We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - but....... -1 for lack of staff training” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent - but....... -1 for lack of staff training”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

What did we enjoy:
Location: 25 mins from City Center by tram - 5 mins walk to the tram, which runs very frequently. The area is a leafy suburb and very quiet - compared to city center - for us this was good news.
Room: very good - spacious, clean, everything we needed - good view over the canal and city south.
Lounge / Bar: with canal views, brilliant alfresco dining - great food - smaller meals are available, well presented as one would expect from the Hilton.
Facilities: we could find everything we needed - including advice !
Staff: in general were excellent - efficient and friendly .....but.......

Our only disappointment was the service we received from one waitron - I want to make it clear that we are not commenting on the person involved - he served us on two occasions - once on the canal lounge and once at breakfast - we noticed that he struggled with the very basics of service - not understanding what was required. After breakfast I asked the 'supervisor' if he was 'under training' and yes, it was only his 2nd week - I asked if he had completed his basic training with the Hilton and was surprised to hear that, no, he had not been on any training courses - just pushed out onto the floor !
I feel very sorry for this young guy, starting out on his career, to be put into a 4/5 star hotel and told 'see what you can do'. Surely the Hilton should prepare their staff for service before letting them enter service ? - I suggested this to the 'supervisor' who commented ' yes - that would be a very good idea'
I would not expect the Hilton to subject a new employee to the rigors of service without the necessary training - would appreciate a response from Hilton.
I

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Kiarainn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that most of our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind words toward our team members; we will share all your positive comments with the team.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during breakfast. We take your comments regarding the breakfast service level very seriously. Thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast team member. We would like to inform you that all our team members follow the required training and courses and we will make sure that the training of this particular team member will be reinforced.

All guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the
near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    442
    141
    52
    22
See reviews for
153
556
80
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not suitable for a 4 stars hotel, services are poor, executives is not at its level and personal is of poor quality professionalism. You get only 'sorry' anytime but no compensation in exchange. Lounges are at top of the hotel and no ventilation is ensure. Very hot and very bussy became at 18,00 pm. Ex L do not ensure food as in other Hiltons . EX L is not worth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Neacsa B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. We take your comments regarding the service level very seriously and have discussed them within our team to prevent this from reoccurring in the future.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view of the city of Amsterdam and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Every feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be able to welcome you with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I took my mother to Amsterdam for her birthday weekend and we decided to stay at the Hilton as we love this part of the city (upmarket, quiet residential area). We were not disappointed. The tram stop is only a 5-10 minute walk away (5 or 24 from Apollolaan) which takes you straight into the centre. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. The terrace at the back of the hotel is a lovely place to relax and dine or just enjoy an evening drink. The peace and tranquility as you overlook the canal is wonderful. The rooms are clean and well laid out. We had a canal view room which was perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Mozartonholiday,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all our facilities and services met your approval.

We are also happy that you enjoyed our Garden Terrace with its wonderful view to the Noorder Amstel canal. It is indeed the ideal place to quietly relax, have a business meeting or a reunion with a friend, our extensive menu ensures that there is something for everyone.

We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent hotel for a short stay. The reception and rooms are very clean and well laid out. The staff could not be more helpful. The hotel is a short tram trip from the city centre, the surrounding area is very nice & quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Douglas G,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words towards Hilton Amsterdam team. With pleasure we will share all your positive comments to them!

The Hilton Amsterdam location makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great though expensive. A very short tram or walk to central Amsterdam (which for the record is too busy to stay in anyway). Rooms are very good and outside terrace is a charming place to have a relaxing drink. I'd definitely stay here again but try and negotiate a cheaper deal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Manofkent1963,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities and you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms and our Garden terrace facing the beautiful Noorder Amstel canal.

The Hilton Amsterdam is the perfect location for sightseeing. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

On a hot summers day last week, stepping into the Hilton Amsterdam was like walking into an oasis of calm. Naturally, the rooms are good (it's a Hilton) and staff are attentive (but, internet too expensive). Lunch on the terrace overlooking the canal was excellent and a walk to Leidseplein through the park (as suggested by the concierge) gave access to Amsterdam at its best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear GPDxb,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We thank you for your kind words towards our staff as well, with pleasure I will share all your positive comments to the team.

Concerning your comment on the internet charge please be advised that we are now offering free internet access in all public areas.

Our Garden Terrace with its wonderful view to the Noorder Amstel canal is the ideal place to quietly relax, have a business meeting or a reunion with a friend. An extensive appetizer and beverage menu ensures that there is something for everyone.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

You'd think dragging three giant suitcases on trains and trams from Schiphol to the hotel through the rain would have dampened our stay at the Hilton Amsterdam, but from the second we stepped in the lobby, we knew we were in great hands. The team at the front desk was very accommodating -- they upgraded us to a suite with a beautiful view (a great perk, when available for Hilton Honors Gold members) and, when I said I left our universal outlet adapter at home, I was generously offered two to borrow. A cot was set up in the room for our 8 year old daughter -- it crowded the room a little bit, but she said it was very comfortable, so ultimately we were glad to have it. Our bed was very comfy as well and the canal view room was very peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed the drinks and snacks at the Executive Lounge (would have liked it to be open a little later... with the sun setting around 10pm, it would have been a nice place to wind down at the end of the day). And every employee at the hotel we encountered was very friendly and helpful. In the mornings, we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Great offerings of breads, pastries and hot breakfast items. We did one breakfast late and another on the early side, and each time, I was amazed at how moist, hot and fluffy the scrambled eggs stayed in the heated buffet pan. Most of all, the service at the restaurant was top notch. No matter how busy they were, the hosts, managers and servers treated you like a VIP.

As for the location, I think it was a wonderful option -- just a few tram stops from the museums, walking distance to a supermaket and restaurants (where everyone spoke English), yet away from the mayhem of other parts of Amsterdam. The area is more residential than touristy, and after spending the days at all the tourist spots, it was lovely to escape the crowds and not be so guarded.

Our stay here was the beginning of three weeks of traveling through Europe (including a Disney Cruise) and to this day, when I ask my 8 year old what her favorite part of the trip was, she says Amsterdam. We left feeling very pampered and can't wait to return. My only wish is that next time, we travel lighter and it doesn't rain!

Room Tip: Canal views are quite lovely, even on rainy days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Thinkoflaura,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and that you felt “pampered” by the end of your stay. Additionally it is an honour for us to receive such a great compliment from your 8 year old daughter!

We would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff as well especially the Front Desk and restaurant teams, with pleasure I will share all your positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All HHonours Gold and Diamond members are entitled to free access to the Executive Lounge as well as complimentary in-room internet.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.