We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired yet acceptable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #53 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Tired yet acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very dated rooms. Great canal view in a lovely area. Location was fine if you like walking or catching the tram. Staff were perfect. Great breakfast with champagne and pancake trolley , was a nice touch.Executive lounge was pleasant. Nice change of pace from the inner city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Wilhelmina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the canal view and location of the hotel.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential and exclusive South of Amsterdam while the city centre is easily accessible via tram. Another option is to walk to the city centre, which takes approximately 20-25 minutes with many attractions on its way.

We thank you for complimenting our team members. The aim of our team members is to strive for service excellence and to constantly exceed guest expectations.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet including our champagne and our pancake trolley offering.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    553
    179
    64
    28
See reviews for
201
676
99
457
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in November 2012. Check in was not till the afternoon, but we arrived early and they allowed us to check in straight away which was very convenient. Rooms were comfortable with a view of the canal and staff polite and helpful. The hotel is on the outskirts of the city, but in a pleasant location, and it is only a five minute walk along a canal overlooking exclusive properties to reach the tram stop(7.5 euros a day). The concierge was very helpful, giving us a map of the city and suggestions of things to do. Leidesplein is a good place to eat with many restaurants. The breakfast was very pleasant, with a selection of bacon, sausage, eggs etc, but our highlight was a cheerful chef who came round with wonderful hot pancakes and chocolate sauce and kept plying us with bubbly for breakfast. He really made it an enjoyable experience. The only downside was that our room was near to the lift, which was very noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear yvette741,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read about your experience at our hotel and that you enjoyed our canal view rooms.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential South of Amsterdam while it is at walking distance from exclusive shopping streets, the famous Museumplein and Vondel Park whereas the city centre is easily accessible via tram.

It is a pleasure to hear about your enjoyable breakfast experience and that our “cheerful chef” in the breakfast room contributed in making the difference.

Our team members do their utmost to deliver high quality service and it will be my pleasure to share your kind words with them.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedera, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I'm staying in this hotel now , I left my room in the morning and we came back around 17:00 and nobody cleaned our room . After I asked to do so they asked us to go out for 20 min so they will do it . They finished after less than 15 so you can understand nobody cleaned nothing ....

Second because its 5stars hotel you charge 27 euro per day for wifi - are you crazy , it's basic service that mostly given for free

Sorry for choosing this hotel

Amit

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Amit,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that our Housekeeping team did not meet your expectations. Our rooms should indeed get cleaned every day and we apologize for this inconvenience and have discussed it with our team members. However, the daily cleaning of each room does not take longer than 15 minutes as it does not include a bed sheet change. This is done every three days due to sustainability reasons but if the guest wishes it can be requested daily.

We would like to inform you that our hotel will offer free internet in all public areas of the hotel by the end of January.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel's location has been subjected to debate over and over again. The location is one of the reasons I chose this hotel. We completed our third stays over, say, five years and each time this hotel offered good service, quality room, an elegant atmosphere and -yes- a convenient location in a friendly, urban, tranquille neighbourhood next to public transport (streetcars). The railway station Amsterdam Zuid (four tram stops) offers great value when coming from Schiphol airport or traveling to other destinations in the Netherlands.
Staff has been top notch, some of it went out of their ways. Breakfast experience was great. Room rates can be exorbitantly high, so I would wait until they are reasonable enogh.
I am looking forward to coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Zurich,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoy the good service of our team members, the quality of the room, the elegant atmosphere within the hotel, and our location.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by beautiful canals and exclusive shopping streets. In the South of Amsterdam is also the business district as well as the RAI Congress Centre while the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall are just at walking distance from the hotel.

The city centre is easily accessible via tram or a 20 min walk through the beautiful exclusive neighbourhood with many local restaurants and bars. The railway station Amsterdam Zuid makes it convenient to arrive from the airport as well.

Thank you for being a loyal customer at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in early December 2012, and we couldn't have been happier with it! I followed the advice of other reviewers and contacted the hotel in advance to reserve a room on a high floor with a canal view. I am a Gold HHonours member, and we were upgraded to a lovely room with a wonderful view over the city!

I have to make particular mention of the excellent service we received. The staff were extremely helpful and spoke flawless English! They went out of their way to help and really made us feel very special during our stay.

The hotel is a little outside the city centre, it must be said, and unless you like to walk, you might want to take a tram into town to go sightseeing. The hotel also has a bike rental service, which we didn't take advantage of this time, but which we thought was a nice touch!

Overall, a great experience! I would definitely recommend it and will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance and ask them to reserve you a room on a high floor with a view of the can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear GannyGirl,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read about your great experience and that you enjoyed the upgrade to a nice room with a wonderful city view.

