We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #50 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hilton Amsterdam definitely is one of top hotesl we have been. The staff are very kind and full of energy.

The breakfast is very good in a business way.

The hotel in average is very business class but it's very good for couples as well.

If you want, you can visit the John & Yoko honeymoon room. Nice experience inside the Hotel.

The location is quite good. Not in the chaotic city center, but still close enough and a walk distance from the Museum Square (Van Gogh and Rijkmuseum) and the Vondelpark. Located in a very nice borough with cute apartments buildings and houses.

With 15€ by cab you can get to the Central Station or any city amenity in downtown.

It was not 100% perfect because of the internet. It Is just an average speed with a high price. 27€ / 24 hours. Even small hotels can offer free wi fi to all the guests. With the price that you pay, the internet access should be included in room rate.

I also recommend to try to get a canal facing room. It's awesome =)

Definitely we recommend the hotel if you have a bit more money to spend and want to avoid the old and chaotic city center.

Room Tip: If you want, you can visit the John & Yoko Honeymoon room. Nice experience inside the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Bruno_e_Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and room tip of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure to read your praising words regarding the Hilton breakfast, the services and the location of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you experienced our Team Member to be very kind and full of energy. They take great pride in service delivery and do their utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times. Please rest assured I will share your comments with my team.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in a quiet and green neighbourhood in the south of the city centre, closely located to the renowned Amsterdam museums. The Hilton Amsterdam provides a splendid view over the city, especially from our Executive Lounge on the top floor of our hotel.

We are sorry to hear that the internet service did not entirely meet your approval. I would like to inform you that the Hilton Amsterdam is in the procress of providing free WiFi for all our guests in our public areas.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    427
    137
    50
    21
See reviews for
148
535
79
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

The. Staff here are so professional would only stay here well s deserved 5 star rating great staff l

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Sarah J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear your kind words regarding our Team Members. Our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times. Please rest assured I will share your comments with them.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is where John Lennon and Yoko Ono had their famous bed-in.
Situated on a canal with swans depending on the season, this is a great hotel, quiet, convenient and comfortable. The staff is always lovely to us; the bar is comfy with a fire (but the food is just so-so), the Italian restaurant on sight is phenomenal.
The best place to spend New Years' Eve--there's a party on the roof in the glassed-in area, and you can see the fireworks going off all over the city--for hours.
You can walk to the Ryksmuseum on nice residential streets in just 15 minutes--since that's nearly next door to the Van Gogh museum, the same applies. These are small museums with intensely amazing work on view.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the canal side, up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear kuwait08,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are honored to hear your praising words regarding the location of the hotel, the services and our Team Members. It is a pleasure to hear that you always stay with us and that you have enjoyed your stay again with the Hilton Amsterdam.

The executive lounge on the 10th floor provides indeed a panoramic view of Amsterdam and is very impressive. Guests staying in our Executive Rooms and suites have access to the Executive Lounge. Here you can enjoy a complimentary breakfast, cocktails, drinks and snacks. Please send us your contact details and we will keep you informed about the ‘upcoming’ New Years dinner with after party at the executive lounge with panoramic view over the fireworks of Amsterdam.

Hilton Amsterdam is located in a residential area near to exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and other main congress centres. Furthermore, it is indeed only a short walk to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

The Hilton Amsterdam features a bike rental service, which is a good and a fun alternative for public transport. Especially during spring and summer this is a great experience to discover Amsterdam. Our concierge is more than willing to assist you with this.

Thank you for staying again at the Hilton Amsterdam and we are looking forward to giving you a warm welcome in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We booked to stay via hotwire on Saturday 7th April and we had a fantasic couple of days. From the airport we caught a train to amsterdam central station (very easy and hassle free). We then jumped on the number 5 tram to apollolaan. I would say this entire journey took roughly 30-40minutes and was enjoyable as we got to see the sights. The hotel was perfect, beautiful lobby area, speedy check in and the room was lovely. We had a canal facing room and at night the trees were lit by fairy light which looked wonderful. Although the hotel is not right in the centre it only takes 10minutes on the tram which is right by the hotel. For anyone visiting Amsterdam for the weekend I would highly recommend this hotel as a base!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Ilovefoodnottingham,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your kind words regarding our Lobby, the team and our rooms.
The hotel rooms with canal view have indeed a beautiful view of the garden, the canal and city centre.

I would like to inform you that when traveling via public transport, you could also travel via train station ‘Amsterdam Zuid’ (South). This is only 15 minutes walking from the hotel and easy accessible by tram number 5.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and for your recommendations for our hotel.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam over the Easter weekend. The hotel is located in an up scale residential neighborhood just outside of central Amsterdam. Overall, I would say this is a solid 3 star property (definitely not a 5 star), but is rather expensive for what is offered.

Pros:

1) Located in a quite residential neighborhood on a canal. Away from the crowds of central Amsterdam provides a peaceful setting.

2) Hotel was built several decades ago, but washroom in our room appears to have been newly renovated.

