We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spacious rooms, beautiful location, 60s style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #52 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious rooms, beautiful location, 60s style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst on a driving tour of Europe with our 1960s car. Safe parking in a good location was the main reason for choosing so we were delighted to find we'd been assigned a large, comfortable room with the most superb panoramic views of Amsterdam. The area is a pleasant 10 min stroll through an elegant neighbourhood to the busier (and slightly grottier) parts of town. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Good value at EU169 including delicious breakfast, however internet access was outrageously expensive so bear that in mind. Despite that we would return as the hotel is really stylish in a fabulous retro 60s way whilst being utterly contemporary and exceptionally comfortable.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear BootieBoot,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the peaceful neighbourhood. Oud Zuid is indeed a nice residential area.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Team Members. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

Regarding your comments on our Internet facilities, these will be taken into consideration for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    454
    145
    52
    23
See reviews for
156
564
80
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Wow! What a great hotel! We traveled with our children ages 4 and 8 this summer and the Hilton made our experience amazing! From the most friendly breakfast restaurant staff who had plenty of suggestions for childrens activities in the city to making sure our kids had "special" cups to use at breakfast. We stated 3 nights and the staff really took the time to make our family feel at home, all the way down to making sure my daughter was greeted with a Birthday treat on her Birthday. Aside from the rooms being extremely comfortable, the Hotel has in house babysitters. The kids enjoyed the sitter so much, we had her come back a second night!
The Hotel is also well positioned in a quiet neighborhood, but with public transport a quick walk away. We would definitely choose this Hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear TAT,

We are very grateful for the extended review you posted on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you had an "amazing" stay and thank you for your kind words.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Team Members and especially our Baby-sitting service. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

Moreover, we are glad to hear that we could make your daughter’s birthday a memorable one and that our Team Members paid particular attention to you during those special days.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon , this hotel is great , if u don't care bout the budget or u got a good deal , this place is a must ...& it won't fail to satisfy you .
the location was out of the centre which was OK with me , also taxis are plenty in amsterdam besides the tram stops infront of the hotel so no probs
the staff were great , honestly all the staff we met in europe during this trip were awesome & professional , the smile & greetings , also the will to assist makes u feel welcomed , unlike the staff in other hotels ..where they make u feel like your a heavy load on their chests
we found a bottle of champagne & strawberries in our room which was a very nice touch , the view was great as our room was a deluxe canal view , request a high floor to better enjoy the view
the breakfast was the best i've seen in my trip , honestly this doesn't surprise me as the hilton breakfast is famous worldwide
i recommend this hotel of course & i will be back , i thank the staff for making my honeymoon trip a great one .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear MIG21,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read your kind words and that your stay in our hotel was at your convenience.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our Hilton breakfast and that you have experienced the Team Members to be so helpful.

Our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

We are glad to hear that we could make your honeymoon trip a memorable one and that our Team Members paid particular attention to you during those special days.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Nice rooms. Beautiful garden next to the canal.Great breakfast on the topfloor with a fatastic view over Amsterdam.
Take the tram to Central Amsterdam (no.16)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Christiane69,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you enjoyed the spectacular view from our Executive Lounge.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is very comfortable and located in a quiet neighborhood next to a canal. The rooms are on the bigger side and the executive room is awesome. It's not in the city center but next to the efficient tram system so it's not an issue to get around. I personally enjoy being a little out of the city center which is more peaceful. Rates are on the pricey side and that's the only reason I'm giving it a 4 instead of a 5. It's definitely worth it if you go off season and get a good rate. The conceirge (he recognized us from our last visit) and staff are helpful and nice. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear SanDiegoTravelGirl,

We are very grateful for the extended review you posted on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the peaceful neighbourhood.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our Team Members. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them. It is always a pleasure to see a satisfied guest coming back to our hotel, we do our utmost to always offer unforgettable experience at our hotel.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed end aug 2011 for 2 nights. Dont be put off by previous comments. I am very fussy and this hotel was one of the best I have stayed in for a weekend break. We stayed in a canal view room which was very clean, modern. Bed was comfortable, pillow menu was great with no extra charge. The staff were great, very friendly. I had noted on our booking it was a special occassion and they delivered champagne and cake which made the stay even more personal.The hotel is a short walk to the tram and is located in a nice area. We only had breakfast and this again was excellent, so much choice. Food was warm and again staff couldnt do enough. It was night to sit outside and overlook the canal with a drink. Drink prices dear but thats the same everywere with the euro. Overall excellent stay and would defintly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Mark h,

We are very grateful for the extended review you posted on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you had a nice experience during your week-end stay with us and we are glad to hear that we could make this special occasion a memorable one.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Team Members. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I arrived from the US in the early morning and did not expect to get into my room for hours. I happily was given a room immediately. It was spacious, comfortable and with great attention to detail such as asking what kind of pillow I wanted on the bed. I had a huge picture window looking over the canal below with wonderful weeping willows. This is a newer part of Amsterdam but very beautiful and quiet and close to the Museum Quarter. There is good eating and coffee shops close by. It is quiet and easy to sleep. The fine art in the hotel and the wonderful sculpture outside on temporary display was a great addition.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Havesuitcase11,

Thank you for filling out a detailed review of your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are pleased to read your kind words and that your stay in our hotel was pleasant.

Indeed the view over the canal is spectacular and the Oud Zuid neighbourhood is nice and quiet. As you mentioned, the hotel is closely located to the Van Gogh museum and also the Stedelijk museum and the Rijksmuseum are within walking distance of the Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.