Our team members appreciate your kind words regarding the excellent service and that they contributed to a nice stay at our hotel. The team members take great pride in service delivery and do their utmost to deliver high quality and to make our guests feel special.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and exclusive shopping streets. The city centre is easily accessible via public transport or a longer walk through the beautiful Vondel Park.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
410 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is around 10 minutes taxi drive from Amsterdam central trainstation ( Taxi cost around 20 EUR ) in a litlle bit remote but very nice area. If you want to go to the city for shopping you have to walk a little bit ( around 30minutes ) through very nice duch streets and parks so all is fine. I would say that the location is brilliant. Not to far out and not to much in.

The service is friendly and attentive so there is absolutely nothingt to moan about this. The rooms look like from the early 80s and need a urgend refreshing. Be aware of the mini-bar. It is an automatic one so if you remove an item even if you not consume it you have to pay for it. Internet in the room is very expensive ( 22-25EUR per day ) but working well. Minibar and restaurant prices are very high, higher than in a lot other 5 star houses I stayed in. The breakfast is as usual for Europian hotels much less choice comparing to houses in South East Asia for example, but again the service is perfect and the staff pampers you as much as you want to,

The bar is little bit old style and prices are ridiculous, 8,50EUR for a pint of Heinecken is in my opinion a ripp off and very very close to prices in Singapore where alcohol is expensive anyway. There is no smoking in the hotel - they even not have a cigar lounge, so you need to get into the cold if you want to smoke.

All in all is this a good choice for the first stay in Amsterdam if you not want to stay in one of the small boutique house with steap stairs. In my opinion this place has excellent staff ( housekeeping was so lala by the way )and a good location but needs an urgent refreshing design and renovation upgrade if it wants proceed to compete with newer standard hotels as all looks like it still stucks in the 80s.

Taxi to the airport is 35 EUR.

Room Tip: get one with a view on the canal so you have a nice view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear slonik_on_your,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location and service at our hotel.

Our team members take great pride in service delivery and appreciate your kind words regarding the perfect and attentive service.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by exclusive shopping streets, which differ from the ones in the city centre. Furthermore, the famous Museumpein, Royal Concert Hall as well as the Vondel Park are at walking distance from the hotel.

We are sorry to hear that the design of the rooms was not to your satisfaction and apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced concerning our housekeeping team members. The hotel is indeed a non-smoking hotel including cigars.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary over New Years Eve. Booked as I am a hilton gold member and the reviews were good on tripadvisor.
We got upgraded to an executive suite on the 7th floor - room 701. Corner room with a stunning canal view - definitely worth paying for. Disappointed the shower is over the bath, I do like my hotel rooms with a separate shower but this was a small niggle.
We booked dinner in Robertos for NYE/ wedding anniversary and it was wow! Mix up on the wine package and we had asked for an intimate table which was not initially given but we did get moved. I have to say it was worth the money, €150, as they opened up the executive lounge after 11.15pm exclusively for restaurant guests. Awesome! What a view of the fireworks over the city and an excellent atmosphere..! Very, very highly recommend for NYE.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the city through a beautiful residential neighbourhood, with some lovely shops and restaurants. Make sure your walk into the city includes P C hooftstraat, Amsterdams answer to Bond Street, London. We loved the walk into the city everyday but the weather was kind to us. I can imagine if it was raining it would be a bind, but the tram stop is only 300 yards away and the hotel sell 1 day tickets. My tip would be to buy a 3 day ticket if there for 3 days though as more cost effective. The hotel is located between the city and the airport so taxis are cheaper. It cost us €35 and the hotel will organise so please contact them.
Breakfasts fantastic and the staff are incredibly attentive.
Anne franks house is a must - book your tickets online as there is a massive queue otherwise! Do venture out from the main area of Amsterdam and visit the 9 streets - de Negen straatjes - what a beautiful area.
I have to say we loved the walk back every evening too, stopping at one of the local residential restaurants on the way.. We were glad to get away from the hustle and bustle of amsterdam.

Room Tip: Get a canal view and suite if you can afford it. 701 was lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear wanderingstarsx2,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear about your positive stay during your wedding anniversary and New Year’s Eve. It was our aim to create an excellent atmosphere and unique experience during New Years Eve and are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Our awarded Roberto’s Restaurant is known for exclusive Italian dishes of high quality.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the canal view from your room while we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the shower over the bath.

We thank you for complimenting our breakfast team members, who strive for quality and service excellence and do their utmost to deliver high quality.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall while the RAI congress centre is at walking distance as well. The city centre is easily accessible via public transport or a longer walk through the beautiful neighbourhood.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Marriott Amsterdam
Marriott Amsterdam
#68 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#111 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#78 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.