We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal, service was alright” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Jan Pieter Heijestraat 190, 1054 MN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 - 683 07 92
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #517 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Meal, service was alright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a great food experience. So glad we did not miss it! I was tempted to go three stars only because the service left a bit to be desired. This place gets high marks on the ambiance and decor and music etc. Very authentic. Our server was not all that friendly and never warmed up, all though another server came in half way through and he was great. I agree with a prior reviewer, the service got a bit slower as the evening went on. The food was just delicious and don't miss the banana dessert. We ordered a spicy beef and a mild chicken. They were both great and they vegetables were delicious. I can't recall what it is called- but its basically what we call in the US, bananas foster, flambee. YUM! It was bustling enough as well to have our three year old in tow, although there wasn't much for him to eat, he's rather picky .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great staff and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff were a little shy at first ( all from Eritrea ) but super friendly after you started talking to them. The food was served on a large platter on what I call sponge bread, like a large soft spongy wrap which you rip off and eat the various portions of food on top. The food was excellent and plenty of it. A treat is the various flavoured beers like mango, delicious but you can only drink one as they are a little sweet but well worth the experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time eating here in four days. I love this place. It has extremely clean bathrooms and that says a lot for a restaurant run by an all-male staff. I highly recommend this place. No forks zone!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonesboro, Georgia
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Amazing Service was given, food was absolutely amazing I highly suggest you go here you wont regret it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fun place, good food, kid friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As Ethiopian food goes this was not the very best- though I see TIme Out rates it the best African food in Amsterdam, I have had better. But it was still really fun- well prepared and presented, food served on the bread with good portions. Really fun kitsch interior with a nice buzz, lots of people there, but still relaxed. What we really appreciated was that the waiter/owner was very friendly and welcoming to us as a family and steered us to items on the menu that we not spicy- so our two kids really enjoyed a fun new experience of eating African food with their hands. So recommended to families (provided you avoid the spicy items).i

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyssinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.