We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Amsterdam Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #54 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My Favorite Amsterdam Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

As usual this hotel was excellent. Have stayed here several time throughout the years while travelling with my husband. The rooms have been updated, again! And this time they actually added more lighting over the mirror in the bathroom, which is typically a pet peeve of mine with the Hilton chain. You've got to love a hotel that keeps its personnel. Upon arriving and stepping out of the taxi, we were greeted by a doorman who recognized my husband and welcomed us back to Amsterdam. Upon checking in we found we had been given a canal view room on the 8th floor and had access to the Executive Floor (my husband is a Hilton Honors member). The Executive lounges are different in Europe than they are in the U.S. The wine and drinks are unlimited and free and a very nice array of appetizers is provided. The gem of the Executive Lounge here has to be Stephania. Not only is she professional, but very personable and welcoming. I can't rave enough about her. We also had the priviledge of chatting with the head chef, who hails from LA, but has been a long time resident in Amsterdam, and an even longer time employee for the Hilton. Although the hotel's location is a few miles from the city center of Amsterdam, it is only a block away from the train tracks. Several train pass options are available (one way, all-day, etc.) and can be purchased from the train operator. It's a quick trip into the city center and you'll pass The Van Gogh Museum, The Rijksmuseum, and a great street market. The negative about this more isolated location is the lack of nearby restaurants. This does not bother us because the train is so convenient and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor Canal Side versus city view and remember to bring your plug adaptor for the Euro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear likestotravel020,

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor and for adding a Room Tip to your comment.

We are very pleased to read your kind words regarding our Executive Lounge, the location of the hotel and the hospitality of our Team Members. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

We truly value frequent guests and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

Regarding the restaurants in the neighbourhood, our concierge is more than willing to assist you with directions prior to and during your stay. We can also recommend our restaurant Roberto’s for a truly Italian experience.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    514
    169
    58
    27
See reviews for
183
635
92
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam for a trip to the Concert Gebouw in Amsterdam wih my wife and parents. The hotel is located in a quiet and rich part of Amsterdam, called Oud - Zuid. It's actually quite close to some of the highlights of Amsterdam, the Concertgebouw, Vondepark and the Rijksmuseum are in walking distance.

The main plusses of this hotel are:
- very nice and helpful staff
- excellent breakfast, it's not cheap but worth the money in my opinion.
- the overall atmosphere of the hotel and the location
- the beds and view

The rooms are not very big, but quite comfortable. I can recommend staying here !

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a higher floor on the north side. Very nice views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Caturman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and a Room Tip of our hotel on TripAdvisor. The recommendation you wrote is very appreciated as well.
We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and thank you for your kind words.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the quiet and nice neighbourhood.
It is always a pleasure to receive nice words regarding our Team Members. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Wow,wow,and Wow,,stayed in this hotel for one night before travelling onto Dusseldorf,,I really can't praise this hotel enough,,the room was gorgeous and so beautifully decorated, everything from a pillow menu to a soap menu,robe and slippers,mini bar,tv,,just fab,,the breakfast is out of this world,the scrambled eggs are to die for! Made to feel like someone special at all times,,the service is 1st class,,even managed to have a sneaky peek at John and Yoko's room which is now a honeymoon suite,,Thank You for that. I know where we are staying next time we visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Greeklady55555,

We are very grateful for the extended review you posted on TripAdvisor about the Hilton Amsterdam. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and thank you for your kind words.

We would like to thank you for praising our friendly Team Members. They take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.
We were glad to show you the John&Yoko Suite, and happy that you enjoyed it.

Having guests coming back to our hotel is nice and highly valued. We are pleased to read that we could make your stay a special one.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel to stay in by pure luck when we booked the 'Mystery Hotel' option of a well known travel website for a fantastic rate.

Wow. It did not disappoint at all.

It is not in the city centre proper, but it is rather conveniently located in the outskirts between the glitz of steel and glass of the financial district and a quiet residential district; and still within touching distance of the city centre (a short bus or tram ride away). If you are a fan of more sedate surroundings, this is a very good option.

The room we stayed in was very nice, large and comfortable; with all the trimmings (TV, minibar, iron, extra pillows, bathroom goodies). It had a fantastic view of the canal that runs behind the hotel.

It felt extremely peaceful and serene (I can see why John and Yoko chose it for their 'peaceful protest'), even in the midst of a high flying, paparazzo filled, ultra chic fashion party which was going on one of the nights we stayed there.

The breakfast was lovely and filling, with a very good variety to satisfy all tastes and palates.

Friendly and helpful staff who are fully aware they are working at a Hilton's and ensure that the service provided is top class.

All in all, a great place for a relaxing, pampered retreat if travelling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get a canal view room, as they are infinitely better than the normal street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear AjiChombo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and a Room Tip of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you had a nice stay and thank you for your kind words.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the part of the city called “Oud-Zuid”, that is indeed a nice and quiet neighbourhood. It is also close to Vondelpark, one of the most visited parks in Europe with around 10 million visitors annually.

We are pleased to read your positive comments regarding our hotel rooms and the extended Hilton breakfast.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our Team Members. They take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Amsterdam Hilton from August 31 to September 4, 2011. The hotel is outside of the downtown area, easily accessable by tram or bus. The hotel is very well maintained and the staff are very attentive and helpful.

As Hilton Honors Gold members we were upgraded to an executive room with executive lounge access, we were also given access to breakfast at Roberto's the upscale restaurant in the hotel. The lounge is located on the top of the hotel with nice views but is small not cozy, not really a place to hang out in like some lounges. Breakfast in Roberto's was fantastic!!

The staff is very helpful. We simply asked at the front desk if we could see the John & Yoko suite and they called someone to show us the unit - we did give him a little help for his tour and taking pics.

The hotel obviously caters to upscale travellers. There was an Aston Martin and Maseroti in the parking lot during our stay. Also, it seems that there was a business luncheon or dinner every day.

Overall a very nice hotel in a very nice part of amsterdam. For what it is worth, to get downtown you walk about 2 blocks to catch the tram and it will take you directly through downtown. Best bet - buy a multiple day pass.

Here are some pics from our trip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDULeGowbzs

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Debmike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. The pictures are very much appreciated as well.

We are pleased to read that you had a nice experience during your 5 days stay with us and that you enjoyed the peaceful neighbourhood.

Thank you for praising our friendly Team Members, who took great pride in fulfilling your wish of seeing the John & Yoko Suite.

As you mentioned, the hotel is closely located to the Van Gogh museum and also the Stedelijk museum and the Rijksmuseum are within walking distance of the Hilton Amsterdam, but the tram services are one of the easiest option as well.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights as a get away for my birthday. Excellent 5 star service, staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is superb, lots of choice hot and cold. Will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear James198,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam for your birthday and write a review about your stay.

We are pleased to read that upi enjoyed your stay and that our Team Members and the fresh and extended Hilton breakfast contributed to that.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a reasonably good hotel by Amsterdam standards. The rooms are of reasonable size and quality. The Executive Lounge is on the roof and has particularly good views of the city and the canal. Breakfasts up there are great but don't start until 7 am. The fitness centre also does not open until 7 -- it has a lot of equipment -- including some unusual machines for abs. The fitness centre is only free for golds and diamonds in HHonors. Overall this is a decent option - nothing spectacular but a reasonable hotel in a reasonable location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear ghfatw,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to read that you had a nice experience during your stay with us.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our Executive Lounge and the fitness centre.

Regarding your comment on the breakfast time, we are happy to inform you that a Room Service breakfast can be ordered 24 hours a day.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.