We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #50 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hilton Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Hilton Amsterdam September 10-14. The hotel is located away from the noise of the city, but it is very accessible by two different tram lines. We stayed on the Canal Side--wonderful view. We had the buffet breakfast each morning--the buffet was awesome, but you could also order from the kitchen. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend. This was our second time to stay in this location.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the canal side, the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear tex12345,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted about your recommendation and kind words regarding our hotel. It is very important for us to have guests who feel comfortable in our clean rooms and who have a great breakfast experience. Especially the rooms on the Canal Side have a wonderful view and show Amsterdam from another, very beautiful perspective.

The hotel is indeed located in a residential neighbourhood in the South of Amsterdam while the centre is easily accessible by tram. This area offers short walks to the Museumplein, RAI congress centre and many exclusive shopping streets.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    459
    148
    54
    23
See reviews for
156
574
81
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Everything is top notch. We got to the hotel early about 9:00 AM. of course the room wasn't ready. As Diamonds we went to the lounge to wait. Our room was ready by 9:30 AM. We secured an 8th floor canal side room. The front desk staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

Other posts have said this hotel is out of the way. While it is not "city center" it is in a great area. Amsterdam is compact enough so it was a non issue. A 5-10 minute tram ride will put you anywhere in the tourist area. The room was good sized by European standards, nice bathroom & products.

The terrace cafe is a delight, it overlooks the canal. Good drinks and food. I read reports of how small the lounge is, it is on the smaller side; but, never felt cramped.

The Hilton rents bikes, this is a great way to feel like a local!

Room Tip: Try to get a canal side room; otherwise you could be in any city anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Latty,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and rooms including products and services.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed in a great area and shows the exclusive South of Amsterdam with many shopping streets and restaurants while it is in walking distance to the Museumplein. The hotel is located in a quiet area and the city centre is, as you mentioned, just a short tram ride.

To feel as a local and to see more of the city, it is indeed a great opportunity to rent a bike at our hotel. Furthermore, our terrace at the canal is one of the hotel’s highlights while the Half Moon Lounge is another highlight during cold days due to the fire place.

Thank you for being a loyal diamond guest and for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam while we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMSTERDAM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

poor luxury at affordable prices.
the hilton was first class the breakfast the serviceand the drink were outstanding we wioll be coming back soon to stay when we rent our house out again it was like living at home but with servents not disrespecting my wonderful husband lol

Room Tip: roms out the back are quetier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Murial m,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased about your kind words regarding our hotel and service. Our team members do their best to deliver high quality and a unique guest experience. It is important for us to give our guests the feeling to live at home and we are glad you experienced that.
Furthermore, the hotel delivers first class including an outstanding breakfast and service just as you mentioned it.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have to say that a stay here is living the dream! We booked 2 rooms here for 2 nights following a 12 day cruise of the Baltic. We chose this Hilton for its location, and we were not disappointed. I emailed with Tessa (front desk) and Anton and Danny (concierge) weeks before, and they always responded quickly and with answers to my questions. We had the concierge arrange taxi service from the port to the hotel, and our driver was there waiting for us. When Martin brought our bags to our room, he pointed out city areas outside our window so we could get our bearings. It was a short, delightful walk to the Van Gogh through a lovely residental neighborhood. Quick tram (short walk) to the central part of the city and less than 20 minutes to the airport. We did use Hilton Honors points, so have a free room was just icing on the cake! Every single staff member with whom we came in contact was exceptional. Doorman, front desk, concierge, breakfast room - each and every person treated us like family, but with the additional professionalism that we've come to enjoy with Hilton. When Martin brought our bags to our room, he pointed out city areas outside our window so we could get our bearings. Danny and Nico always provided specific directions for our day, and asked about it when we returned. Tessa had a birthday cake delivered to my college roommate next door, and that was such a nice treat. Robes and slippers, bathroom amenities - I could have stayed there forever! Gio was delightful as he showed me John and Yoko's room, and was so very patient as I took photos - a touristy thing to do, but hey, I may never pass this way again... We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear armadia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted about your kind words regarding our hotel and team members. We will give your compliments further to our team which is doing its best to deliver the greatest quality and guest satisfaction. We are very pleased to hear that every single team member met you expectations and that they could contribute to an exceptional and extraordinary stay.

The location indeed offers short walks to the Museumplein and is a residential neighbourhood in the South of Amsterdam. This area offers very exclusive shopping streets as well as restaurants and bars while it is very easy and fast to get to the city centre by tram.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay including our bathroom amenities and a visit of the John & Yoko suit which is indeed a very special room.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The property is quiet and spacious. The price to pay for that however is that it's in Amsterdam South. Walking distance from the South station -- businesses, banks and law firms. So convenient and pleasant. Good jogging routes. Renovated and comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast and the Italian restaurant in the hotel was particularly good.

