We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #56 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
san diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our 2nd. time at this Hilton. The first time was only 1 night. This time it was for 5 nights.
It is a little outside the city center but you an hop a trolly around the corner. It nice to get away from the crowds. This hotel is famous because this is where John Lennon spent his honeymoon....room 702......there is a sign on the room door.
We never ate there because they seemed a little high and we wanted to experience the local restaurants.
It was my birthday and our anniversary. They sent us a bottle of champagne, fresh strawberries and a small cake. it was a really nice touch.

Room Tip: We booked on Priceline so we got a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear annebill8,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and to read your kinds words about the location of our hotel. It is very important to us that every guest will have a comfortable stay with us.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in a quiet and green neighbourhood in the south of the city centre, closely located to the renowned Amsterdam museums. The hotel is located at the canal, which offers a splendid view over the city, especially from our Executive Lounge on the top floor of our hotel.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    567
    188
    68
    28
See reviews for
213
693
102
468
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oban
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Our second trip to the Hilton Amsterdam and it did not disappoint after a wonderful first stay. It is about 20 mins drive from the airport and a little outside the centre on the banks of one of the many canals.
The centre of town can easily be reached on the excellent tram service -- choice of two -- one of which takes you past the main museums, Bols and the designer stores. The other takes you to DAM square -- both go via the flower market. A 24 hour ticket costs 7.50 euros.

We book a canal view room -- also looks over the city -- and were lucky enough to get an executive floor upgrade. The breakfast is great, the staff are great -- helpful and friendly

But hotels in Amsterdam are expensive so look for deals!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Salmon47,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your kind words regarding our rooms, the view and our Team Members.
The Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and guest satisfaction at all times.

Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in a residential area near to exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and other main congress centres. Furthermore, it is only a short walk to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

I would like to inform you that the Hilton Amsterdam features a bike rental service, which is a good and a fun alternative for public transport. Especially during spring and summer this is a great experience to discover Amsterdam.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and i travel a lot, the last hotel we stayed in was the Sofitel in Australia...maybe we were spoiled and that's why the Hilton was such a let down. Staff unfriendly and extremely unhelpful (which was a shock as previous reviews state otherwise). Reception staff couldn't even direct us in the correct direction for the markets. Room was average but clean. Wifi 9 euros for 24 hour access which lasted 4 hours each time if you were lucky, contacted reception for assistance, was transferred to their internet provider to deal with it myself, no help at all! 34 euro per night for parking! car park tiny, cars jammed us in so much that we had to climb over passenger side to get to drivers side. Room service...this was a disgrace! You would get better food from a van on the street. Orders were incorrect, food cold and tasteless and often burnt and uneatable. I contacted the hotel prior to arrival as it was my husbands birthday, i was promised that "something special" would be in the room for my husbands birthday...this didn't happen! The only plus was the location and the canal view from room. I was so disgusted by this hotel and the staff that i left a complaint letter for the Manager Roberto in the room. 1 nights room service was refunded but that's too little too late, this was only done as i asked to see a manager to complain. I would not return or recommend this hotel, a let down for Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask for canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Mr and Ms Ninos,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your review of the Hilton Amsterdam on tripadvisor.com as well as for the written note given to us during your stay.

We therefore would like to offer our sincere apology for the experience that you have had regarding the room service as well as the overall service during your stay. I understand that you have been already refunded the bill of your last room service order after we have regrettably delivered the wrong order to your room, as well as one day complimentary parking.
We have taken your comment regarding the internet quality as well as the room service food quality very seriously and discussed them within our team for future developments. We regret to hear that the way you have experienced the helpfulness of our Front Office team members did not meet your expectations.

We would also like to offer our apologies for the missing anniversary cake for your husband, we brought the cake up to your room, but you have had your ‘Do not disturb’ sign on the door. We should have delivered the cake to your room at a later point of time.

Thank you once again for taking the time to let us know how you have experienced your stay.
For any other requirement you may have, feel free to contact us directly on the below mentioned email address.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Hilton Hotel Amsterdam
Email: operations.amsterdam@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Good size rooms, ok location, for the price they should have free Internet and free access to the gym. Also to hire the bikes it is €15 per day each.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Kjmjs,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure to read your positive words regarding our hotel rooms and the location of our hotel. The Hilton Amsterdam is located in a quiet and green neighbourhood in the south of the city centre, closely located to the renowned Amsterdam museums.

I would like to inform you that the Personal Health club is an external company and therefore a fee is required. In addition, we are currently in the process of providing free a new internet service at all public areas.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The room was comfortable and the view was great. Roberto's restaurant has excellent Italian food. Having to pay to use the fitness facility was a bit penny-pinching. And 22 Euros/day to use Internet in the room is a bit high. However, what was inconvenient is the location of the hotel. You have to take a tram into city centre. The museum square is about a 10-15 minute walk and is closest to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request the canal side for a room. The other side only looks over the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Suzanne M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the view and that you experienced the Italian food in Roberto’s restaurant as excellent.

I would like to inform you that the Personal Health club is an external company and therefore a fee is required. Furthermore, we are currently in the process of providing another internet service in all public areas.

Hilton Amsterdam is located in a residential area near to exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and other main congress centres. Furthermore, it is only a short walk to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

The Hilton Amsterdam features a bike rental service, which is a good and fun alternative for public transport. Especially during spring and summer this is a great experience to discover Amsterdam. Our concierge is more than willing to assist you with this.
Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights late last February. I am a little late in writing my review, but remembered to do so when just booking another room here for the end of the year. I have only good things to say about this property. Outstanding staff, super clean rooms, well maintained, and a really nice little executive lounge on the top floor with nice views of the city. I wasn't expecting to like the Amsterdam Hilton so much...I just expected a regular city Hilton property, but instead found maybe the nicest and best run Hilton I've ever stayed at. The property is slightly outside the city center, but an easy trip in via tram. The surrounding neighborhood is very pleasant, and I actually found being outside the busy city center to be a plus. I'm looking forward to returning in December, this time with my daughter along too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear nwh7928,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely happy about you positive words about the Hilton Amsterdam and our outstanding staff. We highly appreciate that you consider our hotel to be the nicest and best run Hilton you have ever seen and thank you for your special recommendation.

The executive lounge is indeed a very nice place with a beautiful view over Amsterdam.
The hotel is located in the exclusive South of Amsterdam, surrounded by many beautiful shopping streets and the Museumplein. It is, in fact, a more residential and quiet location but a short trip via tram to the centre.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in December together with your daughter.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

What à great Welcome starting with : welcome back and congrats with your 5th stay with us.

Including a fantastic upgrade to a suite and a bottle of champagne !

Thanks for the wonderful experience and this great service!

I planned already a new weekend in this super hotel.

Regards
V

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Vincent_D_BE,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read your positive comments regarding our Team Members and our rooms.

We want to offer our guests a second home experience every time they walk into our hotel, that is why we give loyal guest something extra when they stay for their 5th, 10th, 15th etc. time in our hotel.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Marriott Amsterdam
Marriott Amsterdam
#67 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,899 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#117 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.