We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #50 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thank you to the lovely staff at Roberto's restaurant at breakfast each morning. In particular Liene ( hope I spelt that correctly) who had the lovliest smile and cheerful manner and simply could not do enough. It made a wonderful start to the day! No swimming pool was a big disappointment!!

Room Tip: Ask for canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Joanna_s_c,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to read your kind words about our team members. Our team members take great pride in service delivery and do their utmost to ensure high quality and guest satisfaction at all times. We would like to thank you for your compliments and have shared these with our team members.

The Hilton Amsterdam does not have a swimming pool, however the Health Club offers facilities such as fitness equipment, a sauna and steam room.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    460
    148
    54
    23
See reviews for
156
576
81
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hilton Amsterdam is not a bad hotel at all. It is in a very silent neighbourhood quite far away to the Central Train Station and not so close to the city center. So if you are in Amsterdam to party, I would definitely not recommend it. But if you are in for some nice walk among beautiful cottages, Hilton has surely a lot to offer. I remember returning to the hotel at 2am on saturday night and the revolving doors were all blocked, we had to wait for someone from reception to come and open the door for us to enter the hotel lobby. Rooms are just OK, Hilton had those cheesy notes for us saying we could call them if we need any soap, shaving cream, toothpaste etc. Why not put them there in the first place? Also hairdryer could only be operated in the bedroom, not in the bathroom for there was no suitable socket for it there...safety precaution maybe?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sedat O,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you like our hotel and rooms and that you enjoyed the beautiful neighbourhood of the Hilton Amsterdam. The hotel is indeed located in the South of Amsterdam which is a residential area and in walking distance to the Museumplein, RAI congress centre and exclusive shopping streets. The city centre is easily accessible via tram or a longer but enjoyable walk.

Thank you for your comment regarding the room amenieties. In order to stay sustainable we offer the extra amenities upon request. Every bathroom in our hotel has a shaver socket and a standard socket with a protection cover. The second allows our guests to use the hairdryer in the bathroom.

The revolving doors are indeed closed during the night due to security reasons for our guests and team members.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is well located, with the bus out the front or tram only a block away. We mostly used the tram, but walked a couple of blocks and down through the park one day which was very pleasant. Our arrival was a little soured as we flew in very early from a 14 hour flight, arriving at the hotel around 8 am. We had to wait until mid afternoon for our rooms to be ready or pay another full night's fare if we wanted a room earlier. We found one lady at reception was quite rude. On the other hand, the concierge staff were so helpful with maps and travel tips. The breakfast room and staff were also good to deal with. Internet access was expensive - the standard these days is free wifi

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Darryl D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as our breakfast and concierge service. Our team members do their utmost to deliver the best quality and we are sorry to hear how you experienced our front desk team members.

Check-in time is at 14:00. Early check-in is subject to availability on the day of arrival, and can only be guaranteed by pre-booking you room from the evening before. On the day of your arrival, hotel occupancy did not allow for an early check-in.

The hotel is located in the residential South of Amsterdam and is surrounded by exclusive shopping streets as well as the fomous Museumplein. The city centre is indeed easily accessible via tram, which passes many main attractions such as the royal Concertgebouw.

We thank you for you feedback regarding our internet service. We have discussed it within our team for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights back in April and can say that both the location and the hotel are very good. It is a nice walk into the city center, as this is a walking city..... Or take the Tram if you’re not up for the 20 minutes surrounded by spectacular architecture. It is a great walk through a park area to get to the center from this location. I've been coming to AMS for 20 years now, and as I get older a hotel outside of the Dam area is my preference.

The staff was great and we had some fun at check in with a new person at the hotel. She was just learning about the HH program and benefits extended etc. The person training her was right next to her and guided her when needed. Very professional and fun interaction on checkin, as we discussed the breakfast and lounge options. I believe front desk people need to have great personalities as this is where my stay begins. Points for this...

I absolutely love the breakfast downstairs, the eggs benedict are just phenomenal. Also, the club lounge with the 360 views is truly great. Wish we could still walk outside on the roof, but we understand why it’s closed. Still one of the BEST benefits you could ask for in Amsterdam, as panoramic setting is unrivalled from other hotels. Book an executive room for club benefits, well worth the price of admission. The lounge is small, but that cant be changed…so enjoy! I would say this is a great couple’s hotel; although I was in town on business…next time will be leisure. If your Hilton person, this is your spot!

I was upgraded to the Executive level and found the rooms to be very nice and extremely large by Amsterdam standards.
Peaceful setting within minutes of the Hustle and Bustle when you want.

PS, I get annoyed when I read expectations of Upgrades in previous reviews. Only complain if the hotel isn’t full and then maybe it’s appropriate. This hotel is usually full and I assure you that it has more than its share of Diamonds to accommodate first, as this isn’t a leisure only location.

Apollolaan, you didn’t miss a step with this Diamond and I will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Club rooms.....get breakfast included
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear AStraveln,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay at our hotel. The convenient location of the hotel enables our guests to enjoy a quiet and exclusive neighbourhood, whilst the city centre is easily reachable by tram. The hotel is indeed surrounded by spectacular architecture and other main attractions such as the Museumplein and exclusive shopping streets.

All team members at Hilton Amsterdam take great pride in service delivery and quality and we are glad to hear that you experienced it in the same way and give your compliments further to our team.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet with the variety of fresh products as well as the view from our Executive lounge. The Executive Lounge is a cozy place, only accessible for guests staying in the executive rooms or suites and offers a private and relaxing atmosphere during the day.

We highly appreciate your kind words about our very nice and extremely large rooms as well as your comment about our upgrade policies.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed for one night in August 2012. We had a night in Amsterdam before moving on to The Hague. We choose this hotel above the Doubletree by the station due to price. Normally this seems an expensive hotel but we got a good price so we gave it a go. I am fortunate to be a Diamond Hilton Honors member it made sense to make use of the fact this hotel has an Executive Lounge too. We were upgraded to an Executive room over looking the canal on a high floor so we had a great view across the city to the old town. The hotel is older than most Hiltons I have stayed in but it's modernised and has a grand open entrance and reception area. It's a very stylish hotel. The Executive Lounge was different than I have been before on top of the hotel in a glass sided room. It was small and I can image at rush hour for breakfast in the morning it may be to crowded, but it was fine for us on this particular occasion. We had breakfast in the main breakfast area and we could not fault the choose and quality. The location of the hotel is a bit out of the main city areas but we used the tram to get to the main station and worked our way back to the hotel via the main tourist areas so don't let this put you off this hotel.

The highlight to me was a concert in the gardens over looking the canal. We had a drink at the outside bar and watched a short Opera on a warm summers night. It was a real memory on a lovely summers evening.

Overall I liked this hotel and would recommend this place to anyone who is considering a stay in Amsterdam. The John Lennon and Yoko references mean this hotel has a history. We are glad we choose the Hilton Amsterdam as it was good value and the Beatles sung about it so can't be bad.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sfran10536,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We highly appreciate your positive words about the Hilton Amsterdam as a loyal Diamond Hilton Honor member.

Our hotel is a monumental building with rich history. We strive to maintain the modern design and unique style. The modern interior of John & Yoko suite was designed by Yoko Ono and our Half Moon Lounge, with a view over the canal, was designed by famous Ralph Lauren.

The Executive Lounge offers complimantary breakfast and a wide range of drinks and snacks throughout the day. Only guests staying at the executive rooms and suites have access to the Executive Lounge, which allows having a quiet and peaceful breakfast in the morning. In addition to that, it is indeed possible to enjoy a great breakfast variety at our Roberto’s Restaurant.

It is a pleasure to read that the Grachtenfestival including the concert in our garden was one of the highlights of your stay.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam while it is indeed a short tram ride to the city centre. The location offers very exclusive shopping streets and is close to the famous Museumplein.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Amsterdam Hilton. The accommodations were great, large room with a nice balcony. The staff was friendly and the executive lounge added a nice extra touch to the stay. The hotel was located near the museums and transportation. It was also easy to walk from the hotel to the historic district. It’s a beautiful walk that you can do leisurely in under an hour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear bluegumbo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to hear about your wonderful stay and friendly assistance from our team members. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the accommondation as well as your room including the balcony.

Our Executive Lounge is indeed a nice extra touch for guests and offers a beautiful panoramic view over the city.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the exclusive South of Amsterdam, surrounded by the Museumplein while the city centre is easily accessible via public transport or by taking a pleasant walk.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here on my Birthday last year and the place was excellent. Not very close to the city center and a little tricky to find at first, but a good spot and right off a tram line. Loved the rooftop area where you could have a cup of coffee and breakfast. The view from my room was amazing. Make sure that you face the city and you won't regret it. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Travel1776,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read about your excellent stay at our hotel, we hope it made your birthday really special. Indeed, the hotel is located in the Southern area of Amsterdam, easily reachable by different tram lines. The hotel is within walking distance to the famous Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum and nearby the main entrtainment area of Leidseplein.

While having a hot cup of coffee or delicious snacks in our Executive Lounge on the rooftop, our guests can enjoy a panoramic view on the whole city.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.