We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good refueling option after Albert Cuyp market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eetcafe Volle Maan - CLOSED

Eetcafe Volle Maan
Sarphatipark 4, 1072 PA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)
020-6759945
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: International, European, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: Op 22 november 2010 hebben wij de deuren geopend van onze sfeervol ingerichte 'woonkamer'.U kunt bij ons terecht voor ontbijt en lunch met o.a. yoghurt, legendarische eieren, vers gemaakte soepen, zelf gedraaide hummus, door de lonely planet geprezen huisgebakken appeltaart en nog veel meer lekkers.Tevens hebben wij free wifi en er zijn voldoende stroomvoorzieningen aanwezig.Bij ons kunt u ook terecht voor besloten borrels, recepties, feesten en diners voor groepen vanaf 15 personen.
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good refueling option after Albert Cuyp market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good coffee, freshly prepped snacks and light lunches, clean washrooms (always important for visitors/tourists). Had grilled cheese broodje and warm apple pancakes that warmed us up on a cool November day out wandering. Nice cozy interior with good tunes and a very friendly owner/server

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SnailspaceToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nothing Bad but Nothing Noteworthy Either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I am not sure why the reviews for Eetcafe have been so enthusiastic to date. The place is fine. The cost is low. The food is acceptable. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the ambiance, service or the food. On the other hand, if a week after departing Amsterdam anybody asks you what you ate and where your trip to Eetcafe will likely be long forgotten. Should you want a quick relatively low cost meal and happen to be passing by Eetcafe by all means go in. But if you have to walk a couple of blocks to get there I would suggest finding someplace closer that also seems to have decent food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Twocat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Walked around the neighbourhood trying to find a nice looking place to eat, and we finally stumbled across Volle Maan. Very friendly waitress and beautiful interior, and the food was fantastic, had a simple ham and cheese omelette, which was a big serving on 2 pieces of bread with side salad, coffee and hot chocolate were very good too. Left very satisfied!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vinen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite spots in Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Definitely a place to try, good for Amsterdammers or for tourists. Service is amazing!
Menu variety is also very good, salads, sandwiches, steak, ckicken, etc. and even if you have a special request, they will gladly do it for you.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Rare Find-Fabulous Food and Service-A MUST TRY in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Volle Maan is a wonderful place to dine in one of the best areas in Amsterdam. The interior decor of the restaurant is very welcoming. Whether it is the warm naked wood furniture, the lovely live orchids in the window or the roof garden view upstairs you feel cozy. The view when sitting outside is great too, a lovely park right across the street.

Ana, the owner who also personally meets and greets customers, is super friendly. Having been in the restaurant business ourselves, we noticed her wonderful attention to detail and the high level of service she provided. The food was fantastic. We tried the vegetable lasagna, the roasted chicken and the fish of the day on two separate occasions. Her homemade apple pie "grandma" style was superb. I don't think we will ever find pie like that again, anywhere.

We like to cook at home and rarely eat out. When we do, we sometimes get sick. Since we are in the restaurant business ourselves, we know what goes on in most restaurant kitchens so we are weary of eating out. But, Ana's place was super clean and her food was high quality. We didn't get sick like we did when we ate at a nearby restaurant which had all you can eat schnitzels. We didn't eat the schnitzels but got sick anyway at the other place down the street.

We highly recommend Volle Maan for high quality food, attentive service, cleanliness, tasty cuisine, great ambiance, and delicious desserts. A must try when in Amsterdam!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orchideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eetcafe Volle Maan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing