We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable stay !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €160
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“memorable stay !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is one of the very best Hilton Hotels ! The staff exceeded my every expectation; just ask for something, and they'll take care of it!! (usually within minutes). The rooms are great, the restaurant is incredible, and the waitstaff friendly & professional. The hotel is located in an upscale residential area, so it's very quiet, and not in an immediate area of restaurants, fast food places, & tourist shops. But, it is an easy 15-20 minute walk to the Van Gogh Museum, etc, and all the activities. The local tram has a stop about 300 yards from the hotel, so you can get around the city easily. (cab service is always available as well; the concierges will take care of any travel that you need). Like most of Europe, tipping is not expected. This hotel also has great marble bathrooms, with large soaking tubs; bathrobes & slippers are provided as well. Can't wait to return...

Room Tip: The canal view rooms are worth the extra cost !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Stan E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our rooms including bathroom, restaurant and location of the hotel.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential South of Amsterdam and is at walking distance of the famous Museumplein, Royal Concert Hall and the beautiful Vondel Park. The city centre is easily accessible via tram or a longer walk through the Vondel Park.

We are honoured that you consider our Hilton as one of the very best and appreciate your compliments regarding our team members. The aim of our team members is to strive for quality and service excellence and constantly exceed guest expectations.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our awarded restaurant, which offers exclusive Italian dishes and excellent wines.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    399
    129
    44
    21
See reviews for
133
508
76
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

When I was told we were going to stay in the Hilton Amsterdam when in town for a wedding, I rolled my eyes and would have preferred to hear that we were staying at the Hotel de l'Europe. I stayed in the Hilton on a business trip a number of years ago and was less than impressed. Well, what a change. Fantastic staff, excellent breakfast, and a FAB room (ask for a water view, unless you want to look at the parking lot). The hotel is not in the center, but well worth it. Fab terrace in the summer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Berlineric1963,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us and that you were satisfied with the room and the beautiful canal view.

The aim of our team members is to strive for quality and service excellence and constantly exceed guest expectations. We appreciate your kind words regarding our team members.

It is a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the room and the beautiful canal view.

We also like to thank you for complimenting us on our breakfast buffet with a great variety of fresh products.

The terrace is indeed one of the hotel’s highlights during the summer. The Hilton Amsterdam is next to a beautiful canal in the residential and exclusive South of Amsterdam. The famous Museumplein as well as the beautiful Vondel Park are at walking distance from the hotel. The city centre is easily accessible via tram.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Hilton Amsterdam is an older hotel. However, that creates a quaintness that adds to the charm. The property has done an excellent job maintaining the history of the hotel while not allowing it to feel old and run down. It is situated on one of the canals; unfortunately the weather was not conducive for a boat ride, but the view was quite nice. It requires a slight walk to the trolley station for a quick ride into the city center. The bell staff offered an umbrella, which was greatly appreciated! Dinner at the Italian restaurant on property was exceptional, although expensive. The staff throughout they stay were very friendly and accommodating. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear PirateLA40,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We highly appreciate your positive words regarding our service and quality.
The aim of our team members is to strive for quality and service excellence and constantly exceed guest expectations.

We also like to thank you for complimenting us on our exceptional dinner at our awarded Roberto’s Restaurant. We take great pride in offering exclusive products and quality from Italy combined with excellent service.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the canal view from the hotel as well as the monumental building and famous history.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall while the RAI congress centre is at walking distance as well. The city centre is easily accessible via public transport.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My bf and i spent 2 nights in hilton and received the best service ever. Had a really refreshing breakfast with lots of varieties at roberto's and staff were really friendly and helpful. Definitely a 5 star service. We also got upgraded to a executive suite for free which is amazing. The hotel is close to vondelpark but quite far from the city centre, would need to take a tram everywhere... unfortunately the weather has been rainy towards the end of the year and made it harder to travel everywhere. Taxi from hotel to dam square costs around 20 euros.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear epictravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We highly appreciate your positive words regarding our service and quality.
The aim of our team members is to strive for quality and service excellence and constantly exceed guest expectations.

We also like to thank you for complimenting us on our refreshing breakfast buffet with a great variety and helpful team members. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the upgrade to the Executive Suite.
We do take pride in offering a good variety of fresh products, offering the perfect start into a new day.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential but exclusive South of Amsterdam. It is surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall while the RAI congress centre is at walking distance as well. The city centre is easily accessible via public transport including a trip of approximately 10 minutes.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is excellent overall.

Location - it's located about a 10min tram ride from the city 'centre' but there are wonderful cafes and restaurants a 5 min walk from the hotel. Very quiet, on the canal, safe, beautiful location.

Room - we stayed on the 9th floor with a gorgeous view of the canal. The room wasn't huge but the bed was enormous and very very comfortable. Big tv, air conditioning, complimentary shower gel, shampoo etc. Very clean bathroom with bathrobes - everything you would expect is there.

Breakfast - huge selection of food, all fresh, all tasty. Lovely staff offering champagne, strawberry smoothies! All very good.

