We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good refueling option after Albert Cuyp market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eetcafe Volle Maan - CLOSED

Eetcafe Volle Maan
Sarphatipark 4, 1072 PA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6759945
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: European, Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Op 22 november 2010 hebben wij de deuren geopend van onze sfeervol ingerichte 'woonkamer'.U kunt bij ons terecht voor ontbijt en lunch met o.a. yoghurt, legendarische eieren, vers gemaakte soepen, zelf gedraaide hummus, door de lonely planet geprezen huisgebakken appeltaart en nog veel meer lekkers.Tevens hebben wij free wifi en er zijn voldoende stroomvoorzieningen aanwezig.Bij ons kunt u ook terecht voor besloten borrels, recepties, feesten en diners voor groepen vanaf 15 personen.
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good refueling option after Albert Cuyp market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good coffee, freshly prepped snacks and light lunches, clean washrooms (always important for visitors/tourists). Had grilled cheese broodje and warm apple pancakes that warmed us up on a cool November day out wandering. Nice cozy interior with good tunes and a very friendly owner/server

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    2
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nothing Bad but Nothing Noteworthy Either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I am not sure why the reviews for Eetcafe have been so enthusiastic to date. The place is fine. The cost is low. The food is acceptable. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the ambiance, service or the food. On the other hand, if a week after departing Amsterdam anybody asks you what you ate and where your trip to Eetcafe will likely be long forgotten. Should you want a quick relatively low cost meal and happen to be passing by Eetcafe by all means go in. But if you have to walk a couple of blocks to get there I would suggest finding someplace closer that also seems to have decent food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Walked around the neighbourhood trying to find a nice looking place to eat, and we finally stumbled across Volle Maan. Very friendly waitress and beautiful interior, and the food was fantastic, had a simple ham and cheese omelette, which was a big serving on 2 pieces of bread with side salad, coffee and hot chocolate were very good too. Left very satisfied!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorite spots in Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011 via mobile

Definitely a place to try, good for Amsterdammers or for tourists. Service is amazing!
Menu variety is also very good, salads, sandwiches, steak, ckicken, etc. and even if you have a special request, they will gladly do it for you.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Rare Find-Fabulous Food and Service-A MUST TRY in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Volle Maan is a wonderful place to dine in one of the best areas in Amsterdam. The interior decor of the restaurant is very welcoming. Whether it is the warm naked wood furniture, the lovely live orchids in the window or the roof garden view upstairs you feel cozy. The view when sitting outside is great too, a lovely park right across the street.

Ana, the owner who also personally meets and greets customers, is super friendly. Having been in the restaurant business ourselves, we noticed her wonderful attention to detail and the high level of service she provided. The food was fantastic. We tried the vegetable lasagna, the roasted chicken and the fish of the day on two separate occasions. Her homemade apple pie "grandma" style was superb. I don't think we will ever find pie like that again, anywhere.

We like to cook at home and rarely eat out. When we do, we sometimes get sick. Since we are in the restaurant business ourselves, we know what goes on in most restaurant kitchens so we are weary of eating out. But, Ana's place was super clean and her food was high quality. We didn't get sick like we did when we ate at a nearby restaurant which had all you can eat schnitzels. We didn't eat the schnitzels but got sick anyway at the other place down the street.

We highly recommend Volle Maan for high quality food, attentive service, cleanliness, tasty cuisine, great ambiance, and delicious desserts. A must try when in Amsterdam!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eetcafe Volle Maan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eetcafe Volle Maan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.