Amsterdam are easily accessible.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel is very nice in a very nice place.
Has a couple of Tram that would get you right into the City center. It is a 5 minute walk from the Van Gogh museum and a nice park.

It's a bit overpriced, but you get what you pay. The view is always amazing specially if you get a room facing the canal. Lovely Amsterdam

Room Tip: Get room facing canal. Beautiful view. But otherwise is nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear MarioLonghi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all our facilities and services met your approval.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just a few blocks away from the hustle & bustle of the downtown you can retreat to quietness and outstanding service. In the evening enjoy a nightcap on the terrace where the staff are very friendly and attentive.

In the morning we decided to enjoy the wonderful breakfast buffet ... one of the very best we ever had. A nice touch was that the hotel allows the chefs to wander the tables to offer guests special treats ... we chose to have a smoothie and it was wonderful.

The hotel is easily reached by tram from the Central Train station ... so no need to have a car. But if you do the hotel has plenty of parking. We found it easy to access downtown without the need of a car or using the tram ... it was great walking exercise.

Room Tip: go for a junior suite and at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear 2080Rascal,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We are happy that you particularly enjoyed our breakfast offerings.

Your kind words towards our team members are much appreciated, with pleasure I will share all your positive comments with the team.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Service - The staff were friendly, very happy to please and you would always be acknowledged with a Good morning and Good afternoon/evening. Breakfast was always the highlight of the day with a huge selection of hot/cold food to choose from; we were definitely spoilt for choice. They were also happy to cook fresh omelettes and fried eggs also. On weekends as a specially treat a waiter comes around with fresh pancakes and an array of extra treats and a glass of proseco if you feel like a early morning treat. My friend who is what and gluten intolerant was offered gluten free brownies instead. Again great service
The rooms were lovely and clean, mini bar, BBC one/two available, much needed wifi which is free in communal areas.
The Hotel - There are a few restaurants, a nice outdoor garden area which is perfect for dining and relaxing, with a great view of the canal. A spa also but I did ot use whilst there.

It is not in the centre however a 10minute tram ride from the central hustle and bustle which for me was perfect. We never spent more than 18euros in taxi fare on a night out.

Great stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Steph b,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval and you especially liked our breakfast offerings.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 7.00 – 10.30 on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.