We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #50 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Lovely hotel, full of charm and character, beautiful picture windows, spacious rooms that rather make the room feel like an apartment, lovely staff, excellent room service, helpful concierge that make you feel at home from the outset. A Fantastic stay, go there!

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful, quiet and tucked away with lovely picture windows and fantastic room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Jonathanyoud,

We would like to thank you for your kind words and your room tip for the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are pleased to read that you experienced our hotel staff to be helpful and friendly and that our hotel rooms and our amenities suited you.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    471
    154
    55
    23
See reviews for
166
581
84
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over the new year holiday. Very friendly staff, eating at roberto new years day morning was great Marianne from the staff was helpful during breakfast .
The location is great , calm , quiet and easily accessible .
Every night there was a little surprise in the room, they were all delicious .
Will return again and again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Renaldoc,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read your appraisal on our staff, Roberto’s Restaurant and the location of our Hotel. The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in a peaceful area. Please rest assured I will share your kind comment with Marianne.

It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay and that the little details in our hotel rooms contributed to that.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we are looking forward to giving you a warm welcome in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, clean and in a great location if you want to be away from the main city centre. The service at the hotel was good, everyone is friendly and helpful. The rooms are comparable to a regular hotel room in North America EXCEPT the beds are TWIN size. So be aware when booking. We booked through Expedia and choose 8 ppl and the rooms defaulted to 2 rooms. When we arrived at the hotel they informed us that a room of that size does not exist - the max. is 3 ppl in one room and that is with two twins pushed together and a cot. The issue was resolved after a bit of a wait in the lobby.
Down side: it is a LONG WALK from the city centre and they charge for internet use (e.g. 6 euros for online check in and printing of boarding pass which only took 5 mins to do). The shops and restaurants are pricey in this area (more so then city centre)
Up side: If you get a room on the "back" of the hotel you face the canal and have an amazing view of the entire city. Walking distance to Tram and you could walk to Van Gogh Museum area if you like to walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Mtravelling,

We are grateful for leaving a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness, the surroundings and the beautiful canal view of our hotel. Thank you for giving your compliments regarding our staff, who take great pride in service delivery.

I would like to inform you that our rooms provide either one kingsize bed or two single beds in a twinroom.

Regarding the internet, as of February we will offer free wifi in the public areas of our hotel.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

I was there for a quick stop, before flying to Thailand.
I was very surprise by the beauty of the propriety. The bar have a wonderful view on the canal. A good and nice place to enjoy a romantic rendezvous or a business discussion.
On evening the restaurant was really welcoming and the food was really good.
The room are small but as the Hilton standard... But well decorated.
Enjoy you trip there ...
For my side, I will return ... Deffinetly !!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear nicoeverrard,

We appreciate your review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the food and beverage outlets. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the food. Did you know that Roberto’s Restaurant will again be featured in the restaurant guides Gault Millau and Bib Gourmand in 2012?

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Best location and service!!!
They had even a fitness club right next to the hotel and off course we rented a bike!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Brunostopazzolli,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our extra services contributed to that.

We are glad to hear that you used our bike rental service, which is a great experience throughout the year, especially during summer.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talesh, Iran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

located in one of the nicest area of the city an Near to the site seeing areas and have a view of canals...furnitures are like classik Hiltons but staffs are good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Papayan,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the surroundings and our staff, who take great pride in service delivery.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I stayed here really very short time, and cannot comment on all services of the hotel. I arrived in evening after half an hour drive from airport (approx 40 EUR). Service at check-in was friendly and efficient, offering me to enroll for HH. Knowledge of Dutch was not strong, we live in an internationalised world... Room is good, decent size, and nicely decorated. I liked lay-out of bathroom and the possibility of ironing, as well as the amenities (such as soap from Crabtree&Evelyn, and shampoo / shower gel etc of Peter Thomas Roth. The airconditioning was somewhat noisy I found, so I switched it off. TV is somewaht smallish, and I think they could have a larger choice of channels, especially in multicultural and international Netherlands. Bed was very good, with pillows enough to sit up while reading. Given short night I did not take breakfast, and did not try restaurant although it should be good as I saw Gault Millau signage. Supposedly 15 minutes walking from city center and close to Vondelpark. Very quiet around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear BelgianInIstanbul,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read your kind words regarding the service at check-in and our rooms.

Regarding the television in your room, I would like to inform you that we are currently in the process of changing our television screens to 37”, according to Hilton standard. Your comments regarding the choice of channels and the airconditiniong will be taken into consideration for future developments.

I would like to inform you that our Roberto’s Restaurant will again be featured in the restaurant guides Gault Millau and Bib Gourmand in 2012.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.