Room Tip: Higher floors better view. Choose the canal side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear JamesinGeneva,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel and the location. Indeed the Hilton Amsterdam is in walking distance from the South station and several tram stations. It is recommendable to enjoy South Amsterdam which offers good jogging routes, very exclusive shopping streets and which is very close to the Museumplein.

We are pleased to hear that you felt comfortable at our hotel rooms and enjoyed our breakfast menu as well as our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. It is located in a lovely area that is primarily residential. There are shops and restaurants located a few blocks away and 2 different lines of public transportation to the city center are accessible via a short walk (3 blocks for one line; 5 blocks for the other line). The ride to Central Station is 25 minutes via the shortest line. A couple times we walked from the Van Gogh Museum to our hotel in about 15 minutes.

The exterior of this hotel is not at all appealing but the inside is beautiful. Besides our room with a balcony (which was otherwise quite ordinary), my favorite spot (and where we spent most of our time when at the hotel) was the wonderful, relaxing garden terrace that has theater-style seating facing the canal. They serve food and drinks there in good weather. We dined at Roberto's for breakfast (included in our room rate), where they offered an enormous buffet with choices for every palate. The very friendly chef made the rounds greeting guests and offering mimosas (nice touch). All of the staff at the front desk and restaurants were fantastic. The two gentlemen we encountered at the concierge desk were not very friendly nor helpful to us but we researched and found answers to our questions eventually.

The only real downside of our entire stay was the Internet service. When we checked in, we received 2 codes for Internet access. We did not realize those codes were device specific and used them to connect our iPads to the Internet (the cost to pay for connecting our iPads would have been 10 Euro per day). One day during our stay, my husband had a video conference call via Skype, so we connected our computer to the Internet but could only do so by paying 28 Euro for 24 hours of Internet access. Outrageous! Why would I only have to pay 10 Euro for an iPad but 28 Euro for my computer? The worst part about paying this ridiculous fee is that we kept getting kicked off the Internet during the conference call and we could not access the Internet that night. We were was furious. I called the general manager the next day, who met with us and told us that they have had other complaints about the Internet company, and that the Hilton will be offering an alternative service when the contract expires at the end of the year. When we checked out, I noticed that we were charged for 2 days of the expensive Internet service, yet we didn't (and wouldn't) use the unreliable, exhorbitant service a second day. The front desk manager kindly removed the charge for us.

All in all, this was a fabulous stay. We had such a great time that we plan to return to Amsterdam and this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear thetravelczarina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that our hotel was to your satisfaction and we really appreciate your kind words regarding the team members, the Roberto’s Restaurant, the location and the wonderful terrace overlooking the garden and canal which is indeed a pleasant venue to enjoy the sun and a drink to relax.

We are indeed located in a residential area of Amsterdam which is close to the Museumplein, exclusive shopping streets and restaurants.
It gives us great pride to hear that the team members of the Roberto’s Restaurant and front desk were to your satisfaction as well as that you had a fabulous stay and plan to return to Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our internet facilities. We apologize for the internet problems and about the failure of your husband’s conference call. Our internet service will be replaced in the end of the year and it will be a positive change.

We also apologize that the concierge did not met your expectations. Our team does take great pride in service delivery and guest satisfaction and we are sorry that you could not take advantage from it during your stay.
We will take your comments very serious and we will discuss them for future developments.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here in August (weekend of the 11th) as we were attending the local Loveland Festival :) ( which was AMAZING!!!)
From the front of the building I wasn't too impressed to be honest.. Not really what I expected from Hilton.... But that all changed once inside :) The team on reception (lunchtime Saturday) were soooo helpful, confident, personable and considerate (especially, Martijn, the concierge) they all made our stay a superb experience!
The staff looked after us so well.. Organised our transport to and from Loveland (and gave us the hotel address cards .. Just incase the drinks flowed alittle too easily!!!)
...the next day they gave us tips for lunch and arranged our journey back to the airport... Whilst securing our luggage the whole time!
This is a truly OUTSTANDING AWESOME hotel and service is just incredible!!
I have told my husband I will stay here again please... Preferably soon!!!! :D x

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear ProudMrs,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to hear your positive words about your stay at our hotel. The team members take great pride in service delivery and we do our best to ensure quality and guest satisfaction and we highly appreciate your kind words. It makes us happy to hear that we could help you with the organisation of your trip and that we could make your stay a superb experience while you enjoyed the local Loveland Festival.

We are thankful for all compliments and calling our hotel outstanding as well as awesome and for staying a loyal customer.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.