We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #50 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Upon my fifth return to this property, I was pleasantly surprised with a bottle of champagne and strawberries! The hotel is my favorite in Amsterdam. I prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town center, yet a short tram ride way. The hotel itself is well appointed. I especially like the nautical theme as it is on the canal. The bar is cozy with a fire going in the cool weather. In nice weather, bar service is moved to the outdoor terrace along the canal. Lovely with the cherry trees and tulips in bloom with the swans paddling along the canal. The breakfast is always good and the chef, Johnny, from LA makes great omelets, pancakes and eggs Benedict. Eric, Stephanie and Marian provide top notch service in the Executive lounge, which has a great view at the top of the hotel!! There are a dozen very good restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel, which cater to the upscale neighborhood and are not touristy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear brandywinelady,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your 5th stay gift as it is way for us to express our gratitude towards your loyalty. Thank you also for your great comments concerning our team members which we will gladly share with them.

During the summer our Half Moon Lounge bar closes and we open the Garden Terrace where guests can relax in the sun and enjoy the wonderful view over the canal. This is a real highlight of our hotel.

The Executive Lounge is a place to work or relax, we are glad to inform you that the Executive Lounge also provides private check-in and check-out services.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    460
    148
    54
    23
See reviews for
156
577
81
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

nice environment.. I love e soap/lotion/shampoo they gave which is by thomas lab stg.. very very nice and branded.. the hotel is very cosy and one of e best i visited.. very near to airport too.. lovely place

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear GeraWil,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our bathroom amenities and our hotel as a whole.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall while the RAI congress centre is at walking distance as well. The city centre is easily accessible via public transport. The tram takes you to all main areas of the city.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton with my wife and two kids for a long weekend in Amsterdam. We had a very nice time, the room was spacious and took full opportunity of the executive lounge on the top floor, with a nice view of the city.
The breakfast was also very rich, and very pleasant (especially for the kid) was the service at the table with pancakes and waffles, served with different types of chocolate and cream sauces, plus fresh fruit.
The location is (I guess) good for business purposes but not ideal for family trips, given that you need to make a 10 mins trip to get to the city center. In the summertime the terrace on the canal might also be quite pleasant as well (but i cannot tell with certainty, we were there in March).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear svcalleg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and the Executive Lounge located on our top floor with a panoramic view of city.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential but exclusive South of Amsterdam. It is surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall while the RAI congress centre is at walking distance as well. The city centre is accessible in 10 minutes via public transport.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Hilton Amsterdam is a nice businessman's hotel. However, it is several blocks from the nearest tram in a residential neighborhood. Consider, instead, the Doubletree on the harbor. While the Hilton's Italian, yes Italian, restaurant is very good, it is also very expensive. There are no other restaurants within several blocks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear RoySandlapper,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential but exclusive South of Amsterdam. It is surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall while the RAI congress centre is at walking distance as well. The city centre is easily accessible via public transport including a trip of approximately 10 minutes.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is ok located, a little far away from the visited places in Amsterdam, but the hotel is great. Old styled, in front of the canal. The front desk staff are NOT polite at all. Breakfast can be crowded so you might wait a few minutes.
The hotel is great... just the staff could be better trained to be in the Hilton Standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear HoffaChicago,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your comment of being a great hotel, nonetheless we sincerely regret to read about your experience with the Front Desk Staff.

Excellent guest service delivery is our key priority and we therefore would very much appreciate additional information on your experience to enable us to review the matter with our team.

You can kindly reach us at operations.amsterdam@hilton.com .

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ever since we sold our house in Amsterdam we made the iconic Hilton there our second home. And everytime, this time again, arriving is like coming home. Sure, some things take you back to the sixties. .. the rooms are relatively small. But there always events that make you feel you are part of "it" certainly the past week with the royal ceremonies and liberation day. And then: the people, Nico in the congierge office, Stefania in the executive lounge. A great location, 15 minutes walk from the museums or from south railway station. Departure brings instant nostalgia, only compensated by the knowledge that the next destination is home. Thank you Roberto and team!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear robert_bos53,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a true pleasure to read that the Hilton Amsterdam has become a second home for you.
Thank you for your kind words regarding Nico and Stefania as it is the aim of our team members to strive for quality and service excellence. We will definitely share your compliments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam makes a perfect base for exploring all Amsterdam has to offer. It is located in the residential South surrounded by many attractions such as Museum Plein, Vondel Park, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. The tram station is a couple minute walk from the hotel.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we sincerely look forward into welcoming you back in your home away from home.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the nicest Hiltons where I've stayed. The room was spacious for a European hotel and the furniture was modern and comfortable. There was a nice pillow selection and the bed was also comfortable. The bathroom was clean and featured several nice amenities - a deep tub, large and soft towels, and an adjustable showerhead so that someone tall like myself can get their head wet. Every part of the hotel was also very clean and well maintained.

I enjoyed the location a great deal, as you're a two-minute walk to Vondel Park and ten minutes through the park puts you right at the Van Gogh Museum. There are several nice restaurants within a short walk of the hotel if you dont' want to trek downtown. It's also a two-minute walk to the tram that takes you into the heart of Amsterdam with a ten minute tram ride. The trams are safe, clean, and operate regularly. This way you can enjoy the bustle of downtown Amsterdam, yet come home to sleep in a peaceful location.

Service was exceptional at all areas of the hotel. From check-in to the bellman, everyone was friendly and tried to make my visit exceptional, which it was. One of our suitcases had a slightly broken handle and the bellman fixed it (without being asked) before bringing it up to our room. When I return to Amsterdam, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear carl0086,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay. We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our team members and cleanliness of the hotel. The aim of our team members is to strive for quality and service excellence. We will gladly share your compliments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam makes a perfect base for exploring all Amsterdam has to offer. It is located in the residential South surrounded by many attractions such as Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. Indeed the Vondel Park is a few minute’s walk from the hotel.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.