We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, well-appointed, nice location just outside of central city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, Amsterdam 1077 BG, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #46 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet, well-appointed, nice location just outside of central city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Such a very nice hotel. With choice of two very nearby trams you can be in heart of Amsterdam within 15 easy minutes, older building but is very tastefully appointed to feel fresh but light. Situation on canal with a green terrace along the private small marina is wonderful.
Did not try the restaurants but as HHonors Diamond was upgraded to highest floor and access to Executive Lounge which is the nicest I've experienced yet. Wonderful foods throughout the day but especially a gracious and graceful breakfast and an enjoyable evening reception. Nice views of the city from the Exec Lounge, too.
The concierge staff was extremely helpful and genuinely friendly, treating my unremarkable presence with as much attention as they did to the businessmen and dignitaries.
The check-in was very efficient and friendly and, as our room was not quite ready, we were sent to the Executive Lounge for coffee and fresh snacks for the hour wait. This was fine since it was raining and we'd just come from the Thalys train and needed a bit of a decompression time.
Did not use the fitness facility, which is an additional charge if you are not a Gold or Diamond with HHonors, but looked around and it seemed quite comprehensive and up-to-date.
The wireless internet was quick enough and reliable enough for my and my sister's needs. This, too, was free as a Diamond but would have been the usual European charge of around 20+ Euro per day.
I would be reluctant to pay for a stay here but as a points redemption for a vacation I think this is the obvious choice in The Netherlands. You will not be disappointed for the bang for your points, especially if you are Diamond with Hilton HHonors.

Room Tip: In a property like this, simply pay the extra for a larger room, be a higher ranking member of their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    369
    123
    42
    20
See reviews for
113
460
71
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying here on a couple of occasions, and will be returning at the end of November! It's true the hotel is not in the centre of town, but a 15 minute tram ride ( or 25 Euro) is not to much to pay for peace and quiet, I have always found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful and the view of the canal is lovely. I have never been upgraded, but that doesn't bother me as the rooms I have been allocated have been more than acceptable. I think I caught them unawares last time and was sent water and chocolates about 10 minutes after checking in, but that's because I am currently a gold member. Nice touch, it all helps when you are away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Dibbley,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.
The Hilton Amsterdam is located at the canal, which offers a splendid view over the city, in a peaceful and green neighborhood. Indeed travelling from the hotel to the city centre will take approximately 15 minutes by public transport, I would like to inform you that you can buy tickets for 1 or more days for the public transport in Amsterdam (tram, bus and metro), the price of these cards are € 7.00 for 24 hours, € 11.50 for 48 hours and € 15.50 for 72 hours.
We are very pleased to read that you have experienced the Team Members to be helpful and friendly, as they take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and guest satisfaction at all times.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we are looking forward to welcoming you at the end of November.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Nothing really wrong with this hotel, theres just nothing special about it. There are parts of the hotel that need updating as it looks dated. It's not in walking distance of the centre really, but taxi is about 10 euro. Rooms are average, staff are good and friendly. Overall i was left feeling underwelmed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Rossliverpool,

We are sorry to read that we did not entirely meet your expectations and that the decoration of our rooms was not to your liking.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the “Oud-Zuid” neighbourhood, close to the main business centre and the RAI. It is also closely located to the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum. A trip to the city centre will take approximately 10 minutes.

Thank you for praising our friendly Team Members, as they take great pride in delivering the service of the utmost quality.

We hope to welcome you again and have the opportunity to prove that we can provide you with the 5-star service you deserve.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Desk staff unwilling to help with minor issue. I was told on 2 separate occasions by the desk clerk that he was "too busy" and come back later,( the lobby was empty with no one else in sight! He just could not be bothered! Terrible attitude!) A different desk clerk was able to help later the following day without any issues. Not sure why the original person couldn't help to begin with, as the circumstances the next day were the same, no changes. But for some reason, the next day, it was OK. The property itself was OK. A little out of the way...time spent getting into town(i.e., Dam Square), either walking or tram, could have been better spent actually being IN town. If you are going to do anything in town, just allow for the time to get there and back and be mindful of the tram schedules. The hotel does NOT have a shuttle, which would have been helpful.
As a Gold Honors Member for 20years, I have never experienced such poor service, quite the opposite as the experience of travellingangie. No tarts, no Exec lounge access. Awful experience. Marriott has 2 wonderful properties there..I almost booked..next time I will, definitely!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear snickersau80,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

