We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Serene Setting, Fantastic Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Serene Setting, Fantastic Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. It is located in a lovely area that is primarily residential. There are shops and restaurants located a few blocks away and 2 different lines of public transportation to the city center are accessible via a short walk (3 blocks for one line; 5 blocks for the other line). The ride to Central Station is 25 minutes via the shortest line. A couple times we walked from the Van Gogh Museum to our hotel in about 15 minutes.

The exterior of this hotel is not at all appealing but the inside is beautiful. Besides our room with a balcony (which was otherwise quite ordinary), my favorite spot (and where we spent most of our time when at the hotel) was the wonderful, relaxing garden terrace that has theater-style seating facing the canal. They serve food and drinks there in good weather. We dined at Roberto's for breakfast (included in our room rate), where they offered an enormous buffet with choices for every palate. The very friendly chef made the rounds greeting guests and offering mimosas (nice touch). All of the staff at the front desk and restaurants were fantastic. The two gentlemen we encountered at the concierge desk were not very friendly nor helpful to us but we researched and found answers to our questions eventually.

The only real downside of our entire stay was the Internet service. When we checked in, we received 2 codes for Internet access. We did not realize those codes were device specific and used them to connect our iPads to the Internet (the cost to pay for connecting our iPads would have been 10 Euro per day). One day during our stay, my husband had a video conference call via Skype, so we connected our computer to the Internet but could only do so by paying 28 Euro for 24 hours of Internet access. Outrageous! Why would I only have to pay 10 Euro for an iPad but 28 Euro for my computer? The worst part about paying this ridiculous fee is that we kept getting kicked off the Internet during the conference call and we could not access the Internet that night. We were was furious. I called the general manager the next day, who met with us and told us that they have had other complaints about the Internet company, and that the Hilton will be offering an alternative service when the contract expires at the end of the year. When we checked out, I noticed that we were charged for 2 days of the expensive Internet service, yet we didn't (and wouldn't) use the unreliable, exhorbitant service a second day. The front desk manager kindly removed the charge for us.

All in all, this was a fabulous stay. We had such a great time that we plan to return to Amsterdam and this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear thetravelczarina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that our hotel was to your satisfaction and we really appreciate your kind words regarding the team members, the Roberto’s Restaurant, the location and the wonderful terrace overlooking the garden and canal which is indeed a pleasant venue to enjoy the sun and a drink to relax.

We are indeed located in a residential area of Amsterdam which is close to the Museumplein, exclusive shopping streets and restaurants.
It gives us great pride to hear that the team members of the Roberto’s Restaurant and front desk were to your satisfaction as well as that you had a fabulous stay and plan to return to Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our internet facilities. We apologize for the internet problems and about the failure of your husband’s conference call. Our internet service will be replaced in the end of the year and it will be a positive change.

We also apologize that the concierge did not met your expectations. Our team does take great pride in service delivery and guest satisfaction and we are sorry that you could not take advantage from it during your stay.
We will take your comments very serious and we will discuss them for future developments.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    650
    412
    135
    47
    21
See reviews for
143
523
78
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here in August (weekend of the 11th) as we were attending the local Loveland Festival :) ( which was AMAZING!!!)
From the front of the building I wasn't too impressed to be honest.. Not really what I expected from Hilton.... But that all changed once inside :) The team on reception (lunchtime Saturday) were soooo helpful, confident, personable and considerate (especially, Martijn, the concierge) they all made our stay a superb experience!
The staff looked after us so well.. Organised our transport to and from Loveland (and gave us the hotel address cards .. Just incase the drinks flowed alittle too easily!!!)
...the next day they gave us tips for lunch and arranged our journey back to the airport... Whilst securing our luggage the whole time!
This is a truly OUTSTANDING AWESOME hotel and service is just incredible!!
I have told my husband I will stay here again please... Preferably soon!!!! :D x

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear ProudMrs,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to hear your positive words about your stay at our hotel. The team members take great pride in service delivery and we do our best to ensure quality and guest satisfaction and we highly appreciate your kind words. It makes us happy to hear that we could help you with the organisation of your trip and that we could make your stay a superb experience while you enjoyed the local Loveland Festival.

We are thankful for all compliments and calling our hotel outstanding as well as awesome and for staying a loyal customer.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I want to first thank Andy and the rest of the staff at the hotel - they were helpful, generous, and kind.

The hotel is not within a big hustle and bustle area, but it is very scenic and all the sites are easily accessible by bus (if the driver actually makes all his stops), tram, or short walks or 10-15 minutes. We also loved some of the features in the room, such as the TV with a good menu and a full shower curtain.

Upon our late afternoon arrival I needed help calling back to the U.S. because my grandfather had passed away that morning. The executive lounge (great views by the way) was not able to connect me to the florist being used in the U.S., but they directed us to Andy at the front desk. Andy helped us make two phone calls and I was able to send the flowers since the funeral was happening the next morning. We then headed to the concierge/porter desk - we got a great map of the city, tickets for a canal tour, and a few other suggestions (you can also get a taxi to the airport too from here for a flat fee - it was the same price as the meter).

