We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #51 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hilton Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We had a canal view which was spectacular. all the servers were most helpful and polite. In addition the Concierge set up tours for us, but it is not explained to us that returned to the hotel will be on your own from the city center. The location although not close to the city center was in an upscale neighborhood and near trams and buses.
As Diamond Hilton member if I compare the executive lounge to other places I can to rate them like "good enough", because the assortment and service was less good than other Hilton hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Vladsh,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

I am very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as the magnificent view. Furthurmore, it gives me great pleasure to know that our waiters/waitresses contributed to your enjoyable stay. I will personally relay your positive feedback to all of them, as they will be glad to know their efforts were very much appreciated.

I am sorry to hear that you found our food assortiment at the Executive Lounge not rich enough. I have taken this comment very serious and discussed it within our team for future developments.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    497
    162
    58
    26
See reviews for
178
617
89
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallkill, NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My sister, two friends, and I stayed at the Amsterdam Hilton for five nights at the end of July. At first I was worried because the hotel is not in the central area. I worried for nothing. The Amsterdam Hilton is in a superb area with easy tram access to all sights and attractions. In addition, the hotel is in walking distance of a train station allowing for easy travel to other locations

The rooms are spotless. The breakfast buffet was most delicious. All staff members went out of their way to make us feel special.

Without a doubt, this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Try to get a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear DogLoverDebbie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

I am extremely delighted to read your very positive feedback, regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, the breakfast at Roberto’s restaurant and our Team Members. Your kind words are very much appreciated. It is our priority to make sure guests are valued and cared for.

As you have already mentioned, the Hilton Amsterdam is only short walking distance away from the museum area, where famous museums, such as Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum and Van Gogh are situated. Also, the touristic areas are easily accessible by public transportation as trams numbers 5, 12 and 24 are only 5 minutes walking distance away from the hotel. I would also like to inform you that you our concierges will be more than willing to assist you with directions and/or setting up tours prior to and during your stay.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is our favorite European hotel. It is very nicely decorated in a comfortable style and the staff couldn't be nicer and the place couldn't be cleaner. We always get the same room - I have been here many times because we always stay here. They have a great glassed in executive lounge on top with a view of old Amsterdam and the breakfasts are really nice and varied. The room is just so comfortable- we always get a jr. suite over this beautiful and restful canal below us and that side of the room is all glass, so we have a fabulous view of Old Amsterdam, the Rijkismseum and the van Gogh, as well as all the varied church steeples, not to forget the ducks, swans and boats lazily coming up the canal. The sitting area is incredibly comfortable, as well as the bed. They are always responsive to anything you want and they couldn't be nicer. We always fly from Atlanta to Amsterdam and always stay here and look forward to it. It is in an upscale, quiet neighborhood and in walking distance to the museums. They have a wonderful restaurant and great room service. You cannot go wrong with this hotel at all. You will get a GREAT night's sleep here!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on the canal. You can hardly take your eyes off of it, it is so interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Lhotse21,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.
Firstly, allow me to thank you for your loyalty and for your kind words. I am extremely glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Your kind words regarding our Italian Roberto’s Rastaurant and the Room Service are very much appreciated as well.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service and we are putting all our efforts to offer you an unforgettable stay with us.

Indeed, the view of the canal below is magnificent and when combined with the view of Old Amsterdam, it is just spectacular. I am very pleased that you stayed very satisfied with your room.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent one amazing week at the Amsterdam Hilton. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We had a canal view which was spectacular. We paid for the buffetbreakfast which consisted of a wide variety of items (English/Irish style) and you could ask for anything such as an omelet of your choice, cappuchino etc. Many times they surprised us with special items suchasprosecco one day, dutch pancakes topped with fresh berries and a selection on sauces. The chef Johnny from LA, the walking chef Arjan and all the servers were most helpful and polite. In addition the Concierge Nico set up tours for us at a moment's notice. The location although not in the epicenter was in an upscale neighborhood and near trams,trains,buses. Absolutely delightfull!

Room Tip: Rooms facing canal have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear sphsteacher,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is always our aim and ambition to offer our guests the highest standard in quality and service. I am very happy to learn about your great satisfaction with our performance, especially in terms of Roberto’s restaurant and our Team Members. It was a pleasure for me to read that you remained very happy with the breakfast.