As already replied to you personally on 24 October we were unable to upgrade you as the hotel was fully booked. As a valuable HHonors Gold guest you were offered an alternative HHonors benefit being a complimentary breakfast and the possibility to an upgrade for coming days upon availability and as a gesture of goodwill and exception, you were offered access to the Executive Lounge for the duration of your stay.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and again apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I spent a weekend at the Hilton Amsterdam and must rate it with a 5 overall, although some things are definitely not 5 star. The room was clean, nice pillow menu, generous towels and a comfortable bed made the room a good 4 star room. The tea/coffee maker was very convenient, but the bathrooom has a tub and a shower curtain which is simply not up to date or meets a 5 star hotel.
The view towards the canal is worth the money - go for that if you can!
The reason why I did rate this hotel a 5 star was the service. Extremely friendly, extremely corteus and funny breakfast staff really made our days. The breakfast selection was superb, including gluten free dietary breads and specially prepared food on request. Simply great.
The location is not too far out, and actually in the surrounding of a very nice park - we walked the way downtown and cannot understand people complaining about the distance to the inner city.
Would we return? Yes we would - and that says it all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear VfB 1893,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read your positive comment regarding our hotel rooms, our Hilton Breakfast and the location of the hotel.

Our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

We take your comment regarding the bathroom facilities very seriously and we will take it into consideration for future developments.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed there with my wife for few days. The hotel is located in a quiet, green area, close to the business area. You can walk to the museums (15 min) or can take the streetcar three blocks from the hotel. The service is very good, rooms are comfortable, and the small cafeteria at the lobby level is very nice to have breakfast or just to spend some relaxing time drinking coffee or tea. I definitely recommend this hotel either for business or pleasure

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Cholupo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are pleased to read that you liked the quiet and green location of the hotel, closely situated to the ‘Museumplein’and the business area of Amsterdam. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Italian breakfast at Issimo.

Thank you for praising our Team Members, as they take great pride in delivering the service of the utmost quality.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We arrived in Amsterdam at 9am and were lucky enough that Hilton could give us an early check in. They couldn't promise it, of course, until they knew for sure, at the last minute, but it all worked out in the end and it was the start of a great visit with them. If you are flying in, you take the train from Schiphol to station Zuid. Then, from Zuid, you take the #5 tram (and trust me, just plan on taking the tram everywhere and go get a GVB pass for unlimited use) and exit on Apollolaan. I think this is the most economical route to get there as the shuttle was 15Euros per person. It is a 1/4 mile down the road on the right, past the big turtle with the guy on top statue.

The room was a nice size (king bed) and the bathroom was a decent size, giant by European standards. Your room key is key there. You have to use it to get anywhere in the elevators and if you have executive lounge access, you will need it enabled for that. The first day, we checked in early, showered and left for the remainder of the afternoon. If you can swing it, ask for a canal view room. We had it and it was fantastic to look out the window every day and see the canal, which is the heart of Amsterdam. When we returned, they left us a tart on our bed, which was a fantastic surprise that we would be treated to a few more times before the visit was over. We slept great an enjoyed the free wifi that comes with being a Hilton Gold member. Everyone on staff was great from the doormen to the housekeeping staff...I cannot think of a single experience where I did not have a positive feeling in talking with or dealing with this staff. As gold members, we were also given access to the Executive Lounge and it was well worth it. Each day, they do a very nice set up there with chicken skewers, pastry puffs (savory), chips, nuts, cheese, sodas, beer, wine, and a variety of alcohols for drinks. Another absolutely awesome perk to being a gold member is the fantastic buffet breakfast they do each day. We really enjoyed the selection and service every day. They also offer this for those willing to pay for it, as well. It is a good selection of scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash brown potatoes, beans, toast, croissant, muffins, suikerwafels (which are my absolute new favorite thing in the world), pancakes, fruits, yogurt, oatmeal, cold cereal and cold cuts. They also have tea, coffee, milk and juice available.

Without a doubt, Hilton was a fantastic stay and well worth the points we used to do so. If I ever get back, I look forward to staying here again!! What a great time we had in Amsterdam, in part due to the care Hilton took.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Travellingangie,

Thank you for filling out a detailed review of your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. The pictures are very much appreciated as well.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and we would like to thank you for your kind words.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the quiet and nice neighbourhood. Arriving at the hotel with the tram #5 from the Zuid Train Station is indeed the easiest way to access the hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Team Members. They take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our Executive Lounge on the topfloor, from there the view over Amsterdam is magnificent.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service and our facilities and we are putting all our efforts to offer you an unforgettable stay with us.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International
Address: Apollolaan 138, Amsterdam 1077 BG, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.