We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Service is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #50 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hilton Service is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at this historic hotel for the weekend in Amsterdam. It was our first trip there. Upon check in, we were greeted with a doorman and offered help with our luggage. The front desk staff then checked us in swiftly and patiently answered all the questions I fired at them. The concierge was away from his desk, but the front desk staff gave us a detailed map and started making recommendations so that we could start enjoying our trip right away. We were recommended restaurants and scenic walks. We took all the advice (and the map!) and got right to work. Every recommendation panned out to be amazing and fully helped us enjoy the city. The hotel has every service you could ask for including a fitness center, but we really did not take advantage of any of these services except the concierge. The room was AMAZINGLY comfortable which was good because we were so exhausted every day from walking all over the city! We had a wonderful canal view and an enormous king size bed with a large bathroom (especially by European standards) that sported a rain shower head. There were plenty of English options on the TV also which is much appreciated. The front desk staff called us 10 minutes after we checked in to make sure the room was perfect and to see if we needed anyting else. The only negative we experienced at the hotel itself is that the internet is way too expensive. Also, we went Saturday to the outside bar overlooking the canal and sat for about 10 minutes and no one came to serve us. There were 3 people working. We were too tired to bring it to their attention so we just headed up to bed Would have been nice to have a night cap tho. The other negative is that the hotel shuttle is expensive for only being 7 miles from the airport. A taxi is a better option. Overall, we were very comfortable and happy at this hotel and with their services. The bell hop also held our bags free of charge while we ran around Amsterdam the last day. It was a great experience in a fun town! If you can afford this place (it is pricey!) stay here because its very centrally located with the musuems and park only a five minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear grkgal26

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read your positive words about our services and staff members. Also I want to apologize for the service at our Garden Terrace, rest assure I will take this into action.

Did you know that we also rent bikes at the Concierge? This is a nice way to cruise around Amsterdam and much faster than walking. In only 5 minutes you will be in the Museum district and the Leidseplein.

I just want to inform you that you can also reach the airport by public transportation. Just take the tram 24 or 5 near the hotel to Amsterdam Zuid station and from there the train to Schiphol Airport. See also for more information on our website Amsterdam.hilton.com under the section Maps and Directions.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    424
    136
    49
    21
See reviews for
147
534
79
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Excellent service room was great. Internet costs too high is the only negtive. We arrived from a 24hour flight and were very grateful to be checked in early.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear dpage52

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feedback about our internet cost. I will share this within the team, as we are now in a process to consider how to improve this service for the guests.

I am glad to hear that our Team Members could give you a room early upon your arrival, this is something we incourage when possible.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband sometimes uses this hotel, when on business, and he was keen that we spend some 'down-time' there as part of our annual vacation.
As he is a diamond member, we were very happy to be up-graded to a junior suite and to enjoy all of the privelges accorded to a HH member.
Service was first class, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was a lovely, relaxing experience. Our room had floor-to-ceiling windows that ran the full length along one wall, giving fantastic views over the canal and across to the city centre.
Breakfasts in the club lounge were very enjoyable, as was relaxing at the terrace bar on the ground floor.
The location is in an upmarket residential area; just a short walk away from a fabulous park and from stylish shops.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Well, the best room would be 702 - The infamous John Lennon suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear maythorne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind words about our facilities and services. I will share your compliments with the team members.

As a Diamond member you get complimentary free internet, 50% bonus point on the base point, a room upgrade based on availability to the next best available room type up to and including Junior Suite room, 1000 HHonors points free breakfast and guaranteed Executive lounge access.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a great hotel. We arrived early from the US on a vacation. We were able to have an early check in which was key. The front desk staff was great. The hotel provided bikes for a great day of touring the city. That is the best way around Amsterdam. Room was beautiful. Very clean, good size and very quiet. Hotel is in a very upscale area not far from the sites. Well worth the area. The hotel sits right on a canal and has outdoor bar and dining. Great! We almost stayed more downtown and glad we didn't. This provided an amazing perspective of the area. For business or pleasure this was top notch. As a Diamond member the executive lounge was great for breakfast and evening cocktails. Located on the roof it was awesome.
All around a great stay. On level with any Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. Great property.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing canal is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Adam K

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

Your words of appreciation for the Hotel make us very proud. Rest assure that I will share them with our team members and the with the front office members in particular.

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our bikes which it really is the best way to visit Amsterdam especially on a nice sunny summer day. We are indeed located on a canal where a small harbour marina is located. Our concierge can arrange the rent of a boat if you wan to take a tour of the canals by yourself.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We used the hotel as a base for a week-end stay in Amsterdam. The location is good, in a quiet residential street a short tram ride (no 5 or no 24) to the city centre, although the walk to the city via the park only takes around 20 minutes and takes you past some nice artisan neighbourhood cafes for a more authentic Dutch breakfast than the 'all singing all dancing hotel breakfast buffet'. Another top travel tip is that the quickest way to the airport is via Amsterdam Zuid rather than Amsterdam Central and works well if you want to leave your bags at the hotel whilst you make the most of your last day in the city.

The staff were very helpful and the room was of a high quality and the bed was comfortable, however, in my view, the pricing policies were rather out of date.

Yes you can get a good room rate via internet search engines, and if you are using the hotel as merely a place to rest, as we did, it is fine, but be warned:

Internet access was €28 for 24 hours if using a laptop and €9 if using a smartphone, which to me, seems rather high... especially when most cafes we visited in the city offer free wifi and if you wanted to drink the bottle of water in your room, it carried a price tag of €6.95. In our view the numerous cafes in and around the city are a much nicer way to spend your money and use the internet than paying the in room fee...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear LondonDinky,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave an extensive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with the room, location and staff of the hotel. Our team members take great pride in service delivery as well as quality and we are glad to hear that you experienced that as well.

The location of the hotel is, as you mentioned, in a quiet and residential area with exclusive shopping streets as well as restaurants and bars. The city centre is easily accessible via tram while the location of the hotel offers short walks to the Museumplein.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced concerning the pricing policy. We have taken your comments regarding the prices for the room fee and internet service very seriously and we have discussed them within the team for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend before a trade show where we moved to The American Hotel in central Amsterdam (at the companies' request). This hotel is pristine and in a lovely section of Amsterdam, quiet, beautiful shops and restaurants. The staff is attentive, the rooms lovely...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Eyecoach
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for kind wors about our team members and our rooms. I will share your compliments with the rest of the team.
The Hotel is located in the ‘Oud Zuid’ neighbourhood, which is Amsterdam finest neighboorhoud for living, shopping and dining and in vogue between the ‘Amsterdammers’.
We hope you enjoyed your stay at The American Hotel as much as you did at the Hilton Amsterdam.
Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.