We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €160
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
BEVERLY HILLS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

We truly enjoyed staying in this great location with amazing service, gorgeous outdoor lawn( very rare in Amsterdam) and awesome restaurant. Some rooms have a balcony and the ones without balcony are just as good. The executive rooms are also great since guests can use the club room throughout the day. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear FAY1357,

Thank you for filling out a detailed review of your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are pleased to read your positive comment regarding our hotel rooms and our terrace surrounded by the garden.

We are also glad you enjoyed the peaceful neighbourhood. As a matter of fact the view from the Executive Lounge is magnificent.

Thank you for praising our friendly Team Members. They take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    400
    130
    44
    21
See reviews for
133
510
76
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

We stayed one night in August, the interior of the hotel was very nice, beautiful lobby and the room (was an exec room so can't comment on standard rooms) was lovely too, there were strawberries in our room on arrival, huge comfy bed and linen, even a pillow menu which we didn't use. Spacious, clean modern bathroom. Breakfast at the hotel was good, just like most Hiltons. Friendly, helpful staff. We didn't bring a car but you can park at the hotel which I believe is quite expensive thirty something euros per night). Location wise, it is a 7 min walk to the nearest tram and then 15 mins on the tram to the centre. Very easy to get to from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Diesel77,

Thank you for filling out a detailed review of your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam.
We are pleased to read your positive comments regarding our hotel rooms and the Hilton Breakfast.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our Team Members and facilities contributed to that. They take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

For years we have been coming back to this modern, classy and luxurious Hilton Hotel, in the upscale neighbourhood of Amsterdam, and not without reason. Parking, helpful and loyal doormen who welcome you back, efficient check in, and a patio bar terrace, overlooking the private boated harbour, and an excellent breakfast buffet. International staff, an Italian restaurant as well as a cosy bar.

Comfortable rooms, bikes available to move around and to discover all of Amsterdam.

A good mix between business and tourist hotel, where free wireless internet would be appreciated by all.
If ever the hotel would have a private gym, it would be perfect.
Still, it is our most favourite hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear worldtravellerfrance,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read your positive comment regarding our hotel rooms, the hotel location and our helpful Team Members.

We truly value frequent guests and our Team Members do their utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times. We will share your nice comments within our Team Members.

Regarding the Health Club, I would like to inform you that it is not managed by us and therefore an external charge is required.

We take your comment regarding the internet facilities very seriously and we will take it into consideration for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and for coming back so often. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

As usual this hotel was excellent. Have stayed here several time throughout the years while travelling with my husband. The rooms have been updated, again! And this time they actually added more lighting over the mirror in the bathroom, which is typically a pet peeve of mine with the Hilton chain. You've got to love a hotel that keeps its personnel. Upon arriving and stepping out of the taxi, we were greeted by a doorman who recognized my husband and welcomed us back to Amsterdam. Upon checking in we found we had been given a canal view room on the 8th floor and had access to the Executive Floor (my husband is a Hilton Honors member). The Executive lounges are different in Europe than they are in the U.S. The wine and drinks are unlimited and free and a very nice array of appetizers is provided. The gem of the Executive Lounge here has to be Stephania. Not only is she professional, but very personable and welcoming. I can't rave enough about her. We also had the priviledge of chatting with the head chef, who hails from LA, but has been a long time resident in Amsterdam, and an even longer time employee for the Hilton. Although the hotel's location is a few miles from the city center of Amsterdam, it is only a block away from the train tracks. Several train pass options are available (one way, all-day, etc.) and can be purchased from the train operator. It's a quick trip into the city center and you'll pass The Van Gogh Museum, The Rijksmuseum, and a great street market. The negative about this more isolated location is the lack of nearby restaurants. This does not bother us because the train is so convenient and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor Canal Side versus city view and remember to bring your plug adaptor for the Euro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear likestotravel020,

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor and for adding a Room Tip to your comment.

We are very pleased to read your kind words regarding our Executive Lounge, the location of the hotel and the hospitality of our Team Members. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

We truly value frequent guests and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

Regarding the restaurants in the neighbourhood, our concierge is more than willing to assist you with directions prior to and during your stay. We can also recommend our restaurant Roberto’s for a truly Italian experience.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam for a trip to the Concert Gebouw in Amsterdam wih my wife and parents. The hotel is located in a quiet and rich part of Amsterdam, called Oud - Zuid. It's actually quite close to some of the highlights of Amsterdam, the Concertgebouw, Vondepark and the Rijksmuseum are in walking distance.

The main plusses of this hotel are:
- very nice and helpful staff
- excellent breakfast, it's not cheap but worth the money in my opinion.
- the overall atmosphere of the hotel and the location
- the beds and view

The rooms are not very big, but quite comfortable. I can recommend staying here !

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a higher floor on the north side. Very nice views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Caturman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and a Room Tip of our hotel on TripAdvisor. The recommendation you wrote is very appreciated as well.
We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and thank you for your kind words.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the quiet and nice neighbourhood.
It is always a pleasure to receive nice words regarding our Team Members. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Wow,wow,and Wow,,stayed in this hotel for one night before travelling onto Dusseldorf,,I really can't praise this hotel enough,,the room was gorgeous and so beautifully decorated, everything from a pillow menu to a soap menu,robe and slippers,mini bar,tv,,just fab,,the breakfast is out of this world,the scrambled eggs are to die for! Made to feel like someone special at all times,,the service is 1st class,,even managed to have a sneaky peek at John and Yoko's room which is now a honeymoon suite,,Thank You for that. I know where we are staying next time we visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Greeklady55555,

We are very grateful for the extended review you posted on TripAdvisor about the Hilton Amsterdam. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and thank you for your kind words.

We would like to thank you for praising our friendly Team Members. They take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.
We were glad to show you the John&Yoko Suite, and happy that you enjoyed it.

Having guests coming back to our hotel is nice and highly valued. We are pleased to read that we could make your stay a special one.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel to stay in by pure luck when we booked the 'Mystery Hotel' option of a well known travel website for a fantastic rate.

Wow. It did not disappoint at all.

It is not in the city centre proper, but it is rather conveniently located in the outskirts between the glitz of steel and glass of the financial district and a quiet residential district; and still within touching distance of the city centre (a short bus or tram ride away). If you are a fan of more sedate surroundings, this is a very good option.

The room we stayed in was very nice, large and comfortable; with all the trimmings (TV, minibar, iron, extra pillows, bathroom goodies). It had a fantastic view of the canal that runs behind the hotel.

It felt extremely peaceful and serene (I can see why John and Yoko chose it for their 'peaceful protest'), even in the midst of a high flying, paparazzo filled, ultra chic fashion party which was going on one of the nights we stayed there.

The breakfast was lovely and filling, with a very good variety to satisfy all tastes and palates.

Friendly and helpful staff who are fully aware they are working at a Hilton's and ensure that the service provided is top class.

All in all, a great place for a relaxing, pampered retreat if travelling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get a canal view room, as they are infinitely better than the normal street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear AjiChombo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and a Room Tip of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you had a nice stay and thank you for your kind words.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the part of the city called “Oud-Zuid”, that is indeed a nice and quiet neighbourhood. It is also close to Vondelpark, one of the most visited parks in Europe with around 10 million visitors annually.

We are pleased to read your positive comments regarding our hotel rooms and the extended Hilton breakfast.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our Team Members. They take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Amsterdam hotel. Famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 bed-in, the Hilton Amsterdam hotel is a short walk from the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam attractions. This canal-side hotel has an award-winning Italian restaurant and is 15 minutes from Schiphol Airport. Do business in the Executive Lounge or unwind in the health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.