Upon our return that night, we walked into the room and were more than surprised. The staff had sent up a bottle of prosecco, strawberries, and a small cake since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary during our European trip (the Hilton in London did not do this for us). In addition, Andy had sent up a handwritten note and a small treat offering his condolences at the passing of my grandfather - that was sweet, unexpected, and more than appreciated.

The next day, we had drinks in the lounge - cozy, helpful staff, and relaxing.

It was a great way to end our trip. Thanks again Hilton Amsterdam staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear ShawnHarrison,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to hear that you were very satisfied with the hotel including the staff, location and services. We are very sorry to hear that your grandfather passed away during your stay and the whole team sends sincere condolences. We are therefore very happy that we could surprise you with a bottle of prossecco, strawberries and a cake and congratulations again for your wedding anniversary. We hope you enjoyed your trip through Europe and it is indeed advisable to take a taxi from our concierge for a flat fee.

Furthermore, it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed the view from the Executive Lounge which is located at the 10th floor as well as the concierge service and we will give your compliments to the rest of the team including Andy.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just returned from a 3-nights stay in this lovely hotel where we enjoyed sumptuous breakfast, nice spacious room with all necessary amenities.

I particularly enjoyed the great selection of food for breakfast, and I indulged in smoke salmon and cold trout every morning, together with fresh fruit - surprised that they even had lychee!

The staff at the front desk was helpful, and changed our room without fuss when we discovered that it was next to the lift and noisy as a result. It's a pity that I did not have time to enjoy the gym and swimming pool, as I was doing a lot of walking already.

The location was excellent, only a few stops away from the centre and museums by tram, which was 5 minutes walk away. If I ever go back to Amsterdam, I'd stay there again!

Room Tip: stay away from the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear globetrotter838,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, food and great service in our hotel. Indeed we try to surprise our guest with a great breakfast selection and offer an exceptional variety. We highly appreciate your compliments concerning our team members and give your compliments further to the team which is doing its best to deliver the greatest quality and guest satisfaction.
The location indeed offers a short walk to the Museumplein and the city centre is easily accessible via tram while there are very exclusive shopping streets and restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

In a comparatively tranquil area just outside of the city center, quiet rooms, wonderful beds (with an available "pillow menu", no less!). Very professional and friendly service, the little food I had was very well made (club sandwich in the bar). Stylish common areas, a sense of consistent good quality.

One issue: I was traveling with a big group (100+), and some of the rooms were not ready until late in the afternoon. The booking was done so well in advance that this should have been possible to foresee in advance at such a high-level hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the anal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Silverstring,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear you had a nice stay at our hotel and noticed the quiet location and the good quality. It is an honour for our team members to be noticed as very professional as well as friendly. We are very happy that you were satisfied with the rooms, beds and our extra services such as the pillow menu. Furthermore, we want to thank you for considering the common areas as stylish.

We apologize for the rooms that were not ready until late in the afternoon especially when the booking was done in advance. I will take you comment seriously and discuss it within the team.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in the Hilton for 2 nights. It is a great hotel. Good location, 3 minutes to a tram stop and about 10 minutes walking from museum area. Typical of Hilton hotels the staff are very accomodating and make sure you enjoy your stay. We were offered a room upgrade as we checked in but as we were spending most of the day outside chose not to take it. The room that we had originally booked was perfect. I was very impressed with the hotel restaurent, Robertos. The food is amazing and the waiters are very friendly. We ate there on both nights, it was that good! Breakfast was another highlight- there is a fantastic choice and the chef told us to ask for him on the second morning and made us a lovely surprise and served us himself. Definitely a first for me! I would highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear jessieeIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It gives us a great pleasure to read your kind words regarding our hotel and services. It is an honour for our team members to get compliments and we are happy to hear that they contributed to an enjoyable stay. Furthermore, we are glad you consider our rooms as perfect and that you were impressed by our hotel restaurant Roberto’s.

We always try to surprise our guests and deliver extra services to make it an unforgettable stay and it is great to know that you consider our breakfast as a highlight. Hilton Amsterdam is indeed in a good location near exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and the Museumplein while it is an easy and short way to the city centre by tram.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not the most appealing building from the outside but once inside, a very enjoyable stay. Rooms are a decent size with all the little extras that you would expect. If possible, request a room with a view of the canal (Ours looked out onto the car park). The breakfasts were delicious, the staff helpful and friendly and I can highly recommend an evening drink on the sloped terrace that looks onto the canal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have a much nicer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear RachB5,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read your kind comments regarding our rooms, staff and breakfast. We are glad you had a very enjoyable stay and recommend our beautiful terrace. The canal views have indeed a very nice view over the city, garden and canal.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.