3) Easy parking right out front of hotel.

4) Easy access to central Amsterdam via tram stop just a short walk away. Tram passes can be purchased at concierge desk and charged to room.

5) Friendly and welcoming staff.

6) Hotel is very clean and well maintained.

7) Comfortable bed.

Neutral

1) The hotels Roberto's Italian restaurant offers decent food, with decent service. Nothing to fault, but not spectacular either.

Cons

1) Location outside of central Amsterdam may not be ideal for many travellers. Taxis are extremely expensive in Amsterdam if you choose not to take the tram.

2) No restaurants or cafes in direct vicinity of hotel. However, there is a Starbucks about a 5-10 min walk away which is a good alternative for a quick breakfast rather than pay for the over priced hotel buffet (see below).

3) Food prices are extremely expensive. 27 Euros for breakfast buffet, 23 Euros for a club sandwich.

4) Limited room service menu for breakfast (same price as breakfast buffet)

5) Their cafe closes on weekends. Strange. I imagine the cafe is on site to cater to business meetings during the week. Closing on weekend forces guests to choose expensive breakfast buffet or go elsewhere.

6) Parking at hotel also extremely expensive - 34 Euros per night. However, the hotel was gracious enough to not charge us on checkout. An appreciated gesture, but should be included in room rate.

7) 27 Euros for 24hrs of internet access. This seems to be the standard in all Hiltons, but internet access these days should be included in room rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear London_Guy99,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your compliments regarding the location of our hotel, the hotel rooms and our Team Members. We do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in a quiet residential neighbourhood in the south of the city centre and provides a splendid view over the city. Indeed travelling from the hotel to the city centre will take approximately 10 minutes by public transport. Our concierge is more than willing to assist you with directions prior to and during your stay.

We take your comments regarding the internet and the other facilities seriously. I would like to inform you that the Hilton Amsterdam is in the procress of providing free WiFi for all our guests in our public areas.

We are sorry to hear that you experienced absence of restaurants in the direct vicinity of the hotel. However, I would like to inform you that there are several restaurants situated in the Cornelis Schuytstraat and Beethovenstraat which are in walking distance of the Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam for two nights over the busy Easter weekend. We were immediately impressed by the large lobby and comfortable furniture. Check in was very easy and the staff was helpful. Our online booking had to be changed due to the fact our room was booked for two people and would not support our third friend in a roll-away bed - so an additional 55 euros was charged per night. We had a room on the first floor with a beautiful view out of the back of the hotel of the canal. The beds were very soft, the room was roomy, and the bathroom clean and spacious. The hotel is located somewhat far away from the historical part of the city as well as the bar area and Red Light. There are several tram stops within a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and was our primary means of transportation in Amsterdam.

The staff was very helpful from the doorman to the concierge and bar staff. We all enjoyed the finely made cocktails at the bar but did not particularly enjoy the 17 euro price. Apparently this was the "cocktail special" price. However, we were provided free champagne on Easter Sunday in the lobby. The lobby also had delicious chocolate eggs that we did take advantage of quite a bit. We had purchased the wi-fi for 9 euros and had great difficulty getting the password to work on the smartphone. We had to call the front desk at least three times to finally get it to work. When we checked out on Monday the front desk comped our parking (68 euros total) due to the difficulties of our internet experience. This was very generous of them and had us all on our way in a good mood. We would definitely stay at a Hilton Hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel afford the best view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear ScottieWP09,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read your kind words regarding our rooms, the view and the Team Members. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay. The canal view rooms have indeed a very nice view over the city, the garden and the canal.

We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties regarding the internet.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, so we can discuss this within our team.

Hilton Amsterdam is located in a residential area near to exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and other main congress centres. Furthermore, it is only a short walk to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to give you a warm welcome again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

No queue at check-in. Always good for me after a long journey. Having my details already printed on the registration form - good. Being asked if I need the free internet codes - good. Access to the Executive Lounge - always very nice (primarily for the free beer, I'm sorry to say). About one minute from start to finish for the whole check-in process - works every time.

A nice big room on the 8th floor - everything as it should be, modern, attractive, clean. The same in the bathroom.

Dinner in Roberto's restaurant - again, excellent throughout. Very polite and friendly staff, good value set menu which didn't seem to stint on quality or portion size.

I opted (as I normally do, when I can) for express checkout, request the final invoice to be sent to my email address. This arrived while I was in my taxi to the office. Why then, does it take the Hilton Metropole over a week (if I'm lucky) to do the same?

Overall - a flawless night's stay, which I enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Jorganmeister,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your kind words regarding our hotel rooms, executive lounge and our services.

We are pleased to read that you experienced our hotel staff to be friendly and attentive as our Team Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

I would like to inform you that Roberto’s Restaurant is awarded by Bib Gourmand and Gault Millau. On top of that, Roberto’s Chef Franz Conde won the international competition ‘Chef of Champions’.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to give you a warm welcome again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;