I am proud to hear that our chefs Jonny, Arjan and our Concierge Nico managed to exceed your expectations. We do our utmost to ensure guest satisfaction at all times. Please, rest assured that I will personally pass your kind words to all of them.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I headed to Amsterdam for a fairly short vacation, and used HHonors points to book a stay at this hotel. After reading the great reviews, we knew it would be a nice property but would not be in the center of the main Amsterdam activities. Overall, we were very pleased with the property and the location. It was nice to begin and end the day in a more quiet area vs. the heavy tourist areas, and we also got the sense that we got to see a more residential area. The only drawback was that there were not many restaurants within walking distance, and they were very quiet restaurants. The tram station was about a 5 minute walk with easy connections to Centraal Station and many of the tourist attractions. It was an easy walk to Vondelpark, and a little bit longer of a walk (but not a hard walk) to Museumplein.

We arrived to a large and well kept lobby, and check-in was easy and efficient. We received an upgrade to a room with access to the executive lounge, which included breakfast (which could be taken in the lounge or in the main hotel restaurant), and access to evening drinks/appetizers in the lounge and light snacks throughout the day. Our room had a beautiful view of a large canal. It was our anniversary and we had let the hotel staff know, and they provided a tiny cake that said "happy anniversary" for us in our room that was much appreciated.

The room was large by European standards, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and they even had a pillow menu where you could see different benefits of various pillows and call down for different types if you wanted to (we didn't do that, the pillows in the room were sufficient, but it was a neat idea). The housekeeping service was attentive, had turndown service and provided more than enough of various toiletries, towels, etc.

Off of the lobby area to the back facing the canal was a patio area that was a great place to sit with a drink. We had breakfast in both the executive lounge and the main restaurant. Both were very good, with the offerings in the main restaurant being a bit more extensive. Generally, they had hot items such as scrambled eggs, sausage/bacon, various breads and pastries, cold cuts, cereals and yogurt. The breakfast staff was good in both locations, but especially attentive in the executive lounge.

The internet access at the hotel was a little spotty (it went in and out a couple of times), but was wireless and easy to get online.

We decided to take a cab back to the airport at the end of our stay and the hotel arranged a car service for 35 Euros and it was billed directly to our room, which was convenient.

Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a canal view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear tamrao,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure for us to read your nice words. We are extremely glad you enjopyed your stay at our Hotel. Indeed, the Hilton Hotel is only 15 minutes away by public transportation from the main touristic area. You also have the possibility to arrange bikes with our Concierge. That is a great opportunity to explore Amsterdam in a fun and interactive way.
Our Concierges could also advise you on some nice restaurants in the local area but also anywhere in Amsterdam.

We are glad you enjoyed both Roberto’s restaurant and the Executive lounge. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff. We hope you have experienced that our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and guest satisfaction at all times.

I would like to thank you for your loyalty and for your kind response and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Hilton Amsterdam


Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I spent our vacation in Amsterdam,we enjoyed staying at the Hilton Amsterdam very much, located in a pleasantly quiet and green area in the middle of a lovely nieghborhood,yet within short walking distance of the old city center.While we enjoyed the room &the executive lounge,we found the service to be excellent,on consistent basis.
Make sure to leave time to dine at their Italian restaurant,Roberto.
E N J O Y !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear dyacoby,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are more than pleased to read that you enjoyed the room, the Executive lounge and the service at Roberto’s restaurant. It is a great honour for us to read your kind words. Thank you for the positive comment. Your recommendation is highly appreciated.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed 1 night here. We expected more of this hotel because it was very expensive. The staff were not that good, a bit arrogant. The rooms were ok but need a good refurbishment. The location is very far from the centre. We ordered a glass of wine, the cheapest was 8 euro. We expected more from the Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Sven L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations of the hotel.

Your feedback has been shared within the team members, who take great pride in service delivery and quality and we apologize that you did not experience it during your stay.

The location is indeed in the residential South of Amsterdam, which is a short walk from the Museumplein, Vondelpark and RAI congress centre as well as exclusive shopping streets.

We have taken your comments about the prices and refurbishments very seriously and have discussed them for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.