There were a couple of things we did expect though for the amount of money we paid - internet is 9 Euros for 24 hours, with no option to have internet for any less than a whole day. When so much money is spent already for 3 nights at this hotel we would expect complimentary internet (at least in the lobby of the hotel if not in our room). There are plenty of places around the city though with free wifi so that's not a probem. If you want to book things or check availability before setting out, it is annoying not having complimentary internet in the hotel.

Overall, excellent stay with great staff. The hotel restaurant downstairs served us dinner even though we arrived after 10pm, they still welcomed us with open arms and given the fact the kitchen was ready to close and the staff were clearing up, the atmosphere was still good and staff were ever so friendly.

Would recommend this hotel, and will be staying here on our next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room with canal view is excellent. Slept with the blinds open as the view is fantastic night and day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Venus000,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely pleased to read about your excellent stay and your recommendation.
It is a pleasure to hear that you felt very comfortable at your room including all facilities and amenities.

Our team members take great pride in service delivery and appreciate your kind words regarding the service and quality.

We are delighted to hear about your breakfast and dinner experience at our awarded Roberto’s Restaurant. The restaurant offers a great variety of fresh products and we are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by the famous Museumplein and at walking distance from exclusive shopping streets, restaurants and bars. The city centre is easily accessible via tram.

We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced concerning the internet facilities. We have discussed this with our team and can inform you that as of the end of January we will offer free internet in all public areas of the hotel.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I travelled to Amsterdam for the 4th time in my life and stayed with my wife and small child for a long weekend. I must say that my earlier stays in Amsterdam were not very pleasant, as I dont like living in a subway station. Just to clarify, I stayed in top notch hotels near the railway station. My friend advised us to stay in the Southern parts and avoid the central station area. Best advice in a long time. I couldnt believe the time we had, and what a festive mood we were in, the southern and museum areas are beutiful. I really liked it this time and Hilton Amsterdam had a lot to do with it. It is relatively close to the airport. You get conveniently everywhere with a tram, 2 station choices near the hotel, just 5 mins of walk. Easy access everywhere with the trolly. This was one of top Hilton experiences. A nice executive loung was well enjoyed. The staff was friendly. We got a nice upgrade and had a Christmas tree in our room, and a spectacular view. The hotel restaurant was not cheap, but service, food and breakfast was excellent. I can recommend this hotel. If it werent for the fact that we had to move from our room due to a water leakage, or thats what they said, just to find someone else living in our room 2 hours later, the experience would have been 5 star. We enjoyed ourselves so much, that even that didnt matter, nor the fact that the concierge reserved us a table at a nearby restaurant for the last evening, but the restaurant denied ever getting any call.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear samauto1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read about your experience at our hotel. It is an honour for us that we could contribute to one of your best Hilton experiences as well as one of the best experiences you had in Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the view from your room as well as our Executive Lounge and that our awarded Roberto’s Restaurant was to your satisfaction including dinner and breakfast.

Our team members appreciate your kind words regarding the service, as they do their utmost to deliver high service and quality.

We apologize for the fact that you had to switch your room because of water leakage but at this moment we can no longer check why your former room was occupied so quickly again after the repair. We are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Moreover, our concierge team members are very trustworthy and do have the best advices and information about Amsterdam, therefore we take your comment very seriously and have discussed it with our team.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this hotel for my now fiancée and her family to stay over the Christmas period from 23rd - 27th December this year. It was also a very special occasion as my partner turned 30 on 24th December.
We booked for the Christmas Day, buffet brunch that was served in the diamond ball room, and reserved this prior to arrival by email.
Upon arrival at the hotel, we checked in and were delighted to be upgraded to use the executive lounge. This was on the 10th floor and the 360 panoramic views were amazing all around the city.
We had two rooms 615 and 614 that were close to each other as requested, 615 had a lovely view over the canal and 614 had a city view that was equally impressive.
The lobby was decorated with a lovely christmas tree and made the hotel feel very festive. The hotel is situated on an exclusive street in Appollolaan that backs onto a lovely canal.
All the hotel staff were very attentive and made us feel at home during our stay. Breakfast was excellent and was served in Robertos restaurant that was lovely. The waiting staff are amazing especially the lovely Latvian girl who's name escapes me but always had a smile on her face and made our breakfasts memorable.
As previously memntioned it was my partners 30th birthday on the 24th and upon our return to the room a lovely birthday cake and chocolates had been left in the room! Such a nice gesture.
The Christmas Day brunch was excellent! From start to finish, being greeted with a glass of prosseco in reception then being shown thought to the Diamond ball room. The food was plentiful and lovely. The accompanying wine worked well also and again was free flowing.
The atmosphere was amazing and I took the opportunity to propose to my now fiancée on the side of the canal, that was perfect! And memorable,
Overall I really do not have anything bad to say about this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay somewhere in Amsterdam but not too close to the city, I have already even enquired about booking this hotel for our wedding day. A true Hilton faultless experience.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault room 615, canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear MikeFaulkner76,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an extensive review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to read about your positive and memorable stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the view from the Executive Lounge and rooms. Our team members take great pride in service delivery and quality and appreciate your kind words regarding the service and atmosphere.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas days at our hotel including the decoration and brunch as well as our excellent breakfast at Roberto’s and the birthday cake surprise.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and congratulations to you and your fiancée while we look forward to welcoming you back on your wedding day.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.